19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had to make a wedding cake. I usually use pound but my niece wanted a vanilla layer cake. I have a recipe but it is very light in texture. This recipe was delicious, moist and dense. It was firmer than a traditional layer cake but not as heavy as a pound. It was exactly what I needed. This recipe will replace my orginal recipe. It really was good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buttons1mbc October 07, 2011

I absolutely love this recipe. I was asked to make a cake for my roommate's mom's thanksgiving dinner and so I've been looking for a good scratch recipe that would be moist and light and pair well with the ricotta cheese icing. This one works wonderfully. In fact, its actually replaced any other cake recipe I used before! Thank you so much for sharing with us!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ahrrie September 12, 2010

I used your recipe, with quite a few variations, to make a "green" pistachio cake for a St. Patrick's Day dessert. I substituted buttermilk and almond milk for the sour cream and milk, added more vanilla, used a box of pistachio pudding mix plus a few drops of green food color, and baked it in a Bundt pan for 60 minutes. Even with all the substitutions, it still came out lovely. Thanks for such a versatile recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 March 18, 2013

I needed a yellow cake recipe to use as an ingredient for Pineapple-Garlic Upside Down Cake. I cut this recipe in half, but made just as directed (ingredients & mixing instructions) for the yellow cake. This cake recipe is fabulous! The flavor is far better than any box mix would be & the texture is dense, moist and rises perfectly. Thanks for sharing, SweetsLady! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** February 09, 2010

Jan 08: I was asked to make a cake for a friend's baby shower, so (once again) I turned to SweetsLady for some inspiration! :) I used the yellow cake variation, iced with Wilton Buttercream Icing and everyone loved it! UPDATE: Made this recipe according to the new directions, and it turned out wonderfully. It rose a little higher and was a little fluffier, as well. Thanks, SweetsLady!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 July 27, 2009

This made a lovely three layer cake with good texture and moisture but there was something about the taste that didn't suit me. There was too much of a floury taste. Sorry I couldn't give it a higher rating but it just wasn't too good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. J April 20, 2008

I won't give this stars as something didn't work right. I had such high hopes, but mine didn't turn out like the pictures. I have to use an egg replacer due to allergies and unfortunately, this recipe didn't work well with it. I'm surprised b/c the egg replacer works GREAT with scratch recipes. The sides got cruncy, the center sunk while in the oven. I'm not sure if it ever rose, since I am not one to open the door until the timer goes off. I checked it and it wasn't quite done, but this isn't unusual with the egg replacer as it tends to add about 3-5 minutes to the baking time. The batter was yummy, but I didn't care for the taste after it baked. I ended up taking my chocolate cake recipe and adjusting it to make it a white cake - not sure why I didn't do that in the first place. That one rose and looks perfect, but I haven't tasted it yet so we'll see. Thanks for the recipe. I'm sorry it didn't work for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz April 05, 2008

Wow, what a wonderful cake. It was thick, dense, moist, tender and delicious. I love the texture of the cake, the crumb was perfect. I made the white cake variation and served it with a whipped frosting and MicelleS Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce 49068 . It was absolutely delicious. This is the best white cake I have made in awhile. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 25, 2008

This is the first scratch cake I've made that was moist and thick. Very good, although I might add a little more sugar and a little less baking powder. I detected a bitter taste from the baking powder - 1 1/2 tablespoons seemed like too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdp444 January 21, 2008

This was an excellent cake. Takes mroe time than the "box" version, but I think it was well worth it. I made this in 9 inch round pans for a layered cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme December 11, 2007
Homemade Yellow Cake and Variations