19 Reviews

Great recipe! My kids gobbled these up! I added garlic and onion powder to the flour mixture, and also just brushed the tops of the chicken with sauce so they would stay crispy. My kids definitely want these on the menu again. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj April 28, 2013

These were good...I used honey bbq sauce, no hickory or honey....no complaints

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elegantly October 08, 2012

These were really delicious.Next time I will read some reviews and try getting tips from there. The chicken strips were not crunchy after baking them with the sauce.Maybe I put too much sauce or I should have reduced the baking time I don't know....Will definitely keep this recipe as I liked the flavor so much really tasty and well worth to try for anyone thinking about it.Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms July 16, 2011

So sorry...I forgot to add the stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siguanas July 20, 2010

These were a huge hit with the kids! Like other posters, I had no buttermilk so substituted regular milk with a splash of vinegar. Also, I brushed the strips with sauce rather than dipping, they were wonderfully crunchy/sticky and the contrast in texture was perfect. I made half with barbecue sauce as directed and half with buffalo sauce, and pleased everyone in the house. I added 2 chopped chipotle peppers in adobo sauce to the barbecue sauce--my family loves chipotle--and it couldn't have been better. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORTNmom February 10, 2010

My mouth is watering just looking at the picture! Whenever I make them, I cannot stop eating them! So addicting! These don't last long! They take a little bit of time to make, but are WELL worth the effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fuzein January 30, 2009

These were good, but they didn't stay crunchy after dipping them in the sauce and baking them. All the breading soaked up the sauce and made them sticky and chewy. I would recommend maybe lightly brushing the sauce over them. Also because bbq sauce burns easily the bottoms where they touched the baking pan were really tough and chewy from the sauce starting to caramelize. Maybe cut the baking time in half? The flavor was very good and they were very tasty besides those two things. I used Bullseye hickory bbq sauce. I will try again, and Im sure by putting less bbq on them I will get delicious results! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* May 21, 2008

These were good. We all enjoyed. Next time I won't use as much liquid smoke, as it was a little overbearing. I added some garlic and onion powder in with the flour for added flavor. I will probably make these again with less smoke.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idaframe April 30, 2008

I made these for my Super Bowl party last night and they went down very well. They are a bit of work but come out tasty and worth it for a party. I can't easily find liquid smoke in the UK. So, I had to leave that out but I don't think I missed it. Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne February 04, 2008
Honey Barbecue Chicken Strips