Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Taco Shells #1 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Taco Shells #1

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2002

      These seemed more like cornmeal crepes to me. I was kind of expecting something crispy and in order to get anywhere near that you practically had to burn them. Other than that, they were OK, I might try them again, but have had to revise my expectations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Thank you for this! This was such an easy way of making exactly what I needed as step 1 in making Hard taco shells. I found it easy to make the 'crepes' once i realized non-stick lined pan was required and could make them very thin, I then heated oil and folded them in half (i checked some online videos for how to do this bit) which took a little practice and 10 mins later 8 crispy taco shells! will try bake them next time to reduce the calories as who wants the calories in the taco when you have cheese and guacamole and salsa to stuff them with.

      So glad I can have my mexican feast without having to hunt for taco shells! yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      Made these this afternoon and they are very good-also very clear, simple recipe.Thanks! <br/><br/> I roasted some garlic (whole bulbs in the oven on medium and then squeeze out the garlic 'paste' from the individual cloves ) and put 2 medium cloves into the recipe-it made a difference

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      I followed Cindy's recipe but used maize meal flour instead of corn flour. They were soft after cooking on the skillet, so I hung them two at a time (using a vertically positioned piece of plastic- margarine tub lid pushed into a cut slot of an upturned yogurt container!) and cooked them on high in a microwave for two minutes.<br/><br/>. Oh yes and stuffed them with spaghetti bolognaise for my daughter (....the I-Carly craze.!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      Not at all what I expected - no amount of cooking makes these in any way, shape, or form like a hard taco shell. As another reviewer mentioned, they're more like taco crepes and leak all over the place. They're just not capable of holding up to being filled like a traditional taco. It might work as a wrap with a layer of lettuce directly on top of the 'taco' to add to the stability of the crepe, otherwise they just don't work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

    • on June 04, 2008

      You have to deep fry the tortillas after you make them. wrap the tortillas in foil and let them rest for a few minutes. Heat about 2-3 inches of corn oil (about 350 degrees)in a deep skillet. Fold a tortilla and hold the edges with tongs. Deep fry for 2-3 minutes using tongs and a fork to form a perfect shell. They must be used right away or they get soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      I made these for the Revised Bargain Basement Game and I think I did a BOOB on them. They are reviewed as being wonderful taco shells but I seem to of gotten a very thin cornmeal pancake. I am not sure if I did something wrong or not. Please feel free to Z-Mail me and I will be glad to hear any of anyone's suggestions on this recipe or if I did something wrong!! That way I can give it a better rating if I figure out my BIG BOOB!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2002

      I had dinner at Cindy's these were the best taco shells EVER!!!! So easy and tasty...Keep up good recipes Cindy :) Looking forward to your next dinner. Your Friend, Diana

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Taco Shells #1

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.8
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    82%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 171.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes