Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Wipes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Wipes

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2005

      never use baby oil for your skin,babies skin,childrens skin or pets either. since baby oil is synthetic fragrance and mineral oil it is an irritant. mineral oil has a very large molecular sructure which lets nothing in or out thus suffocating and clogging your skin. botanical oils are compatible with skin because of its small molecular structure which can be absorbed into our epidermis. grapeseed and apricot are lightest feeling. primrose is great for sensitivities. wheatgerm and jojoba are nuturing. we all have olive oil in our kitchens so use that instead. apricot and almond are best for baby. always make sure if your pregnant you avoid stimulating essential oil like rosemary and eucalyptus. we absorb these oils into our bloodstream through our skin and through inhalation. lavender is safe as well as chammomile.read up before you use essential oils. contrindications exist! and if your allergic to nuts dont use nut oils. so keep it natural.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      I loved making them, one big BUT they got moldy on me. I put some in the car and when I went to use them they had big mold spots on them. I don't think I will do this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Super easy to make and saves so much money for very little effort. I love being able to control the ingredients and make them a little more eco-friendly. I used All-Purpose Cleaner/Disinfectant All-Purpose Cleaner/Disinfectant. Using an electric knife to cut the roll really cut down on the fuzz/mess. Thanks, Loves2Teach!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      love this idea you never know when the little people in your life are gonna make those big, messes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Wonderful!So far I've made car cleaner wipes, window cleaning wipes, and Murphy's Oil Soap wipes- all with great results. My one comment and slight adaptation, however,is- I don't bother to cut the paper towels in half. I find it to be too much work, hassle, mess (lint fibers everywhere as I'm trying to cut through the roll). . I simply take a jumbo storage bag- add a full roll of Bounty paper towels, and find 6c. of water to be a perfect amount for nice moist wipes. Adjust the other ingredients accordingly. :-) Thanks again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I really had fun making the baby wipes. I used Bounty select-a-size, but next time I would use the regular sized sheets for those tough jobs!!! I took the suggestion to use 2 T. baby lotion in place of the oil and use an electric knife for the cutting. I have Huggies baby wipes dispensers, and cutting the roll in thirds made the perfect size to fit them. I didnt change the amount of liquid- the amount listed was perfect for my 1/3 roll. Cant wait to make some more! Thanks so much for sharing the recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      The baby wipes are all I ever used with my son, he never had one diaper rash. I wish I would have known about them for my daughter. I run a dayhome and always have them made up with disinfectant cleaner, easy to grab one and wipe off a door or a toy after a child has sneezed or put someting in their mouth. I keep a bag of wipes made in the vehicles, excellent to clean up spills or sticky kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      very economical... however I have boiled the water for 10 minutes to remove any bacteria in the water & wipes lasts alot longer... in baby wipes try to substitute the baby oil with 2 tbsp. of baby lotion instead, this was recomended by my pedaitrician...also i use those really big containers of multipurpose wipes found in the health & beauty section works quite good & if you should invert the the holder from time to time to distrubute the liquids...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      you could also use disposable nappy liners instead of the paper towels.they come in packs of 150 and would be useful as well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      Well, here I am again, so, i tried the multi-porpuse ones and they are good, plus i made the after bath ones for me, cos i use baby oil after my showers, but then i add some drops of some essential oils and wow, smells great!! I didn't use bounty cos here you can't find it, but i bought a local brand that says is quite resistant to liquids...it worked well, but i still have to squezze them before using them cos i think was too much liquid (2 cups of water), nevertheless, they are well worth it and what i love is how you can personalize them :) Will keep on making them

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      I have 3 boys and one due any day, and I have these wipes everywhere. They are easy and economical. I have them in the van, in every room - they are great -Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      Wow, this is great! I made the baby wipes 2 days ago and they are working so well and they seem more gentle than store bought wipes. I suggest this to anyone who has babies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      This is working great, I bought white paper towels, didn't think the printed ones would look to good. On the top of the plastic tub that the paper towels are in I cut an X and thread the paper towel through, not only is it much easier to retrieve the Multipurpose wipe, but it also squeezes the excess liquid away. Thank You colorboyswife!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      Colorboyswife, you ROCK! These are awesome and money-saving. I've made the multi-purpose wipes with lysol all purpose (disinfecting) cleaner and the car cleaner wipes with armour all. Used the Kirkland (Costco) paper towels with good results. Stored the wipes in gallon size ziploc bags. I believe these wipes may have some kind of special properties, they even motivated me to clean my car! I'll definitely try the baby wipes also, I love that they have no alcohol. Thanks so much for a fabulous idea! UPDATE: I am thoroughly out of control with these wipes! I've made Windex wipes, Murphy's Oil Soap wipes, Clorox Clean Up wipes, and the baby wipes. All are amazing! As handy as the store bought versions at a fraction of the cost! Thanks CBW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      I was taught that commercial baby wipes have alcohol in them. When babies' bottoms are rashy, or have broken skin from the rash, the babies seem to cry more from the pain of alcohol against broken or irritated skin. So I was thrilled when I read this wipes recipe contains no alcohol 8^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      I have used this recipe for baby wipes since '93 when I had my first of 5. It sure saved us a lot of money. And was gentler on the babies skin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      A must for every parent or parent to be or if your like me and end up with more ice cream on your hands than in your mouth. :-) Thanks so much for these recipes. I will definately use these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      I have used this same recipe for baby wipes for years since I had my daughter in '96. I would suggest to anyone who tries these to invest in an electric knife because the paper towel roll is incredibly hard to cut. You can get one cheaply at a discount store; that's what I did and I have had it for years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      I was lazy. I bought the store brand baby wipes and rinsed them out then added the other ingredients. They work great and fit in the original baby wipe box. My daughter has sensitive skin and I always had to use the expensive name brand baby wipes and they still weren't that great. Now her bottom is fine. Rashes are much fewer and don't last as long. This is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      I use the babywipes to clean the kids hands & faces after they eat and I keep the all purpose wipes in the bathroom to wipe down the counter top after everyone is done brushing their teeth, hands, etc in the morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Wipes

    Serving Size: 1 (2155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 480.9
     
    Calories from Fat 489
    10%
    Total Fat 54.4 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 37.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cleaner

    cleaner

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites