Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Baked Ham (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Baked Ham (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2003

      Dawn, This is an awesome and easy recipe for honey baked ham! The fruit juices were great for basting (Although I continually basted with just the fruit juices for a 1/2 hour, then put on the honey/brownsugar glaze and continued to baste every 15 minutes until my meat thermometer reached 140. (it ended up cooking for about 2 hours in the end). the ham was very flavourful, and the basting really cut a lot of the saltiness of ham. Thanks! This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Dang Baby!! EVERYONE loved the ham!! So miost and yummy!! You can get pear juice where the baby food is. I loved this recipe. The only bad thing is now I am in charge of always making the ham now!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      We just had one of the best Easter meals I've ever made thanks to this recipe. My family LOVED the ham, and it was so simple. I didn't carmalize the ham, but it was awesome just the same. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      This is the best way to cook a Ham!!! Moist Juicy and tastes like the Honey Baked Ham.... Used Pear Nectar in the can, and it worked great! Propane Torch was a nice touch added extra brown sugar sprinkled on the outside and it carmelized even better..... Thanks Dawn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I made this for my friends at a Christmas party last night and everyone couldn't stop commenting on how great it was! I used pinapple juice rather than pear/orange juice, covered it in foil after the first half hour and put the brown sugar/honey mix on it when there was one hour left to go. It was a 12 lb bone-in ham and I cooked it at 425 degrees for 3 and 1/2 hours, until internal temp was 155. Probably could've left it in for another half hour, but it turned out great the way it did. I will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      I can finally stop spending all that money for a Honey Baked Ham! My family just loved it, in fact they shouted out "10 stars" the moment they sank their teeth into the juicy meat. We normally would only eat Honey Baked Ham once a year because it is so expensive. Now we can enjoy it whenever we want. I used apple juice instead of pear and I doubled the honey and brown sugar. I used half of it after basting for about 15 minutes then covered it loosely with foil and let it cook until the meat thermometer went off, then I used the other half to glaze the ham before I sprinkled brown sugar on. I pulled out my handy propane torch and had a ball. My boys thought it tasted just like the real thing, my husband thought it tasted much better. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I made this for Christmas dinner. It is a blast. It taste just like the ones you buy for a really high price. I did not torch it. We just spooned the glaze on the ham that we got.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      This is the BEST Copycat of Honey baked ham I have tried. It was MOIST! The key for me I think was putting cut end down and basting often. I doubled the sugar and honey glaze and used 1 cup of OJ (no pear juice to be found...) I covered the ham with foil during the last 1/2 hour to prevent it from turning too dark on top. EXCELLENT Recipe! My new FAVORITE ham recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      If you are going to copycat a Honey Baked Ham, please next time use a bone-in ham. Boneless hams are just not good, it tastes process!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Wow, amazing!

      I made it for a football party on Saturday night, and all 8lbs of ham was gone!! I used 1/2 cup of pear baby food since they didn't have Gerber pear juice in the baby section, and added a pinch of ground up whole cloves to the juice. I doubled the brown sugar and honey recipe, and melted the honey it in the oven with the ham so it was easier to brush on. I followed the package instructions at 275 degrees, so it wasn't too hot for the syrup! I am definitely making this for Christmas!! Thanks Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Great ham recipe! We used a 13lbs. smoked Smithfield ham (bone-in). I found the pear juice in the baby aisle (Gerber brand) and made the recipe as directed. The only thing I did differently was to baste the ham every 15-20 minutes. It had to cook for about 3 hours total to reach the target temperature. I broiled the ham for the last 5 minutes in order to achieve a slightly crisp glaze on the outside (didn't have a butane torch :-P). The result was a nice moist, sweet (but not too sweet - just perfect!) ham with lots of leftovers. Even my fiance kept commenting on how good it was.
      This recipe is perfect and easy, even for a ham-novice like myself (it was the first ham I ever made)! Thanks, Dawn!! I will definitely make this again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      The best ham recipe...I'll never use another!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This is so good. I didn't use a spiral cut ham, but a bone in ham. This is so good. The smell coming from the oven when you are basting it with the fruit juices is amazing. Then, you add the honey sugar mixture and its fabulous. I though DD#1 was going to lick the ham as I was taking it out of the oven!!! I looked beautiful and smelled even better. I will always use this recipe for my hams, Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      have not tried this recipe yet, sounds yummy. i noticed some reviews talked about cutting into the ham for better penetration of the juice mixture. my thought is getting a meat injector and put the juice in that way. chef g

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I tried this with an uncut 8lb bone-in leg shank ham. I couldn't find any pear juice so I bought a can of Pears in their own juice and just used the juice from there. Turned out very good but next time I am going to try it with the spiral cut ham to get more of the juice flavor on the ham. Thank you Dawn for a great ham recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I made this using a ham that was not spiral cut and cut slits in it. I wonder if a spiral ham would have dried out? I didn't have pear juice so I used all orange. The end product was a nice, juicy ham. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I was so worried I would mess it up, but I received nothing but compliments. ( It was the first ham I've ever made!) I could not find the pear nectar as well, so I improvised with apple juice. Also, I poked several holes all throughout the ham, and let the juices fall into them, which resulted in flavor all throughout the ham, rather than just on top. I added a little ground cloves to the blend of juices, and it was awesome! I will be making it again for Christmas, as requested. Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I made this ham recipe a few days ago. It is without a coubt the BEST Honey Baked Ham I have ever had! I served it with scalloped pototoes, steamed carrots and asparagas. My whole family gobbles it down there were no left overs. Thank you for a great recipe, that will be #1 Ham recipe in my home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      I served this on Easter this year using a spiral cut hickory Costco ham. My ham was a little over 10 lbs so I just doubled all of the ingredients. Our local market had Pear nectar. Hansens makes one. I found it was easiest to put the brown sugar glaze at the very top of the ham and just let it naturally slide down the sides instead of trying to brush it on the side. Everyone thought it tasted exactly liked the Honey Baked Ham which one of my guests always buys. I will definitely be using this recipe again. Plus my husband had fun with the butane torch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Made this ham for a family get together. It had a nice glaze and everyone liked it. The only thing I would do different next time is to lay the ham so that the sliced part is on top so the fruit juice mixture would go into the slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Baked Ham (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 528.6
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    39%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 136.6 mg
    45%
    Sodium 3436.6 mg
    143%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 32.0 g
    128%
    Protein 46.1 g
    92%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pear juice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes