Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2012

      This was good. I added 1/2 tsp salt to the mix. Then we used 3.5 tbsps with 3/4 cup of water to 1lb of beef. I felt it needed a bit more, so I added 1/2 tbsp dried minced onion and 1/4 tsp-ish of garlic salt to the beef. Perhaps fresh onion would be nice in the future. Anyway, it was all to go with rice and beef and red pepper in a burrito, and it was definitely yummy! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      I used this taco seasoning mix to season some ground beef to use in a taco salad. It was great. Thanks Dancer :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

    • on April 28, 2012

    • on July 17, 2011

      This taco seasoning was EXCELLENT!!!!!! I have a million and 1 allergies and can never use the store bought package taco seasoning. I tried this with Crock Pot Taco Soup Crock Pot Taco Soup and it was fab. I will add this in my list of favorites. A real keeper...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      I used this just like I would packaged taco seasoning. I also added a little dried minced onion during cooking. This was great for seasoning ground turkey and shredded chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Made as posted but used "smoked" paprika and no cayenne pepper. Made especially to use in Tijuana Train Wreck (isn't that a fun name?) I will keep a small jar of this in my pantry from now on; much healthier and very tasty! Thanks for posting Dancer^. Made for When It's Hot Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      This is a healthy and quick way to have taco seasoning, as most of us have these items on hand. Doubled the garlic and onion powders, and added oregano to it. Also subbed chipotle powder and used much more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I thought this mix was great and filled in, in a pinch. I did add a bit of salt, as I felt it needed it, but that is just my taste. I used a pinch of corn starch, as a thickening agent. Next time I find myself out of the package mixes, I'll remember this one! Thanks, Dancer^.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

    • on February 27, 2009

      Excellent recipe, my family loves the flavor, and doesn't ever want store bought. On occasion I add a tablespoon of flour to the mix for ground beef tacos, to make it more of a thick juice for the tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      This is easy to prepare and makes a great seasoning. And NO SALT! Life is good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Very good, everyone enjoyed it a lot. I didn't try any, as I don't care too much for ground meat, but the family really enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I have been making seasoning mixes from Recipezaar, and the results have been great. This taco seasoning is no exception. Super combination of flavors, no preservatives, easy to put together. No more store-bought, high-sodium taco seasoning for me!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I am going to save money with this perfect recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

    • on January 16, 2008

      Been using this for a year or two now and would never substitute another. It's perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      It was good just not to my family's liking. It was flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      The perfect taco seasoning--IMHO!! It was easy to make, it used ingredients I almost always have on hand, and it tasted even better than the packaged kind. I added three and a half teaspoons of Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix to a sixteen ounce can of vegetarian refried beans (plus a bit of water for thinning and salt to taste)--then used half of the seasoned beans for burritos and the other half in a taco salad. Both turned out great. This recipe is a major find! Thanks Dancer!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      This recipe is great! I didn't have paprika (I don't find it has a taste anyway) and it still tasted like we were eating down south, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.3
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    33%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 598.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 25.1 g
    100%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes