Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Bun Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Bun Cake

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2011

      OMG! OMG!! OMG!!! This was perfection and so easy to make. It took a little more effort to smooth the second layer on but that is what a spoon is for. It tastes so good that I ate some everyday for dessert. You'll probably have a little brown sugar mixture left over after sprinkling it on so you may want to just add the extra to make it a little sweeter or just hold off. I read that a few people complained about the color and thickness of the glaze but the gaze had vanilla so it's not pure white and also it is glaze NOT frosting or icing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      I actually got this recipe from my husband's cousin years ago. I bake it in a sheet pan (15x11). It comes out thinner and I just pour all the batter in then smash the brown sugar, cinnamon, & nuts into the batter, then bake. Only takes about 25 minutes this way. I also doubled the glaze. Thanks for the posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I've made this cake many times and it came out perfect everytime. My family loves this cake, it looks way better made in a bundt pan and it tastes incredible!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2014

      I halved the recipe successfully and instead of the glaze, melted some caramels in milk & butter and 1/3 cup powdered sugar & topped w/ pecans. Outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      SO GOOD! I can't believe I forgot to review this, it is HAND'S DOWN THE BEST COFFEE CAKE EVER. It's so good that our local restaurant now has it on the menu after I brought it to a Sunday School potluck. Then I served it at my husband's men's study group...now every time I see one of them they beg me to make it for them. Best recipe of the year for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      Yummy! I've been wanting to make this forever, and now finally I did! It was delicious, and my family really enjoyed it. I needed a cake for a church function and I baked and took this, pleased to say it went really quick! Made as directed and it came out perfect. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      SO YUMMY!!! Brought this to work today- the girls loved it!! I tweaked the recipe a bit. Used 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup pecans 2 teaspoons cinnamon and 2 tablespoons of the dry cake mix for the filling. Also, put the glaze in a plastic squeeze bottle and drizzled it on the cooled cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! Make sure you let your eggs and sour cream come to room temperature and you'll have not one problem spreading the top layer of batter...and by all means use the full amount of pecan/sugar filling. What else have I figured out? Oh yeah, as the belly goes, so does your life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Really good cake, moist and flavorful. Like a previous review i had a little bit of a hard time spreading the remaining batter on top of the cinnamon-pecan layer. I also felt that 1 cup of it was too much so when I was done sprinkling it on top of the first layer of batter, I covered and sprinkled the remaining on the top and just hoped for the best. It turned out awesome! I also didn't have pecans on hand so I used some crushed almonds and it was still wonderful. I had double the recipe for the glaze, maybe because I made it too thick? My mom absolutely loved it and husband asked to take some to work to share with his buddies. Usually cakes and pies take awhile to finish in my little family of 3 but its already half gone and I made it just a few hours ago. I will say that I don't really think it's a honey bun cake but more of a coffee-cake especially if you sprinkle the cinnamon topping on top like i did. Either way, this recipe is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      The people at work like this. It tastes kind of like a coffee cake in some ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      dh loved this was very easy to make with ingredients i usually have on hand

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Oh, this is really wonderful! I too couldn't figure out how to spread the top layer of batter over the brown sugar/cinnamon layer so I just sort of drizzled the batter over it as best I could, it came out fabulously, wouldn't change a thing, thanks so much for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This recipe was recommended by Chef #736554. This is a very good cake. I would definitely use a bundt pan next time, the batter is a bit thick and it was difficult to spread the second layer over top of the 9x13 pan. It was done in 35 minutes, and we ate it warm. The flavor is just like a honey bun, and just as sweet. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This turned out wonderful. My friend would make it but tried to keep the reciepe a secret. I found this and now she wonders how i figured it out and made it better than hers :p

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      This a a very good cake. It is moist and flavourful and def. tastes like a cinnamon bun. I was a little disappointed in the glaze although everyone else seemed to like it. I just would like it to be a little more substantial and I will change it up a bit when I make it again. I think a little cream cheese would put it over the top. That said, we all enjoyed it and thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      I made this twice and most recently took it to the office... it was an instant hit. Several of my co-workers have requested a repeat performance. Thanks very much for posting this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Great recipe full of sweet wonderful flavor and cinnamon yum! My family loved this. I used a butter cake mix and it worked wonderfully. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Great recipe! Easy to throw together and absolutly wonderful tasting. I think that next time I will double the filling. A keeper for sure. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      HOLY MOLY!! This cake is WONDERFUL! Made it for work today and nothing but a crumb left! Left out the nuts but other than that it was great! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Wow! This is my new favorite cake!!!!! I also left out the nuts and doubled the glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Bun Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.8
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    45%
    Total Fat 24.8 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 73.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 325.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 46.9 g
    187%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes