52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I sprayed one side each of 2 flour tortillas with cooking spray, cut them into eighths and baked them on a baking sheet that was also sprayed with cooking spray. I baked for 10 minutes at 350 F, but I wasn't sure if they were done, so I let them sit in the warm oven for another 5 minutes. They turned out perfect! Thanks for this easy recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu May 13, 2002

These are great! Like Anu, I used nonstick cooking spray on them. I also used some jalapeno-flavored seasoning I had on hand and dusted it over the top of the chips before I put them in the oven. They came out tasting like tequila-lime tortilla chips!! (I used flour tortillas, and cooked them till the browned.) We ate them with homemade salsa.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock May 25, 2002

These were good. I used corn tortillas that had been in the freezer way longer than they should have - just knocked the frost off, brushed with oil and baked - yummy. I served with tortilla soup.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea October 28, 2010

Great chips! I think I did not let them get crispy enough, since they were slightly soft they were sort of tough. Tip for all of us future chip bakers, let them brown a little...

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosaK April 18, 2010

I used the 8" corn tortilla's and tossed them with salt as soon as they came out of the oven. They tasted restaurant-quality.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon February 20, 2010

I've made these about 4 times now (I'm bad about forgetting to review) I make them with leftover tortillas from enchiladas and fajitas. Just a few (3 or 4) tortillas makes a decent size batch for me and my bf. I like to use a pizza wheel to cut them it if that helps anyone. Thank you very much for posting this!!! Sooo much better then store bought, great with chili :D

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
random witty name February 15, 2010

Thank you for posting this recipe. I used white corn tortillas and did sprinkle them with a little sea salt after brushing with oil. My whole family raved on how good they were. I served them with Taco Dip. At 10 minutes mine were still quite soft, but by 13 minutes they were nice and crisp.You were right about advising to watch closely so they don't burn.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. April 18, 2010

This was a great use for some corn tortillas that just broke on us when trying to use for tacos. Baked on a foiled, cookie sheet with a little bit of Pam. Sprinkled with Salt and Chili Powder. Served with Homemade Guacamole. Thanks for posting. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre May 24, 2009

Cheap, fast, simple and delicious. Thank you very much for sharing.!

I used seasoned salt and added a light dusting of cayenne pepper. Served with fresh salsa and sour cream sauce :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kortnirae November 03, 2011

Yummy! So much healthier than store bought - especially if you use corn tortillas and non-stick spray rather than oil. Been making these every day. Planned on keeping them in bags to have ready all the time, but they seem to disappear before I ever get them off the baking sheet!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tatiana May 12, 2008
Homemade Tortilla Chips