Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Wonder Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Wonder Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2011

      Hey thanks so much for this recipe...making it again for the 2nd time now...im trying 1cup of 2% milk in substitution for the dry milk as last time i found the dough was a wee bit dry and had to add a few tablespoons of water...we will see how it turns out.. a great recipe in which i will be using whenever i make sandwich bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      Very nice. I just tried this recipe today and my 82 year old mother loves it. In fact, she wanted a grilled cheese made with this bread and it turned out great. Most of the loaf was eaten with butter slathered on it. Thanks for sharing an easy and excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      The flavor on this bread is rich and yeasty. However, the dough was incredibly dry and unworkable. I wound up adding water, as well as olive oil, to try to make it a more manageable dough. The result was a heavy, dense loaf that - while tasty - lacked the fluffy personality that Wonderbread or any other sandwich-quality bread possesses. I am an experienced baker, and paid close attention to my measurements; however, I did not produce this with a bread machine as I don't have one. That being said, I've used other bread recipes that converted to no-machine production without any issue. So in a nutshell, nice flavor, but awful consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      This the best bread I have tried. I made this to go with beef and barley soup and what a great combo. I have tried a BUNCH of them, but they usually leave a yeasty taste. I am not fond of that but this bread didnt have that at all! I am very impressed, I will be using this recipe over and over again, no more looking I have found it! It is very easy to do also, Thanks so very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      We loved this bread! I liked the addition of the potato flakes and powdered milk. Sliced up beautifully and makes fantastic toast. Made for 2008 Cookbook Tag. Thanks Khandi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Great recipe. I especially appreciated the tip on proofing the yeast to reduce the yeasty flavor. It worked like a charm. I baked mine in the oven as I don't have a bread machine but it turned out very good. Terrific flavor and like the previous reviewer said, it had a "doughier" consistency than I'd expected. I'll probably leave it baking for a few extra minutes next time but there'll definitely be a next time. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      DH insisted on Wonder Bread for his Thanksgiving leftover sandwiches... and not one to purchase bread, I hopped on the Zaar to find this recipe. This is very similar to Wonder bread, only softer & 'doughier'. His NEW favorite version of white 'wonder' bread. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Wonder Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (956 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2510.2
     
    Calories from Fat 335
    13%
    Total Fat 37.3 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 20.8 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 92.1 mg
    30%
    Sodium 5012.6 mg
    208%
    Total Carbohydrate 472.7 g
    157%
    Dietary Fiber 17.1 g
    68%
    Sugars 76.6 g
    306%
    Protein 65.6 g
    131%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites