21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy cake! I used chopped walnuts, and added a few to the topping as well. This went so fast! A neighbor was here and had a piece, loved it, and said it would be good with a chocolate cake mix too, humm, might be worth a try. Great recipe, crawfish pie! Thanks!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz May 20, 2002

A very good cake. However, it does make two cakes if baked in the 8" pans. I would also maybe cut the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture in half as it seemed a little overwhelming. Excellent texture, very moist cake. Took it to a church potluck & everyone loved it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Warren Slaughter March 18, 2002

Everyone loved this cake. I couldn't keep people out of it, so we would have some for dessert. Try this cake, your family will love you for it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STARAE23 February 25, 2002

I made mine in a bundt pan too. I put half the brown sugar mix in between two layers of the batter, then the rest on the top. I swirled it in some. For the icing, I just mixed powdered sugar with the milk and vanilla. It was soooo good!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 May 01, 2010

Made this for Father's Day...it is now one of my FAVORITE cakes ever!! Brought back memories of Sunday mornings with my dad eating cinnamon rolls :) Sooooo yummy!!! I also made it a bundt pan, like another reviewer. I sprayed the bundt pan with pam, sprinkled abut a 1/4 of the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture into the pan, then poured the cake mix on top of that. (So the brown sugar/cinnamon would be on top of the cake!) I then put the rest of the brown sugar/cinn on the cake mixture and swirled it with a knife. The amount of cake mixture was perfect in the bundt pan- it rose up just perfectly! I did have to bake it for about 50 minutes...I checked it every 5 minutes after 30. I also ommitted nuts, but it didn't effect it at all! AMAZING cake!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlie <3 June 20, 2009

This cake was absolutely delicious! My whole family raved over it. So moist and yummy. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 12, 2012

A winner of a coffee cake recipe. I used a white cake mix. I baked mine in a bundt pan for about 40 minutes. I cooled the cake completely before putting the icing on it. I added about 1/2 t. vanilla extract to the icing. I did not poke holes in the cake, just iced the top. It is a super sweet coffee cake so it tastes great with either a cold glass of milk or a hot cup of coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon January 24, 2011

This is a must for the sweet tooth in your family. It was always a gift to my son from a neighbor. This is the first time I have made it and it's just like I remember. I did make two 8" cakes and sprinkled the topping but I think next time I'll try to put the topping in the middle. Wonderful for breakfast, snack or dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
For JT's Grandma December 28, 2010

I made 2 8" layers and one is going to the hostess of today's dinner. This is a great coffee cake, moist and tasty! So easy to make. Thanks for sharing crawfish pie. Those old church cookbooks hold a lot of treasures, don't they?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn December 25, 2010

Oh so good. Great texture and so easy to make. Family loved this. I will be making this again. thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom November 04, 2010
Honey Bun Cake