13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

AWESOME!!!!!!! This cake was the best! I took it to work and everyone kept coming back for more!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Capncrunch August 12, 2002

This recipe cost my husband a night's sleep. He ate about 1/4 of the cake (still warm) and went to bed. I think he got up 3 times to have more with milk. My son and his buddies also devoured their fair share. Delicious. Thanks for posting.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom August 02, 2002

I have been making this cake for year (minus the pecans) and it is by far my most requested dessert. My nephew graduated from Frostburg State University a couple weeks ago, and this is the cake he requested for his graduation party :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherilynne June 05, 2012

Surprisingly tasty and moist! It was very easy to make too. I took some of it to work and it was deemed "awesome."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebop102007 January 06, 2010

We made a class cookbook this year, and had parents send in recipes. We then had a potluck where parents sent in snacks. This cake was one of the items. Wow! It tastes just like a honey bun! It was so flavorful and delicious. I loved that it was so moist too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach May 19, 2007

This cake was very tasty but I thought (as did my family) that it tasted more like coffee cake. That's fine but I guess we were expecting something a little different from the other reviews. I followed the recipe exactly so I can't think that I did anything wrong. We did like it but it wasn't quite what we thought.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef RickC November 25, 2005

What a delicious cake. It looks a bit like a coffee cake, and seems from the ingrediants that it would taste like one, but it is so much yummier. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used maple extract instead of the vanilla as I love maple. I couldn't be more delighted with this recipe - thank you !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheasant farmer June 24, 2005

This is one of the best finds on this entire site - in my humble opinion! WAY better than the old Southern Living version which calls for sour cream instead of cream cheese. Everyone who eats it wants the recipe! My family literally starts in the middle and eats their way to the outside of this cake! SO moist! I didn't double the brown sugar/pecan mix, but did increase it just a bit. Definitely a new favorite!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D's cooking June 22, 2005

Really great hit at my house! I doubled the glaze and I think I will double the brown sugar mix for nect time too so that it will be a thicker layer in the middle. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeniferbz May 23, 2005

This was wonderful!! We really really enjoyed it! I will be making it again and again! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy in Fla April 20, 2005
Honey Bun Cake