Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Vegetable Wash/Preserver That Works! (Spray or Soak) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Vegetable Wash/Preserver That Works! (Spray or Soak)

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2010

      I LOVE this 'recipe' I could not believe the bugs that came off my dill heads! Since then I have used this method for all my fruits and veg's. I grew red leaf lettuce in our garden, and normally it would limp-soaking in this solution it is crisp. A keeper recipe, saved for my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      As y'all probably know, down here in the South it would be heresy not to eat blackeyed peas on New Year's Day for good luck. And who ever heard of serving them without greens and cornbread? As much as I love turnip greens, though, I've just always dreaded cooking them. I soak them in 4 or 5 changes of water -- which takes forever -- for fear that there's still some of that fine grit clinging to them. And more than once, despite my best efforts at cleaning, a tiny little critter has floated to the top of the pot as they cooked. Kinda takes your appetite away... But today I was ready with this magical soaking solution. Sure enough -- when I drained the water, there was a lot of silt in the bottom of the sink, as well as several creepy-crawlies. I repeated the soaking method for about 10 minutes just to be safe. Nothing in the sink that time but beautifully clean greens! This is just a gem of a 'recipe', and I'm so grateful to you for sharing. Can't wait to try the spray. Happy 2009, Kitten, and thanks for all your wonderful contributions to this website!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I used the soak recipe to prepare a collection of vegetables for a green salad. What a difference as I could actually see some tiny silt leftover from a conventional rinse left at the bottom of the bowl. Have since used this many times and finds it works especially well with leafy greens and delicate fruits which would suffer in a more aggressive cleaning. Thanks Kit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      I love the soak. I have not tried the spray. I find the soak makes parsley for example last way longer and boy does it get it cleaner than if you were just to rinse before using. I found it also takes some wax off produce. I'd like to use this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      Amazing. Did all my produce with this and could not believe what came off on the bottom of my sink. Love that it is all natural. A good tip is to put berries or herbs in a strainer before putting in sink it makes for easy removal see the pic I posted. Thanks Kittencal another great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      I used the spray method to clean some lemons for the lemonade I made for the 4th. It worked great. The lemons went from a dull to bright yellow. Thanks Kittencal. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I just used the soak method, in a bowl. It's amazing how much ick comes off vegetables that seem to be clean! My lettuce crisped up while soaking, too! A definite keeper. Thanks, Kit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      OUTSTANDING!! I just washed some red grapes using the soak method. They taste clean and crisp! Thanks so much for sharing! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      This is just what I've been looking for, something CHEMICAL-free, thank you!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      What a wonderful idea Kitten, thanks for sharing this hint with all of us :) I used the soak and added the ingredients to a sink full of cucumbers for making pickles, and it really worked for getting extra silt off of it, i could see the difference in the water as soon as I added everything. I will absolutely be using this again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      I love this because I have it already stocked in my kitchen. Thanks for and inexpensive wash for all my veggies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This works great and with all the talk about the flu going round be sure to wash all your veggies especially if they are from Mexico.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Easy and so economical compared to the organic washes on the market! It made such a difference in my canning bulk produce last season! I got the veggies washed and ready to can very quickly and very inexpensively. Thanks Kitten!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      My veggies lasted forever after this wash! I was shocked!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Thanks so much for posting this Homemade vegetable wash, I have been looking for this seems like forever. They do sell a spray in the stores but I didn't buy because of the price. Thank you Thank you Barb Birchwood, Wi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Great information. I got food poisoning last year, I think, from bagged lettuce/spinach. This will be great , for me to begin eating lettuce/spinach again. Thanks, again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Absolutely perfect wash, used the soak and lettece was cleaned perfectly... don't know what i'd do without kitten's recipes and tips.... kitten you are the greatest.. nita

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Goodbye, yukky gunk and (yes) buggies on my food! Hello, new best recipe! :D I am amazed at what this gets off food. Even prepackaged lettuce. My new M.O.: straight home from the store and straight into a sinkful of this! THANK YOU, Kittencal!! *KISS, KISS!* 8/31 ETA: This soak has made my veggies crisper, and last longer! My lettuce has not gone gunko, or brown, and the celery is nice and firm. Amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      A good clean and natural way to soak veggies. Thanks Kit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      THANK YOU! It is just WONDERFUL to have these natural methods to clean all of the fresh veggies I'm trying to eat more and more of. I tried the soak and it couldn't have been easier. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Vegetable Wash/Preserver That Works! (Spray or Soak)

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 13.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    58%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 17718.5 mg
    738%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes