Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Yogurt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Yogurt

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2002

      Thank you Dee514. I use to make this recipe myself when money was tight and the kiddies had hollow legs, but got out of the way of making it. Then when I went back to making yoghurt again, I could not for the life of my remember the quantities of milk to yoghurt. So you can imagine how excited I was when I came across your recipe while "browsing around Zaar". As we say here in Australia, "You lil ripper Dee." I made this early this morning on low fat milk. Then with MY home made yoghurt, I made 2 yoghurt cakes, 2 potato bakes using yoghurt instead of cream, yoghurt and chives cheese and we had fruit and yoghurt for lunch. We will be eating the last of the yoghurt for dinner as a dessert and in cucumber sambol. Folks, why on earth buy yoghurt when you can make your own. It is so easy, so simple. This recipe looks after itself once you have added the yoghurt starter. I used a thermometer to get the exact temperature but this is almost fail proof. Please try it. You will have fun using your home made plain yoghurt in your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I have made this twice now with raw milk. The first batch was a bit on the runny side, so I did a little research. I found a suggestion to decrease (yes, decrease) the amount of starter/yogurt to get a thicker consistency. The second batch came out perfectly thick with just a couple tablespoons of yogurt from the first batch. BEAUTIFUL!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      This is pretty much how my mother, grandmother and great-grandmother made yogurt before it was a 'health food'. I was taught to just warm the whole milk until a skin forms on the top and keep it at that temp for 5-10 minutes. Pull out your starter to get it closer to room temp. Let the milk cool until you can keep your finger in it to the count of ten. Pour the scalded milk and the starter into a non-metal bowl, cover with a towel and place in the oven overnight. If you get too much liquid for your liking, you can add milk powder to the milk prior to scalding. NOTE: For a great spread, line a strainer with a single thickness of paper towel, put over a bowl and pour in the yogurt. Refrigerate for a day or two--the longer you strain it the more solid that it becomes. Mix with chives, salt and pepper for a wonderful, yet healthy spread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      You can also wrap the container in one towel & place in an insulated picnic cooler (close the lid). This will maintain the temp. nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      Worked perfectly. I used a thermometer to make sure I got it to 185 and then cooled it to 120. I used a store bought plain greek style yogurt for my starter. I poured my yogurt/milk mixture into a clean thermos to let it set up and ended up letting it sit for about 6 hours before remembering to move it to the fridge (just left it in the thermos). Its now a lovely thick, creamy yogurt that I can't wait to put some homemade granola and fruit on it. Thanks for a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Must try this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Until I looked on Recipezaar, I didn't know you could make yogurt at home without special equipment. Thanks so much for the recipe. I made this the first few times following the recipe. Although the taste was wonderful, it only made 3 1/2 cups of yogurt, about the consistancy of store bought. Since I am trying to save money, I was a little disappointed. I looked at other recipes on this site & reading the reviews, I decided to add 1 cup of powdered milk (1 pouch). I've made it several times & I always end up w/at least 7 1/2 cups of yogurt w/very little whey to pour off. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers & heated a towel in the microwave, put it & the plastic container in a soft-sided ice chest for approx 6 hours & in the fridge for at least 8 hours. The taste is a little sweeter than without the powdered milk. I've found that using the bottom of a pressure cooker works best for me due to the thick bottom. I heat the milk to 200 deg, just to when the bubbles are barely moving around, let cool to 118 deg, removing the skin a few times, & mix a little of the milk into store brand, plain yogurt left at room tempature & then mix into the rest of the milk. Once all I had on hand was low-fat vanilla yogurt & it set up perfectly. Almost forgot to add, the first day the yogurt has very small curd but after stirring several times during the day, it smoothes out & becomes creamy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      After a couple weeks straight of making this recipe I've got it down pat. Using powdered milk, I boil four cups of it, then pour it into a pint-sized jar and put it in the fridge to cool down. About 40 minutes later it's pretty close to the 120 degree mark and I dump in about 1/4-1/3 cup of yogurt and whisk it into the milk. I cap it off, slide an oven mitt over the jar and put it in the oven for 4-5 hours. Then the mitt is removed and the jar goes back to the fridge for 6-8 hours. I suppose it could be left like that, but I find that even though it's thick, when I try to use it in something it just breaks down and is too runny. So I strain it for about a half hour and it's perfectly thick and creamy. I love it with my almond butter and a sprinkle of stevia. Oh yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Just as easy as everyone said it was! I did use a thermometer, as suggested by other reviewers. Excellent flavor. I was skeptical when I read that a spoonful or two of fruit preserves would be enough flavor for this plain yogurt, but the sour bite of ready made yogurt is missing and a spoonful of preserves is truly enough!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      Great recipe. I made the yogurt last night using 2 % milk.I heated the milk in a glass pot, and used a themometer for the exactly temp. Once it was cooled I added the yogurt, stirred it and placed plastic wrap over the pot. Then placed the lid on it. I wrapped two towels on it , let it set for the for hours, then placed the pot in the fridge overnight. This morning I put some in a cup with some cut up canned peaches and a little sugar and it was pretty good. I plan on using some to make smoothies, with orange juice and frozen strawberries. I want to try adding pie filling to it,like peach or apple, or maybe fruit preserves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      Wow, I can't believe it worked! Making homemade yogurt is fun, like a science experiment. Admittedly, I didn't get it right on the first try. It came out too runny. Undeterred, I decided to try it again. I figured that my problem was that the towels weren't holding the heat in long enough. So I made my oven into an incubator. I heated the oven up for about a minute, then turned it off, just enough to get it nice and warm. I also turned on the oven light. Then I wrapped the yogurt in towels and placed it in the oven. Bingo! About 4 1/2 hours later it was perfectly thickened. Not only is this yogurt incredibly easy to make once you get used to it, but it is also delicious! Very mild and I enjoy it even without any sweetener, just some blueberries. I had some leftover blueberry pie filling from another recipe that my husband absolutely loved with this yogurt. Another note: I am slightly lactose intolerant, so I decided to use lactose-free milk and it worked fine. Also, I used a nonfat Greek yogurt for my starter as that was the only one I could find that came in a small container.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      I loved the homemade yogurt. It was so easy. I added some nut & berry trail mix to my cup of yogurt & it was so good. This is my new breakfast item & maybe dessert. It's a lot cheaper too. It's definitely a must try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      I just started making my own yogurt a few weeks ago and this is the recipe I have used each time. It's fantastic and so easy. I have used 2% milk or whole milk and I do like to strain it afterwards for a few hours (in a collander double lined with cheese cloth) to get a thicker yogurt. It is so mild and everyone in our family loves it. I drizzle a little honey on it, or eat it plain with a banana or fruit in it. I also have made Yogurt Cheese (Labneh) (yogurt cheese - Labneh) with it and it turns out excellent. I usually strain it for at least 24 hours, if I am making that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      Turned out great. I used three cups 2% milk and 1 c. reconstituted dry milk. Thermometer said 150 when bubbled formed on the edges. Added 1/4 c. Dannon yogurt and poured into a qt. jar. covered with Saran wrap and lid, then put towel around the bottom and mitt over the top for 7 hours in a lighted oven. Refrig. for 8 hours and poured into a covered container. Anxious to use it in my daily smoothie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      I followed your recipe except I reduced it by half: used 4 cups 2% milk and 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt with active live cultures. I brought it just to a boil, let it cool to about 117 degrees, then added to yogurt in a pyrex bowl and mixed well, as instructions said. Covered it all around with towels to keep consistent temperature, for 4 hours. Had not set up. So I left another 4 hours. Still not set up. So I put it in the refrigerator overnight, and it's still like milk. Guess I'll try someone else's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Wow! How easy and economical! It has such a smooth flavor! I used lowfat organic milk and plain Greek yogurt as a starter. I let it set for about 6 hours. I was amazed how warm the yogurt was after sitting for that long. I wrapped it in several towels and left the light on in my oven. I put it in the refrigerator before I went to bed. This morning I stirred in the whey, but next time I will pour it off to have a thicker yogurt. It is going quickly. I am draining about 1 1/2 cups to make yogurt cheese. We used it in oatmeal this morning. I added it to my corn muffins in place of some of the milk (Favorite Corn Muffins.) My daughter had two cups with Ovaltine and chocolate chips added. It is a great base for many flavors of yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      this was so much fun! i halved the recipe and used a liter of whole milk and 1/4 cup of low-fat plain yogurt. i let it sit warm for some 6 hours and it set up nice and thick. i transfered it to a smaller container before chilling and that might be why i did get some "curds" but once i mixed in a little honey and some blueberries and granola it wasn't a problem at all. this is definitely better then store-bought and i think i'll be keeping it going from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Absolutely great! I like having a drinkable yogurt on my way to work (1 hr commute) and was frustrated with the price of the drinkables. I searched the wonderful Zaar and found this. I did use thermometer to ensure I got milk to 185 and then down to 120 but the other reviewers' advice of "small bubbles" is also very accurate/close to the 185 needed. I was amazed at how well it turned out! Update - 5/30/10 -- I've been making this weekly, utilizing some of my yogurt for the next batch's starter. Really happy with results. I use fat free milk and low fat yogurt (if I have to buy a starter) and have had no problem with the thickness at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      This technique worked perfectly for me and the result was delicious. Thanks for posting this simple method. I have only made it once, but the recipe is already committed to memory. Would you like to make more food from the food you already have? Make some yogurt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      I plan on making this from now on for my yogurt instead of buying it. This turned out wonderful and it was very easy. I ended up adding a cup of yogurt starter because I didn't want any left over from the container I had. It is delicious with a couple spoonfuls of mango jam and homemade granola on top in the morning. Super way to start off the day! Thanks for sharing. Saeriu

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Yogurt

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.8
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    47%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 104.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mahdzoon

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes