13 Reviews

I recently decided to start making my own bread but the first recipe I tried was a complete fail. Then I found this recipe and let me tell you I'm looking no further. It turned out absolutely wonderful. Light, airy and perfectly delicious! I brushed an egg wash to the top of each loaf just before popping them in the oven because I wanted a crisp crust. Thank you for this marvelous recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
logies101_10692143 October 01, 2012

I have tried soooooo many bread recipes and this has got to be one of the best!! It is very light and yummy. I didn't change a thing and I wouldn't dare. I made 1 loaf of bread and I used the other half of dough to make cinnimon rolls. They were also great. Thank you for sharing your recipe, it's my new favorite for bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShantillyC April 18, 2011

I've been searching for THE loaf of bread recipe that I can use every week for my husband's lunches as he got spoiled with bakery bread and it was costing us more and more each week to buy it! THIS is THE recipe I have been looking for and we both love it. I make the big batch but before I put it on for the first rise, I cut the dough in half and let one half go through the rise functions but put the other half in the freezer for the following week's loaf.

I use my standard "Classic" KitchenAid mixer up to a point when the dough starts going up over the dough hook (I find I have to add more flour than the 5 cups in the recipe and I use the powdered milk) and when it gets to that point I take it out and finish the kneading on the counter.(Our next mixer is going to be a more powerful one when I wear this one out LOL)

I absolutely love this recipe, thank you SO much for posting it!! I registered at this site just to give this review and I don't do that for just any recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hummingbirdsweetie March 16, 2011

Came out perfect even for a newbie like me. The loaves were gone before I even had a chance to taste them. My brother-in-law, sister, husband, and kids gobbled it up so fast and asked for more...I think that's the best review I can give!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chippiewife June 30, 2010

Just made this bread and it is, by far, the most tender bread I've made to date. I used my Kitchen Aid to a point. Since I live at a high altitude, the recipes usually use more flour. To avoid having a tough dough, I took it off the machine while it was still a bit wet. I had already used all 5 cups of flour. It only took a light sprinkling of flour and a few folds to get to the right consistancy. The bread is so light and airy. The wet paper towel is a good trick. This is a real keeper. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbailey186 September 13, 2009

THANK YOU Olive for sharing your fantastic recipe. I made 2 loaves and between me and my DH we finished 1 loaf already over lunch!! I have been baking bread for just over a year now but nothing compares to your recipe! I used 2 cups of milk since I did not have powdered milk. Ohh one other thing.. the other bread recipes I had are in the bin. Thank you again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum April 14, 2007

I'm not sure why, but this recipe calls for an absolutely insane amount of yeast. The flavor was great but the measurements have to be incorrect. I don't know how other reviewers had successful results. I thought the yeast sounded really high but I gave the recipe the benefit of the doubt since it had such good reviews, and that was a mistake. Just as I thought... the bread rose fine, then rose too quickly in the oven and collapsed. I tried again a couple days later... same results. There just isn't enough structure for the amount of yeast called for in this recipe, which is double what you'd find in similar recipes. I decreased the yeast by half and got perfect results. Bottom line... too much yeast. Decrease that by half, everything else is fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k.brophy04 November 06, 2014

i make bead all the time an it was snowing so i tried this an my mom was here an she is the queen of bread making IT WAS THE BEST WE HAVE SENT IT OUT TO MANY PEOPLE THANK YOU

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cynthia mcelwain January 25, 2011

Made for Spring PAC 2008. I have never made my own bread so I followed the recipe exactly as written. I used olive oil instead of canola oil and this came out perfect. I am not a bread eater but the rest of my family is. This smelled wonderful baking and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 07, 2008

I just made this bread and already half the loaf is gone! This is a great recipe. The bread is very light and fluffy. My kids were drooling waiting for it to finish baking! Thanks for a great recipe. I too did not have powdered milk so I used 2 cups of milk and it was perfect!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy of Three February 11, 2008
Homemade White Bread