Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hominy - Green Chile Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hominy - Green Chile Casserole

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2002

      I absolutely love hominy. There are so many people that have never tried this type of corn before, and they are missing out on a great flavor. This is a wonderful dish, and we enjoyed eating it so much. I do use fresh-roasted chiles just because they have so much flavor (more than the canned ones). Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This is so unbelieveable delicious - we just couldn't believe our tastebuds! I made this for dinner tonight to serve alongside our grilled chicken. There was a few gray areas for me about the measurements of the ingredients so I just wanted to clarify that I used two 15 ounce cans of hominy and one 4 ounce can of diced mild green chiles. I seasoned with about 3/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper and the taste was really out of this world. It was rich and cheesy. My only comment about the finished product is that it was runny. I did drain the hominy and the chiles really well, too. Next time I might try adding a little rice or maybe even an egg as a binder. It did thicken a bit after it cooled, though. Great recipe! Oh - and if you do make this for a pot luck, I might suggest that you double the recipe. It made one 9" square casserole for me, I consider that about 6 servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2002

      This is an excellent recipe. I love the Mexican flavor the green chili and cheese gives. I used Vlassic Roasted Red Peppers in a jar, and cut the peppers up for the recipe. They were great. Never thought hominy could taste this good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      OKAY!If you haven't tried hominy, you must..it's the best! You don't know what you are missing.. Mark, this recipe is a winner!! Put a smile on my man's face.. And this will definitely be in my recipe file for 'often use'. MMMMMMMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Very good recipe! I had lost the one that was given to me years ago, and was glad to find this. Regarding can sizes: I used two 29-oz cans of hominy and one 4-oz can of green chilis (which I blended into the sour cream using a food processor, too fool a familiy member that doesn't want to see green things, but likes the flavor). I also added about 1/4 C diced raw bacon, which the version of this recipe I lost called for. Again, this is a very good recipe - thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      We served this with our Thanksgiving dinner but I think that in the future we'll serve it when we have a Mexican dinner....flavor was great - even got me a hominy-phobic to try it....it was good....the hominy lovers loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      Made this in response to the NFL games. Loved hominy as a kid in Ohio, but never get around to buying it. The red bell pepper added the 5-star taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      This was good but I didn't really taste the hominy. I felt the taste was more focused on the cheese and chiles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      We used this along w/ Fiesta Chicken Bake (Fiesta Chicken Bake) for a themed dinner. A lot of the ingredients are the same and actually split down the middle (no more trying to figure out what to do w/ half a can of chiles, etc). Truth be told, we both liked this recipe better than the main dish. My wife had heard of but never had hominy; she's hooked! I used Mexican style hominy (a little lime juice and a tiny bit of hot zing). I may try using an egg as well as the casserole is a tad runny. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      I really wanted to like this recipe, but I just don't think I'm a fan of hominy. This was the first time I'd ever tried it, and I don't know what I was expecting...maybe something sweeter like corn. I'm sure for those that like hominy this would be wonderful with the sour cream and cheese combo, but it just didn't work for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      I brought this to a potluck her in the snowy north. Only one person knew what hominy was, but everyone liked it and some asked for the recipe. A lot of folks thought it was potatoes. :) It's a hearty comfort dish. I used 4 14.5 oz cans hominy (2 white, 2 yellow) and 2 cups of cheese. I also minced some fresh red pepper and added it until it looked like there was enough to jazz up the color. I had to bake it for longer than 30 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      This was a terrific recipe, although I agree that the end product was a bit runny. Still deserves 5 stars because it was delicious and so easy you could memorize ingredients and directions for next time! I also suggest some sort of binder like egg (or flour, sauteed in a little butter first to remove floury taste) could thicken it a bit. Also, I used low fat yogurt instead of sour cream, low fat cheddar cheese and used diced fresh red pepper instead of canned (for a crisper consistency). Whatever, it still turned out great! I just can't understand all the antipathy toward hominy myself either, but someone might want to try this recipe using canned corn instead? Thanks Mark H.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      This is a great way to convince anyone that hominy is good;) This often appears at potlucks in my area & is one of the first dishes to empty. Thanks for posting the recipe to a great side dish. I usually use 1 can each of white & yellow hominy & 1/4 cup of diced red pepper for the color contrast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      I have never tried hominy but the simplicity of this recipe and the southwestern flair got me to try it and I loved it,as did my husband!!I made it to go alongside Denise' chipoltle roast and it was a perfect side dish for a tex-mex nite,I was even using it as a dip for my tostado chips.Will definately make again,thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Excellent!! Will definitely be making this again in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      We prepared this dish, with the addition of garlic and sauteed onions, for this weekends Canines, Cats and Cabernet fundraiser in Brownwood Texas. It was a hit and relatively easy to prepare and serve 250 people buffet style. We served it as part of our Hogs and Hominy duo which was inspired by the legendary Edna Ferber. Like Edna, we know about champagne and caviar but we talk hog and hominy! We've been making and serving Pork Posole (Hog and Hominy!) in our Deli since 1996 and we can't wait to incorporate this hominy dish onto our Specials Board.

      Our Serving suggestion: Beer Brats and Green Chile Hominy Casserole

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      Pretty good, I roasted my own ancho chile and the smokiness was a nice accent to the hominy. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

    • on November 24, 2006

      Very good. My dad loves hominy and I fixed this for him for thanksgiving. I followed your directions and love the cheese and green chili. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2004

      Pat in Ogden I once had a friend who made this dish and I could never find the recipe. Thanks! I added seasoned bread crumbs and grated cheese to the top before baking. It sure was good, and so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hominy - Green Chile Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.8
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    71%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 50.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 212.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    yellow hominy

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites