Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Taco Seasoning Packet Replacement Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Taco Seasoning Packet Replacement

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2013

      When the description says mild, that was an understatement. When mixed with one pound of meat, this barely seasoned the taco meat. If you ate the meat by itself, you could pick up a hint of flavor. When mixed in with the rest of the taco ingredients (shell, lettuce, sour cream, salsa, and cheese), you couldn't taste the meat at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      I find that I agreed with broach6 and felt that it was missing something. On the whole, it was a good beginning, but I found that I needed to definitely add the salt. (I thought perhaps I could get away with leaving out the salt.) I also increased the chili powder by 1/2 t, and added 1/2 t of cumin, 1/2 t garlic powder, 1/2 t onion powder. I feel that it rounded out the flavors while keeping it mild.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      Way too much paprika, and seems to be missing something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      I needed a packet and didn't feel like running out. I also needed it to be mild for a specific guest and after reading the four ingredients I thought this would be a match and it was. Very mild but perfect seasoning for those who don't want a lot of kick. I made it with the salt as written but may try the garlic salt next time. Great savings and no extra additives. Thanks for sharing this replacement Deb's recipes!
      Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      This is a great replacement for the "packets" we normally would use. Good point regarding MSG, read your labels carefully. I checked mine after reading this comment and found mine was free of MSG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Chili powder has msg in it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      We are in the middle of an ice/snow storm and I needed a pack of taco seasoning for Creamy Burrito Casserole and I wasn't driving anywhere :) This worked out perfectly. Loved this and will be using more often. I followed the recipe as written using the salt instead of the garlic salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I was craving a taco pie the other night and realized I didn't have a taco seasoning packet. i found this, here on Zaar and I will never buy a taco packet again. This is great!!!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      What could be easier?? This is amazing and I have forgotten to rate this before. Its a staple in our house and will keep using this recipe for a very long time to come. No additives, no MSG....perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Great stuff - easy, cheap, healthy. I love it has no MSG or other unhealthy stuff. I used Garlic Powder in place of the salt and it worked great. It's a keeper. Thanks for sharing it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I was looking for a taco seasoning that was simple to make, and this was it! This was a perfect packet replacement. I will be using this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      I was looking for a quick taco seasoning that didn't require dried onions (since I don't have them) and chose this. I used it in Crockpot Taco Chicken (by Pamela) which is just chicken, seasoning, and chicken broth. This tasted very good (used the garlic salt) and will try it in other recipes next time. Thanks Deb's recipes, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      perfect! Just what I was looking for, thanks for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      I added some cayenne pepper to kick it up a little. I wont go back to buying the little packets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Right in the middle of making tacos I noticed I was out of the seasoning packets. This had great flavor and was simple to make. I will use this now instead of buying those pricy packets. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      Nice and easy, and very tasty. So much better than store bought. I'll add cayenne when I want a hotter version. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Don't tell the boys I did not use the packets I normally use. This will now be used to make Taco's. I like the fact that it was all natural. Ounce you try you will not go back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      Hello! I really enjoyed this recipe. I am so tired of everything being so salty that I am looking for homemade replacements to the old pre-packaged stuff. This is a winner that I will continue to use for all of my Mexican/taco concoctions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Not the first time I used this, but the first time I got around to reviewing it. This time, it was to make the ground beef for taco salad. I did replace the garlic salt with garlic powder (doctor's orders). This one's a winner with me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Used smoked paprika, garlic powder, and salt. You definately need the salt to enhance the flavors. It still and a lot less sodium and no preservatives, so this is a very good substitute and simple to make with spices most everyone will have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Taco Seasoning Packet Replacement

    Serving Size: 1 (9 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 17.7
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    42%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1209.4 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites