Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Baked Ham (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Baked Ham (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2005

      This ham was great and very simple to prepare, Dawn. We loved it for Christmas dinner. I had to cover mine with foil to prevent burning and it turned out terrific.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      Perfect! This was my first try at making a ham like this and it was easy and delicious! I am NOT a big fan of ham but I thought that I would try this anyway. It just made my whole meal SO easy!! I used a butane torch that you make crème brulee with on the outside of the ham to try to get a crust. I really didn’t need to do this because it kind of did it on it’s own in the oven, but I HAD to try…lol! This turned out moist and VERY delicious! You don’t want to miss trying this out! The savings from buying the Honey Baked Ham is TREMENDUOS and I think almost (if not a bit) better!!-- Keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      This was the first time I made a ham, and it turned out wonderfully. However, I did not find that the "crust" appeared as the Honebaked ham co.'s. I ended up Patting more brown sugar onto the ham and torching that, in order to have a "crust" as at the store... Very good, and rave reviews! Lastly, I did not cook the ham at the high heat indicated here. I cooked it per the instructions on the ham at a lower heat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      Awesome!! We baked our 9.5 lb. ham at 325 (as directed on the package) for about two hours total. The glaze was fabulous, and torching it was really fun.:) My mom, a honey-baked devotee, declared that it tasted even better than the real thing. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      Excellent! I actually use this for ham steaks as well. This has great flavor...especially for the leftovers after it sits overnight! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

    • on April 21, 2014

      The only way that I will make a ham from now on! Didn't need to torch it, the glaze carmelized perfectly on its own. So delicious that I have zero leftovers from a 10 pound ham on Easter, the family loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      Easter 2014: I used a Costco bone-in spiral cut ham and followed Dawn's directions. I used a butane torch to carmelize the glaze. My 8 lb. ham was perfect in 2 hours. My family loved the copycat ham and were shocked to learn it wasn't a Honeybaked that would have cost 3x more. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      We love Honey Baked ham and this is an excellent way to recreate it. The fruit juices really help to keep the ham moist as we cooked low and slow and did not cover the ham during baking. We basted every 15 minutes with the juice and added the glaze during the last 30 minutes of baking time. Wish I could have found my kitchen torch -- next time I'll be prepared. :) This made a wonderful addition to our New Year's meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Amazing ham! I had a small ham (not bone-in or spiral-cut), but it still turned out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      loved this recipes!! the flavors where just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

    • on January 02, 2012

      Thank you so much for this recipe, Dawn. Delicious, delicious, delicious! Cooked it for the first time this past 2011 Xmas because the line at the Honey Baked Ham store was out the door around the block. So glad I baked this and saved us so much money!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

    • on December 25, 2011

      Wow! I woke up this morning with an uncooked spiral ham waiting for me to do something with it. Typically, I do not eat ham because of how salty it can be. However, our son asked for it for Christmas.

      I read your recipe and its simplicity, and thought, "OK! I'll try this!" I did not have orange juice, so I substituted pomegranate molasses, lime juice and sugar *(2 tbsp of each) . Mixing this into the 3/4 C pear juice gave it a nice balance without it being too sweet. The basting was really key with this recipe and kept the meat very tender. The brown sugar - honey mix was not easy to spread on. Overall, the outcome was quite appealing to the palate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      So easy and fast. Wonderful flavor, very moist. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Dawn, I'm so glad I found this recipe for Easter dinner. For people having trouble finding pear juice, check the baby food aisle of your grocery. I followed your measurements to a "T" I had an 8 pound spiral cut smoked ham and on sale at 1.99 per pound, it sure saved some money and was so dang easy to fix.

      The honey & brown sugar mixture was a bit thick for brushing, so I just started pouring from the top and just a spoon to guide the mixture where it was needed. I did cover with aluminum foil about 30 minutes before the end of cooking time so that it wouldnt get too dark.

      We loved the moistness and flavour and the smell. It was yummy and easy to make which is always a plus. Keeper for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Fabulous! This recipe is a real find. I didn't have pear nectar, so I just used orange juice, which I poured over ham before baking. When I made the glaze, it was quite thick, so I added some of the orange juice and then just poured it over the ham. Also added some ground cloves and next time will try some cinnamon also. This will be added to my "WOW" cookbook and is a real keeper! Thanks so much for sharing and posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

    • on January 10, 2010

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Baked Ham (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 528.6
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    39%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 136.6 mg
    45%
    Sodium 3436.6 mg
    143%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 32.0 g
    128%
    Protein 46.1 g
    92%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pear juice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes