Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade White Bread, Non-Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade White Bread, Non-Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-34 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2007

      WOW! So EASY and so GOOD! I took one pre-baked loaf and sprinkled it w/cinnamon and sugar and raisins. Then when it came out of the oven I spread a cream cheese frosting over it to make it like a cinnamon roll-loaf. I am so pleased with the results. Thank you for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Doesn't come any easier than this. I baked all three then froze two. Next time I will freeze unbaked as suggested. Texture is great - was not so sure it would be with only one knead cycle. Thanks WJ for a great recipe. So much better than bread machine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Great bread, & easy to make!! We're munching on some right now. I can't wait to make sandwiches with it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      My kids and I made this recipe this evening. We have been on a bread baking mission! This recipe turned out nicely. I used spelt flour and ended up with 2 loaves. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Just Great! Very easy. I used all-purpose flour and canola oil. This was enough for me to make one loaf, some dinner rolls, and cinnamon rolls.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      PERFECT! It would be a good idea to throw some flour down on the surface you will be kneading it on to make things easier. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Instant classic at my house! Everyone I've made it for has asked for the recipe. I followed exactly and used all 7 cups of flour. I didn't know what "occident" flour was so I used all purpose and it worked just fine. I brushed butter on the tops as soon as they came out of the oven-yum! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      this is the best white bread recipe i've tried so far. :-) i used canola oil in place of the lard, but other than that, followed the recipe as written.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      Followed recipe exactly but it was too sweet for my Scottish tastes the first time I made it. Next time left out the sugar and used olive oil in place of lard and it tastes fab.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      A delicious taste and nice white-bread texture. Easy to make. I followed the instructions except I used shortning in place of lard. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      Wonderful, I was having trouble finding a decent recipe that didn't need a bread machine, this was the first I found and it came up a treat. Many thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      Made this recipe yesterday. Followed the recipe exactly as written. Very easy to make and quite tasty. Baked 2 and froze one, ate the first loaf for dinner and snacked on toast and jelly before going to bed. Will make again Jimb

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

    • on August 07, 2012

      The taste was okay, a bit dense and it didn't rise for me but again, the taste was not bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade White Bread, Non-Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.9
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    34%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 389.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites