69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, amazing!

I made it for a football party on Saturday night, and all 8lbs of ham was gone!! I used 1/2 cup of pear baby food since they didn't have Gerber pear juice in the baby section, and added a pinch of ground up whole cloves to the juice. I doubled the brown sugar and honey recipe, and melted the honey it in the oven with the ham so it was easier to brush on. I followed the package instructions at 275 degrees, so it wasn't too hot for the syrup! I am definitely making this for Christmas!! Thanks Dawn!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sproutsgirl November 26, 2012

Great ham recipe! We used a 13lbs. smoked Smithfield ham (bone-in). I found the pear juice in the baby aisle (Gerber brand) and made the recipe as directed. The only thing I did differently was to baste the ham every 15-20 minutes. It had to cook for about 3 hours total to reach the target temperature. I broiled the ham for the last 5 minutes in order to achieve a slightly crisp glaze on the outside (didn't have a butane torch :-P). The result was a nice moist, sweet (but not too sweet - just perfect!) ham with lots of leftovers. Even my fiance kept commenting on how good it was.
This recipe is perfect and easy, even for a ham-novice like myself (it was the first ham I ever made)! Thanks, Dawn!! I will definitely make this again :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ophiael November 22, 2012

The best ham recipe...I'll never use another!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FromKatesKitchen January 25, 2010

This is so good. I didn't use a spiral cut ham, but a bone in ham. This is so good. The smell coming from the oven when you are basting it with the fruit juices is amazing. Then, you add the honey sugar mixture and its fabulous. I though DD#1 was going to lick the ham as I was taking it out of the oven!!! I looked beautiful and smelled even better. I will always use this recipe for my hams, Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 09, 2009

have not tried this recipe yet, sounds yummy. i noticed some reviews talked about cutting into the ham for better penetration of the juice mixture. my thought is getting a meat injector and put the juice in that way. chef g

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gary z. August 30, 2009

I made this using a ham that was not spiral cut and cut slits in it. I wonder if a spiral ham would have dried out? I didn't have pear juice so I used all orange. The end product was a nice, juicy ham. Thanks for posting

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA December 26, 2008

Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I was so worried I would mess it up, but I received nothing but compliments. ( It was the first ham I've ever made!) I could not find the pear nectar as well, so I improvised with apple juice. Also, I poked several holes all throughout the ham, and let the juices fall into them, which resulted in flavor all throughout the ham, rather than just on top. I added a little ground cloves to the blend of juices, and it was awesome! I will be making it again for Christmas, as requested. Thanks again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acbngonzalez December 13, 2008

I made this ham recipe a few days ago. It is without a coubt the BEST Honey Baked Ham I have ever had! I served it with scalloped pototoes, steamed carrots and asparagas. My whole family gobbles it down there were no left overs. Thank you for a great recipe, that will be #1 Ham recipe in my home.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 March 29, 2008

I served this on Easter this year using a spiral cut hickory Costco ham. My ham was a little over 10 lbs so I just doubled all of the ingredients. Our local market had Pear nectar. Hansens makes one. I found it was easiest to put the brown sugar glaze at the very top of the ham and just let it naturally slide down the sides instead of trying to brush it on the side. Everyone thought it tasted exactly liked the Honey Baked Ham which one of my guests always buys. I will definitely be using this recipe again. Plus my husband had fun with the butane torch!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
btschmidt March 28, 2008

Made this ham for a family get together. It had a nice glaze and everyone liked it. The only thing I would do different next time is to lay the ham so that the sliced part is on top so the fruit juice mixture would go into the slices.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle November 14, 2006
Honey Baked Ham (Copycat)