Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-29 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2007

      This worked out perfectly for Meximelt a La Amy. Thank you so much! I will never buy taco seasoning again. I will probably even give this as gifts in a gift basket! Thank You Dancer^!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Great recipe...and easy to adjust for more or less spiciness, etc. Thanks! -- I wish I could add more stars! Since I found this recipe, I have been adding it to EVERYTHING! It's good in many different one-pot meals, casseroles, crock-pot recipes, etc. I LOVE THIS MIX! And it's so cheap to make it this way, vs. buying packets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      This recipe is excellent!!! I didn't realize I didn't have garlic powder so I subbed for 1 1/2 tsp of garlic salt. I also omitted the cayenne as my family does not like spicy food. I added 1 1/2 tbsp to 1 lb ground beef and it smelled and tasted delicious! No more pricey packets of seasoning for me!!! Thanks for this great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      You are going to save me so much money on Taco Mix!! I usually buy the packet every time I fix my Taco Salad (Easier-Than-Making-Tacos Taco Salad) but this is so much cheaper! I wasn't sure how much to use though so I tried 1 Tbls. for the pound of hamburger. Next time I will increase it to at least 1 1/2 Tbls. and maybe even to 2. Thanks so much for sharing! UPDATE: I make this all the time now. I use 1/2 tsp. cayenne to give it a little more kick and add 1 tsp. salt. I use 1 1/2 to 2 Tbls. of the mix per pound of ground beef. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      I love this with chicken. I use about half the recipe with about one and a half lbs already cooked chicken and enough chicken broth to cover. I then cook until the meat shreds easily. I don't like this seasoning with hamburger, however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I had never considered making my own seasonings before until I went to make Salsa Chicken #27475 (excellent dish), and I was out, oh no!! Taco seasoning was a key ingredient so, needless to say, Zaar came to the rescue, and with very little effort and using ingredients I always have on hand, I made this taco season mix in no time and it was awesome. Great taste, and no salt to boot. I'll never purchase the commercial packets again. The recipe was a snap to put together, tasted better and was definately healthier than what you'd get in a store-bought packet. This recipe has found a permanent home in my regular cookbook. Thanks, Dancer, for an outstanding contribution to the Zaar recipe collections.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      I made this last night. I was out of taco seasoning packets. This was great, had everything on hand and it tasted great. I went to the store today and decided to not buy the packets anymore this is much better. I used two Tablespoons for 1 lb. of ground beef it was perfect. Thanks for a great alternative to a prepackaged mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      I used the whole recipe in about 3 lbs. of ground sirloin. Very good! I am going to make a ton of this to have on hand. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.3
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    33%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 598.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 25.1 g
    100%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes