9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been making my own whipped butter for years. This is Extended Butter! I use my food processor. 1 (one) cup canola oil, add 1 (one) Tsp. liquid lecithin and 5 ounces water (room temp.) Blend then add one pound of sweet or salted butter.( room temp.) This 'butter' stays soft even when cold. Lower in calories and all the taste of butter. Calories; 180 per ounce. We use it all the time.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pj40 April 14, 2010

Yum! I have made this a few times now and like to leave the mixer on a while to make it extra fluffy! I also like to add a few grinds of coarse sea salt or a couple pinches of coarse kosher salt to give it a little extra savory flavor and a crunch here and there just like Pittsburgh Blue Steakhouse. So smooth and creamy and I think it's delicious hard or soft, and can be left out overnight.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieNicole December 02, 2011

I knew there was a way to do this. This is a great alternative to soft-spread margarines. No palm oils or hygrogentated fats.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
consfam6 February 23, 2008

Couldn't be any easier! Be sure to use a large, deep mixing bowl to whip the butter or else the butter will fly all over the kitchen. Why didn't the thought cross my mind before to whip my own butter? Thanks! cg PS> I replaced some of the regular whole milk with half and half! ;)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 11, 2009

This is such a clever idea. I made a half recipe for our dinner tonight, and still have some leftover. But I like the idea that I don't have to buy separate spreadable butter (soft spread tub style). I could just make my own easy-spread butter. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif June 17, 2007

I love this recipe. I double it by using a pound of butter and 1/2 cup 2% milk. It makes enough for 4 small containers. I take one container out at a time and find it does not need to be refrigerated if used in 2 to 3 days. I was paying over $2.00 for one container of whipped butter in the store.. Now, I can make 4 containers for the price of one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MKarnicki March 31, 2013

This butter is spreadable if you use it right when you make it. However, if you put it in the refrigerator, it becomes hard again. So you have to take it out about 30-45 minutes before you want to use it. I was hoping to have some on hand for pancakes and biscuits in the morning, but this is too hard. I think to be truly spreadable, right out of the refrigerator, you have to use the recipe with oil in it, which is what I was trying to avoid. I thought this was good, you just have to plan when you are going to use it. OH, and you have to mix it longer than you think. At first I thought it wasn't working, and I left my stand mixer on and walked away and then it became fluffy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin February 18, 2010

i made this and you do have to mix it a while for it to incorperate .good idea

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. April 28, 2012

I had a recipe with added oil. It tasted good, but I wanted to try a version with a smaller calorie count. I used one reviewers version with the 2% milk, and a bit of sea salt.<br/>Came out tasting great, and we call it I Can't Believe it's Not Margarine

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EagleWarrior September 08, 2014
Homemade Whipped Butter