Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-51 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2006

      I used this for a chocolate cream pie that I made for Easter. It turned out great. I never have sweetened condensed milk on hand and now I don't have to!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      Great recipe, looks like the real condensed milk, tasts like it, makes the same amount as a regular size can. It can't get any better than this. Keep milk powder on hand and you will have condensed milk at your fingertips. Thank-you for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      I am transitioning to a vegan lifestyle and was very excited to find this recipe. I used soy milk powder (you'll need more liquid) and brown sugar. The result is not the same as condensed milk by taste, but close enough for my pies! Thanks so much, I didn't want to have to use plain 'ole tofu for the creamy texture in things like pumpkin pie. Thanks Miss Summers, you're a pie saver! PS-- those who are lactose intolerant, this'll work for you too, I swear you can't really tell!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      I am so thrilled to find this recipe as I live with a diabetic but love to bake...will make this with splendra for all my holiday baking that calls for sweetened condensed milk...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      I am so excited to have this recipe! I love sweetened condensed milk in my coffee, but sometimes the canned stuff is just too sweet. This is fantastic because now I can get the flavor I want but can adjust for sweetness. Plus, it's non fat. Yeay! I had some problems with lumps, but next time will take the advice of other raters and use a hand mixer. But, when used in my coffee this morning, all the lumps dissolved. Thank you so much! I will use this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      Excellent! I needed the stuff kinda quick, so I cooled it in the freezer for about 15 min. before I used it in my Coconut Flan (#34299--another A+ recipe!) and it tasted and worked fantastic! Only adjustments: I used 1/2 cup sugar, and 1 cup of the dry milk powder since that was the way it was packaged for freshness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      FANTASTIC! I made 2 batches of this for a pasta salad that I made for a public supper, tasted great and sooo inexpensive Thank You Darlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      This is excellent! We needed some for a recipe and wanted it to be sugar free - which they don't sell - so we made this but substituted Splenda for the sugar. It worked out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      I've never written a review, but on this I must! Because my husband is a borderline diabetic, I cook a lot with Splenda these days. I substituted Splenda for the sugar in this recipe and increased the dry milk to 1 & 1/2 cups (the Splenda site recommends adding dry milk), but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. I then used my "Eagle Brand" milk to make an awesome, no sugar lemon icebox pie! I would give it 10 stars if I could! Auntie Bo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2003

      Excellent substitute. I used Splenda instead of sugar as we are diabetic and it worked perfectly. I am using this in Dana MMH's recipe for Lemon Ice Box Pie Lemon Ice Box Pie...haven't made it yet, but I will update to let you know how it worked in a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      This is just like the stuff in the can, which I never have on hand. But I always have dry milk. I did leave out the vanilla. I also used this to make Blueberry Cobbler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    21%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 3.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 86.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 23.3 g
    93%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites