Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homestyle Beef Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homestyle Beef Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2010

      This is awesome! So much more flavor than my previous recipe. I doubled the recipe, and added some garlic and worcestershire. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the dot. The meat is so tender, and there's so much depth of flavor I am amazed!
      ETA: I now use 3/4 cup of red wine, and allow the meat and onions to simmer in the wine for about 30 minutes before adding any other ingredients. Much more flavor, and also much more tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Fabulous! Made it to my best of 2010 cookbook book #269572 I cooked the mushrooms ahead of time in the skillet then set aside. Did a quick sear on cube steaks (cheaper) and set aside. Sauteed onions added red wine to deglaze and put steaks back in and cooked covered for 30 minutes. Removed steaks, added mushrooms, soup, sour cream (reduced fat and used more than directed), paprika, tobasco brand worcestire and stirred well. Put in steaks and turned to coat. Cooked 10 minutes covered and truly was one of the best comfort foods I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      Really good stroganoff recipe. The meat came out so tender. DH really loved it. I felt I needed to add garlic for a little more flavor and also added a little milk near the end of cooking just to make more sauce. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Oh my gosh, this is so good! The only problem I had with it was that I didn't make enough. Next time I will do a double recipe so we have some leftovers. I used 1/2 cup of red wine and simmered the meat (I used beef tenderloin tips) with the onions for about 15 minutes before adding the other ingredients. Also had to keep the mushrooms separate since the kids don't like them. I ended up adding almost a 1/2 cup of beef broth at the end to make it more creamy. The flavor was great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      I made this for my Husband and I on Monday evening. I read some of the review below, and I also added some minced garlic and about 2T of Worcestershire sauce. We both loved this meal. We will definitely be making it again. I was a little conservative with the paprika, but I think I will spice it up a little more next time. Thanks for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Magnificent and Simple!! The Sirloin was so tender, we added 6 cloves of Garlic, some extra red wine and a dash of chilli. Egg Noodles were impossible to find at our local grocers so we made-do with extra wide fettuccine and it was superb!! A great "last minute" meal for dinner guests as the flavours are really complex and complimentary but not at all overpowering. Such an awesome balanced recipe!! 5 Stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I made my own cream of mushroom soup for lunch and had some left over, so I used it in this. It resulted in a wonderful stroganoff that my whole family ate and ate! We loved it till the last drop was gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Thanks for this recipe. Just finished the seconds. Everyone that ate it loved it. I also cooked onions and mushrooms at the same time with about tablespoon of minced garlic. I doubled the recipe. Used 2 T of olive oil, and 4 T of butter. Also added spices during the sauteing. Then threw in leftover rare tenderloin cut up into bitesize chunks. It all came together super quick because my meat was already pretty cooked. I find myself now wanting to catch that tenderloin on sale again so I can repeat this process. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Wonderfully full flavored recipe! I followed as written except added some beef broth to the meat mixture before adding the sour cream to thin it out a bit. I also used about 1 lb. of mushrooms since they cook down so much. The meat was super tender! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I have never made Stroganoff before using sirloin steaks. I am now a convert!! This was a very easy recipe to follow and the results were quite tasty. I did have to add a little additional seasonings (our taste preferences): Used 1 pound of mushrooms and added 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce as we felt it needed just a tad more of a bite. This recipe will be made and used again, often! Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      We love this recipe. I've never been a big fan of Beef Stroganoff until I found this recipe last month. I've made it 4 times already. The only thing I did different is use beef broth in place of the wine and added a little worcestershire sauce. So glad I found this recipe! Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I've never had the boxed stuff before but my old recipe called for tomato, I think. Can you tell that it was not well received by everyone? This was, however, the most flavorful stroganoff that I have ever tasted! It was quick and I had all the ingredients on hand. I did add some minced garlic, sauted with the onion and mushrooms. I used fresh crimini and wished I had more. The more mushrooms the better! I also used 1/4 cup of beef broth, (no wine in the pantry). Thank you for a great recipe. I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Excellent and easy!!! My meat was not tender after 30 minutes so I simmered 1 hour but followed rest of recipe exactly. This will be a favorite at our house!! You may want to double recipe because everyone will want seconds!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2014

      Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and served over wide rice noodles. The sauce was very flavorful but the beef was not as tender as expected. Next time, I will marinade the beef in egg whites first. After all, great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      This was wonderful! I doubled the recipe, since I was fixing dinner for 3 hungry men and myself, however, I kept the soup at one can, just used 1 large onion, and also only needed one package of wide egg noodles. I added about 2 tsp minced garlic and 1 Tbs Worcestershire sauce. I substituted low-sodium beef broth for the wine, because one of our guests preferred not to have the wine in it. To save a pan, I sauteed the onion and garlic first, added the beef, then sauteed until done. I then drained that, set it aside, and in the same pan, sauteed the mushrooms, spices, and Worcestershire sauce in butter. Then I added the beef and the rest of the stuff together and kept it on low while I fixed the noodles and some green beans. I want to try it with the wine soon. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

    • on October 30, 2012

      Wow so delicious! I added lots of garlic and wors. Sauce. I doubled the recipe and glad I did! The whole family loved it! I will make this again and again! Thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Tasty and simple! I forgot to buy egg noodles, so I used the whole wheat penne I had on hand. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Made this tonight using ground beef. I really loved it! I used smoked paprika (will prob use non next time - hubs' preference). I don't drink or cook with alcohol, so I subbed beef stock instead. I also added 1/4 cup of sour cream and one can of mushrooms since I was feeding small, picky children. Will defo make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Really good! I didn't have any wine, subbed vegetarian seitan ground "beef", used a rather lot more sour cream than the recipe called for, and served over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homestyle Beef Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.1
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    60%
    Total Fat 27.3 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 106.5 mg
    35%
    Sodium 656.1 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 26.7 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    egg noodles

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes