Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Yellow Cake and Variations Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Yellow Cake and Variations

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2011

      I had to make a wedding cake. I usually use pound but my niece wanted a vanilla layer cake. I have a recipe but it is very light in texture. This recipe was delicious, moist and dense. It was firmer than a traditional layer cake but not as heavy as a pound. It was exactly what I needed. This recipe will replace my orginal recipe. It really was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      I absolutely love this recipe. I was asked to make a cake for my roommate's mom's thanksgiving dinner and so I've been looking for a good scratch recipe that would be moist and light and pair well with the ricotta cheese icing. This one works wonderfully. In fact, its actually replaced any other cake recipe I used before! Thank you so much for sharing with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      I used your recipe, with quite a few variations, to make a "green" pistachio cake for a St. Patrick's Day dessert. I substituted buttermilk and almond milk for the sour cream and milk, added more vanilla, used a box of pistachio pudding mix plus a few drops of green food color, and baked it in a Bundt pan for 60 minutes. Even with all the substitutions, it still came out lovely. Thanks for such a versatile recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I needed a yellow cake recipe to use as an ingredient for Pineapple-Garlic Upside Down Cake. I cut this recipe in half, but made just as directed (ingredients & mixing instructions) for the yellow cake. This cake recipe is fabulous! The flavor is far better than any box mix would be & the texture is dense, moist and rises perfectly. Thanks for sharing, SweetsLady! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Jan 08: I was asked to make a cake for a friend's baby shower, so (once again) I turned to SweetsLady for some inspiration! :) I used the yellow cake variation, iced with Wilton Buttercream Icing and everyone loved it! UPDATE: Made this recipe according to the new directions, and it turned out wonderfully. It rose a little higher and was a little fluffier, as well. Thanks, SweetsLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This made a lovely three layer cake with good texture and moisture but there was something about the taste that didn't suit me. There was too much of a floury taste. Sorry I couldn't give it a higher rating but it just wasn't too good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I won't give this stars as something didn't work right. I had such high hopes, but mine didn't turn out like the pictures. I have to use an egg replacer due to allergies and unfortunately, this recipe didn't work well with it. I'm surprised b/c the egg replacer works GREAT with scratch recipes. The sides got cruncy, the center sunk while in the oven. I'm not sure if it ever rose, since I am not one to open the door until the timer goes off. I checked it and it wasn't quite done, but this isn't unusual with the egg replacer as it tends to add about 3-5 minutes to the baking time. The batter was yummy, but I didn't care for the taste after it baked. I ended up taking my chocolate cake recipe and adjusting it to make it a white cake - not sure why I didn't do that in the first place. That one rose and looks perfect, but I haven't tasted it yet so we'll see. Thanks for the recipe. I'm sorry it didn't work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Wow, what a wonderful cake. It was thick, dense, moist, tender and delicious. I love the texture of the cake, the crumb was perfect. I made the white cake variation and served it with a whipped frosting and MicelleS Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce 49068 . It was absolutely delicious. This is the best white cake I have made in awhile. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This is the first scratch cake I've made that was moist and thick. Very good, although I might add a little more sugar and a little less baking powder. I detected a bitter taste from the baking powder - 1 1/2 tablespoons seemed like too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This was an excellent cake. Takes mroe time than the "box" version, but I think it was well worth it. I made this in 9 inch round pans for a layered cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Very nice!! My DH just loves cake and I think this is one of his new faves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Great cake. Very tasty and great texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      A very rich and delicious cake recipe. I made this for my husband's birthday with a buttercream icing. He loved it, as did the other guests! It does make a thick, dense cake as described but that is how I like it. Thanks for the variations. I will try spice cake next I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      I think it was ok- unfortunately I think it was way too dense for my tastes. I like cake to be light and moist, this had more of a thick bread consistency. Probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      This cake was delicious! I used to make boxed cakes for all occasions but I wanted to try yellow cake from scratch. This cake turned out great! I don't like using shortening so I subbed an equal part regular butter (total 3/4 cup.) I made my own mocha frosting for it which went very nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I made this for the Summer 2007 Pick A Chef Contest. I did not give this any stars since I messed it up by not cooking it long enough. If it is any consolation, my neighbor still ate all of it that was cooked. I am going to make this again and report back when I can. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      Easy to make and scrumptious to eat - made it as a cake for my son's 22nd birthday and put a choc frosting on top - I always find it hard to measure butter by the tablespoon so I probably overdid it as i am never very accurate - I worked it out as approx 3/4 cup of butter- anyway - it was a great success so many thanks to SweetsLady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I made this cake yesterday for my husband's birthday today and it is the best yellow cake that I have had in a long time! When it was baking in my 13 x 9 pan, I thought it was going to rise out of the pan but baked right to the rim of the pan. Frosted with chocolate icing and it was just delicious! Thanks for posting! This is going to be my only yellow cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I made this yesterday and talk about a great recipe...so dense and moist. There is so much batter I was afraid it was going to spill over in my oven but that never happened. My cooking time was 45 minutes and I used a brown sugar glaze after the cake was cooled. for sure this is a keeper! Thanks SweetsLady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Yellow Cake and Variations

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 382.2
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    32%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 69.2 mg
    23%
    Sodium 401.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 33.2 g
    133%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites