Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey and Black Pepper Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey and Black Pepper Steak

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2006

      Oh boy! What can I say but try this! I used rump steak and followed the directions as written. Hubby is not that keen on rice but when I asked what he thought, his exact words were B****Y fantastic! A new favourite, thanks Jan! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2012

      Very easy and tasted great! 40 ml is approx. 3 tbsp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Just cooked this in my apartment. Didn't have a wok but that didn't matter. Pees are not my forte so I subbed them for red pepper and it is amazing. I also added a clove of garlic why stir frying the veggies. 5 stars for this recipe, it is nothing short of fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      I used a New York sirloin instead of round, as I find round is rather tough. The flavors going on here made my mouth want to dance! Delicious meal from start to finish and we will have it again when the urge for take out hits us again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      I followed the recipe except used the steam bag frozen snap peas and threw them in at the end. My steak was a bit chewy. I think if I made this again I would use shrimp or chicken. I would also add some fresh garlic and ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      This was really good. Ate it for 3 meals straight. I used round steak. I doubled the sauce (kept pepper amount the same) amounts because I like sauce and added fresh garlic and cornstarch to it but I think it would be just fine as written. The snow peas (not a fan of sugar peas) were still a bit crunchy (like I prefer them) and the meat was tender. I did end up having too much sauce so I'll keep the amounts the same next time and still just add the fresh garlic. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      If it makes my husband compliment the chef over and over again- it truly must be a winner! Very simple; I just sliced up a small, thick sirloin, sliced up one onion, used a small bag of frozen broccoli and made my stir-fry from that combination. Served over steamed white rice. I only used 1/2 tsp pepper and was glad that I did because it was peppy enough for us for this first go round- maybe we might try more next time...and there will be many more times with this dinner! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Loved this. Increased the oyster sauce, honey and soy sauce to 60 ml to get more of the delish sauce. Used 2 ts black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I love this recipe. I don't use the oyster sauce and the meat was chicken and was so good. All the family loved. I maded vegetarian too only with veggies was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      OMG, that was delicious! I didn't remember to get US measurements before making this, so I had to just fake it. But I used about 2-3 lbs or top round, a 10 oz package of snap peas, and 1/2 a cup each honey, oyster sauce and soy sauce. I definitely didn't measure out the oil or the black pepper. The oil I dumped once I was done cooking, and the pepper I used to taste. Both hubby and I loved it. I'll make it again. And again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      We were inspired to make this after having a similar named recipe at a local chinese restaurant for lunch (though they used fillet steak), this was different but absolutely delicious and flamoursome. I used 1K of rump steak lightly pounded and cut into squares and doubled the sauce ingredients (though only 1 large onion) and we used 5 teaspoons of freshly cracked pepper (we like our pepper). This is the sort of dish were the flavours come through as your are eating with one bit you get the honey with another the pepper and so on, fully recommended and fluly enjoyed. made as a recipenapp for Aussie/Kiwi Swap # 34 Nvember 22009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      I added mushrooms and doubled the sauce. Poured the sauce over our rice and it was excellent! This will be used in my monthly rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Loved it! What a great quick after-work meal. I used 2 bunches of green onions rather than the snap peas, and it was delicious. Thank you for posting Jan, please see my rating system.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Excellent recipe and so easy. I added 1 sliced red pepper just to give it more color. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. The sauce is perfect. I didn't need to adjust anything. Keeper!! Thank you JustJans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

    • on April 09, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! So easy to make and so delicious. I doubled up the sauce and didn't change a thing. Thank you so much, this one is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Oh yum! We loved this. Practically licked the plate clean. I accidentally bought spicy oyster sauce which we ended up liking and I used sirloin steak. After reading all the reviews I thickened the sauce with cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This is pretty good. I used some KC strip steaks we had in the freezer that needed to be used up. I also threw in a few more vegs, some carrot and mushrooms. The sauce did not really thicken up, maybe will add some cornstarch next time. I used the 1 teaspoon of pepper, next time will add another 1/2 teaspoon. This went together fast. I served it with saffron rice, which made it very pretty. Slightly on the sweet side for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      The family loved this one. I cooked the veg first. I used sirloin steak instead of round steaks and ensured I stopped cooking it when about 1/2 of the meat was no longer pink. It worked out well. We do like our steaks rare. I didn't bother with the reduction stage so not to overcook the meat and it was fine. None of the steak ended up pink but it was all tender. I also reduced the pepper to about 1/4 tsp for our sensitive palates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Not quite sure on this one. First with the round steak I found the meat tough. Not sure if that is due to the recipe or not. Second, sauce was runny, I think you need to thicken it up a little so it will coat the meat and veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey and Black Pepper Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.7
     
    Calories from Fat 215
    53%
    Total Fat 23.9 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 91.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1086.5 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 29.1 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites