11 Reviews

This was fantastic. We cooked the ham covered in foil and sitting in pepsi and basted it every 30 minutes. And when we took it out sliced it up and then added the sugar mixture (I used the half white and brown) and this was the best ham ever even better I think then HoneyBaked original. Thank you for a fantastic recipe. We'll be having this again for Christmas :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eleventhletter December 05, 2006

Thank you for the tip about using a blow torch! I LOVE ham from The Honey Baked Ham store, but decided to get my spiral ham at Sam's Club this year since they are so much cheaper. I used your blow torch method using the glaze mixture that came with the ham and I added some extra brown sugar to give it the right texture. The carmelized sugar coating on the ham was perfect! Just like the Honey Baked Ham coating! It was fun to use the blow torch too! My husband thought I was crazy, but my kids thought it was very cool! Everyone loved the ham.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlabamaPrincesses April 12, 2009

Just came across this while looking at my holiday recipes. It was terrific. We had fun with the blowtorch on Christmas Eve, impressed the grandkids no end! But next time I would do the sugar/blowtorch thing twice for a heavier crust. Sorry for the very late review. It's a Keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski November 23, 2007

Wow!! This is just like the one my mom cooks for us EVERY Christmas! Wonderful! I recommend it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goldenwolf March 29, 2006

This was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana J. February 26, 2016

Excellent! I am a huge fan of HoneyBaked Ham and this tastes exactly like it. I had to search a little deeper about how to bake the ham, but I decided to use a bottle of natural black cherry soda to warm the ham in according to directions. I used the new sweet slice Boar's Head Ham. We had bought and used the Honey Maple Glaze made and recommended by Boar's Head, but I am not fan of it. I don't like horseradish and it was very prominent in the flavoring. And although I am a fan of mustard it was little stronger in the ham that I would expect. This Honey Baked Ham recipe tasted just like the ones you buy at the store. This was my second ham to ever make in my life and I will be making my own every year now because of this recipe! Praise God!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4theGreatIAM January 06, 2016

Family tested and approved. I made this for my New Year's brunch this year and one of my guests is still raving about it. My son has also gone to the store to buy a ham for me to make this recipe because he says we can't have Thanksgiving without it. Right on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aanderson.7_11015814 November 26, 2015

This was GREAT! I made it for Christmas and will be making it again for Easter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Karen617 April 19, 2014

Ummm, hold on here. There's no honey in Honey Baked Ham???? I am giving this the full five stars, because I changed the recipe, but I used the base and it was still delicious. I marinated my ham in guava juice (pear would work, it's in the Mexican section) to cut down on saltiness and the cooked it in a crock pot with just enough guava juice to cover the bottom. For the glaze, I used half honey and half brown sugar, and tasting it before putting it on the ham it was too sweet, so I added a TBS of dijon. I have cured my own ham in the past, but this was just the two of us, so hubby bought a cheap ham and he still said it was the best ever. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messystation September 28, 2009

This recipe is awesome! I followed it step by step and it turned out just like the Honey Baked Ham you get at their locations. This recipe will save me lots of money. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Florida Cook April 12, 2009
Honey Baked Ham (The Real Thing!)