Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Almond Date Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Almond Date Balls

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2010

      Very fun! I used dried apricots instead of dates since that's what I had on hand... it hurt my wrist to mix but they are tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Sharon, these date balls are soooooooo yummy!!!! Wow, I was a little sceptical, cause I dont like dried dates that much, but these little gems are just so moreish! They have a very sweet taste with the roasted almonds adding a nice toasty flavour and lots of crunch. I made half the recipe, but still ended up with 21 nicely sized balls. I used only 1 1/2 tbs of honey and found that to be the maximum sweetness for myself. Maybe next time Ill use even less. I cant wait to present these to my cousin, who likes healthy sweets, I think she will be thrilled! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us! Ill certainly make it again! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #21 April 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Delicious! I didn't have enough dates so made up the difference with golden raisins. Also toasted some unsweetened coconut along with the almonds and made them quite small so they'd be bite-sized for a party. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I cheated and used toasted unsalted peanuts in place of the almonds. These were super easy and turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      I cheated a bit and just toasted some almond meal to make these. I did have a lot of trouble getting the dates to break down as they kept sticking to the blades of my food processor but when I finally did get these done they were quite nice, very sweet though, you couldn't eat too many at once. I think these would be a nice after dinner treat with coffee. Made for ZWT III.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      So sticky sweet watch out teeth! These are very easy and fiber healthy. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Loved this, Sharon! Here's what I did to make preparing easier. First, wet the knife to make chopping easier. Grease the food processor bowl and blade with oil. Add the dates and process. It took a solid five minutes for the dates to form a pasty ball. Transfer the date paste
      to a greased bowl using a greased spatula. Add the other ingredients (I also added 1 teaspoon of rosewater and 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom) and stir with a greased spoon. Next, grease a cookie scoop on both sides and form into balls. With greased hands roll the balls in the ground almonds. Easier this way, trust me! Will make again soon trying diffferent dried fruits, orange blossom water, cocoa powder, etc...?? Reviewed for Veg Tag/February and Spanish/Portuguese Tag/Miel/February. Come play with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Almond Date Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (901 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.8
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    33%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 31.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites