14 Reviews

Yum Yum Yum!
I followed the instructions except: I used 1 1/2 small bananas; added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts; I chose "Whole wheat" setting on my bread maker because I used 1 C of bread flour 1 1/4 C of whole wheat flour. 5 hours later, we got this moist, super delicious bread everyone just loved it!
Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gizmolulu December 25, 2012

Also, when converting to metric, get the information right. One cup of flour is 150g, not 236 ml. 236ml is for liquid measurements only.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathyspeight54 November 07, 2014

Made this in the bread machine using olive oil, 2 bananas, & flax seeds. Very good! Moist, good crumb, & nice crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ro_runner February 11, 2012

I am going to give this 3 stars for now because the crust turned out very thick and brown. I thought I made it to the recipe only omitting the seeds. I am not sure if it is my fault or my machine's fault. I ate it this morning for breakfast and I thought it was good-tasting except for the crust problem. I am going to make it again and then I will review it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Maria #2 June 01, 2010

My husband and I loved this bread! I used olive oil, and egg substitute to give it a more healthy kick. My banana was very ripe, and maybe that's why the bread had a delicious flavor of bananas. In addition to the honey, I sprinkled about a tablespoon of splenda into the mix. Thanks for a great recipe for my new bread machine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes January 13, 2010

Just made this bread and it has a wonderful consistency and subtly sweet flavor. Used a whole very ripe banana, substituted pumpkin butter for half of the honey and omitted the poppy seeds...turned out beautifully although I did end the cycle 12 mins early because the crust seemed to be getting too dark. This might have been my own issue with setting the machine. Will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yummytass October 01, 2009

This is a yummy, moist recipe, it was gone almost as fast I took it out of the breadmaker! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctjeablack January 21, 2009

I made it with flax seeds instead of poppyseeds. Good bread! It has a wonderful, soft texture that doesn't crumble when sliced. It only has a hint of banana flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Bad Cook January 18, 2009

I have made the bread for years and was getting ready to post it when I found you already had. It is a delicious bread. I've never added the poppy seeds. As stated, it's great with peanut butter. Yummy toasted with pb too. When I have old bananas that are turning brown, I pop them into the freezer (with the peel on). When I need ripe bananas for a recipe such as this, I remove them from the freezer and let them thaw a few minutes. They will just slip right out of their skins. Let them come to room temperature before baking bread, or it might affect the rise. Also, this isn't a cake-like bread if that's what you're after. This is a great bread for pbj's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 March 07, 2008

I found this bread was great, and tasted better after stored in a plastic bag overnight. I was expecting a banana flavor at first, but I did not get it. Instead I relised the banana served the bread a way to give the bread moisture and sugar for the yeast to grow. Will try again whenever I have an old banana.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moop stick December 27, 2006
Honey Banana Whole Wheat Bread-Bread Machine