Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Tortilla Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Tortilla Chips

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      I sprayed one side each of 2 flour tortillas with cooking spray, cut them into eighths and baked them on a baking sheet that was also sprayed with cooking spray. I baked for 10 minutes at 350 F, but I wasn't sure if they were done, so I let them sit in the warm oven for another 5 minutes. They turned out perfect! Thanks for this easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2002

      These are great! Like Anu, I used nonstick cooking spray on them. I also used some jalapeno-flavored seasoning I had on hand and dusted it over the top of the chips before I put them in the oven. They came out tasting like tequila-lime tortilla chips!! (I used flour tortillas, and cooked them till the browned.) We ate them with homemade salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      These were good. I used corn tortillas that had been in the freezer way longer than they should have - just knocked the frost off, brushed with oil and baked - yummy. I served with tortilla soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Great chips! I think I did not let them get crispy enough, since they were slightly soft they were sort of tough. Tip for all of us future chip bakers, let them brown a little...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I used the 8" corn tortilla's and tossed them with salt as soon as they came out of the oven. They tasted restaurant-quality.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I've made these about 4 times now (I'm bad about forgetting to review) I make them with leftover tortillas from enchiladas and fajitas. Just a few (3 or 4) tortillas makes a decent size batch for me and my bf. I like to use a pizza wheel to cut them it if that helps anyone. Thank you very much for posting this!!! Sooo much better then store bought, great with chili :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      This was a great use for some corn tortillas that just broke on us when trying to use for tacos. Baked on a foiled, cookie sheet with a little bit of Pam. Sprinkled with Salt and Chili Powder. Served with Homemade Guacamole. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Thank you for posting this recipe. I used white corn tortillas and did sprinkle them with a little sea salt after brushing with oil. My whole family raved on how good they were. I served them with Taco Dip. At 10 minutes mine were still quite soft, but by 13 minutes they were nice and crisp.You were right about advising to watch closely so they don't burn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Yummy! So much healthier than store bought - especially if you use corn tortillas and non-stick spray rather than oil. Been making these every day. Planned on keeping them in bags to have ready all the time, but they seem to disappear before I ever get them off the baking sheet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      This was so handy and sooo good. I had chili and all the stuff for nachos but no chips..I just knew someone on Zarr could help me. Thanks Ruth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      Love this and make it often! So easy and quick for when I have a craving for chips and salsa. I cut the tortillas with kitchen shears and use the Misto to spray with olive oil (and also add a bit of salt for taste). Goes great with Chili's Salsa http://www.recipezaar.com/59635 Muchas gracias!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      These came out perfect! Sprinkle with kosher salt right out of the oven and you have a super chip that is not greasy at all!!! <br/>I used corn oil on flour tortillas. Perfect. <br/>My friend wants me to use corn tortillas next time and I will use vegetable oil on those.<br/>Thanks so much for sharing this very simple and healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      Great! I sometimes mix a little salt, spice mix, and grated parmesan over the tortillas before I slice. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      Never was the term "home made" so loosely applied.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      fantastic & simple recipe. i used the whole wheat & corn tortillas from trader joe's and they baked up really nicely.
      thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      This only gets a 3 b/c you can't claim somethingis "homemade" and use store bought tortillas. They taste way better when you make your own. After that, use this method. It's a good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      Cheap, fast, simple and delicious. Thank you very much for sharing.!

      I used seasoned salt and added a light dusting of cayenne pepper. Served with fresh salsa and sour cream sauce :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      I'm not sure what I did wrong, or what I was expecting. All the reviews were so great. I did't think they had any flavor, not at all like corn . I cut them with a pizza cutter, lined them up on a greased cookie sheet, sprayed them with spray, and put kosher salt on. I don't know just how long I left them in the oven, I was so worried about them. They got about tan color, and crispy. They just didn't taste the way I thought they would. I will try them again, to see if it was just me doing it wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      PERFECT! Super simple and tasted crunchy and amazing with my dip of refried beans blended with taco seasoning, salsa, shredded cheese and sour cream. I tossed them with salt before baking and did the cutting with a pizza cutter. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Very tasty! I have fried mine in the past, but these were just as good if not better, not to mention how much easier! Mine needed 14 minutes total in the oven. I put kosher salt on them when they came out of the oven, but might try the suggestions from others and add some seasoning before I put them in the oven next time. Thanks for posting Ruth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Tortilla Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.9
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    33%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 731.4 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites