10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing, thank you! The flavors from the other ingredients are so subtle, and in the most perfect way. I did one batch with Roma, and also one with San Marzano, both fresh and vine ripened from the garden. Both pastes turned out great, but the depth of flavor of San Marzano batch is superior by a long shot. If you have access to San Marzano tomatoes, by all means substitute! (done growing Roma's after this side-by-side taste test).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdlawrence July 08, 2011

Very good! I put all the veggies through the Vita Mix and then added everything else except the honey. I didn't have an onion so I used 1 teaspoon onion granules. I had to simmer it for an evening and most of a day to get it to reduce, but it was worth it! Soooo very good! I am going to buy some more tomatoes and make another 1 or 2 batches! Thank you so much for this recipe. I also trust this recipe because it is almost like the recipe on the University of Georgia site! I also water bath canned it for 45 minutes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hobbgal October 20, 2010

This is the first time I've ever had a big garden and I needed tomato paste for a spaghetti recipe. I used this paste recipe and it came out wonderful! So easy to do and the results were much better than store bought. I love the ice cube tray suggestion - I told my 80 year old Grandma about that and she was impressed wanting to know where I got such a great idea from - thank you Sharon for making me look like a genius to a woman who knows it all when it comes to the kitchen! I have prepared this 2 times in one week and am going to use up all my extra tomatoes with this recipe. I added in all the optionals in the recipe - fantastic outcome!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
packeyes July 18, 2007

It doesn't get better than this for a home made tomato paste. I added the things you put in there just in a different form. I had all these yellow tomatoes that ripen at the same time so that's what I used. I used ground red pepper, onion & garlic salt, the bay leaves, dried basil, dried oregano, and salt.
I too had trouble getting it thicker. The first day I simmered for 3 hrs. After refrigerating over night I noticed a lot of water on top so I siphoned this off and simmered again for 3 hrs. I finally had to add some cornstarch slurry to it. It still didn't get as thick as I would have liked but it will do.
I left out the honey as yellow tomatoes are very sweet. This is so-so-so good. I froze in ice cube trays. You do have to get use to them being yellow instead of red though. Sharon123 thanks so much for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 20, 2012

This is a very economical way to go with tomato paste! I will make my own from now on after finding this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pots & Pans November 28, 2010

I may have not understood the recipe but it still turns out great. I used 24 medium roma tomatoes, 1 red bell pepper, 1/2 cup onion, 4 bay leaves, fresh basil, 1 tsp oregano, honey, and 5 garlic cloves. I boiled it together for 1 hour, then strained out the water and simmered it just over 2 hours. I may have done something wrong because I only got 2 ice cube trays out of it and I calculated it would be around 6. Great tasting and better for you than canned though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaxFLChef February 24, 2010

Making your own tomato paste sure does save on the grocery bill, especially if you use your own garden tomatoes like I did. This is a great recipe that will be used over and over by me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wholelottagall August 13, 2009

Great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pegisue222 May 06, 2007

What a great recipe for homemade tomato paste! I reduced this recipe by half and used Roma tomatoes, I also increased the fresh garlic, I plan on making this again to have on hand for recipes, thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz November 29, 2006
Homemade Tomato Paste