51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy and cheap. I hate having to buy $2+ cans of SCM. Don't overcook the milk. I put it in the microwave for 1 minute on high and it had clumps in it. I used the immersion blender and it got better. It was just for a baked filling in cookies so it was fine. The other recipe I have has a huge amount of butter in it, so this is much healthier too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc May 26, 2014

Wonderful!!! I only had one can of SCM and needed two for a no bake cheesecake and this worked PERFECTLY and tasted just as yummy! I won't be buying canned ever again, thanks SOOO much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikers April 20, 2012

I am so tired of spending $2.78 on a can of sweetened condensed milk... I bake a lot at holiday time and any way I can save a little, good deal.... I tried this recipe and it was fantastic! Easy to make, cheaper than the canned stuff, and the taste is no different in 7 layer cookies. ( Miracle bars) . Thanks for post this, it will be a staple in my recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellenmg December 17, 2011

Sweetened condensed milk is so expensive. And this recipe is so easy to do. I always have milk powder. I used it in Coconut Macaroons-5 Ingredients Thanks Darlene :) Made for All you can cook buffet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette August 13, 2011

I used this recipe to add it in my kheer and I did find it tasted like milk powder. I don't think it tastes anything like the canned stuff. I will try making it with evaporated milk and see. I gave it 1 star because of the ease...but don't think I will use it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munnumaa September 29, 2009

This worked great! We needed sweetened condensed milk to make Sandra's Key Lime Pie. The stores were closed and we didn't have any condensed milk in the house. RecipeZaar saved the day with this recipe! The pie came out perfectly! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook May 14, 2009

I use this recipe mainly for http://www.recipezaar.com/Copycat-French-Vanilla-Liquid-Coffee-Creamer-191026 . It works very well and is much cheaper than what you would pay for this at the store! Thanks For Posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy Likes ta Cook March 25, 2009

This worked great when I need some to make a dessert. I will use this from now on, as it is so economical compared to the store bought! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Chef Lori~ December 17, 2008

Used this for Cinnamon Chip Gems and it turned out wonderfully! As another reviewer mentioned, I just used hot water and eliminated the extra microwave step. I think it also helped to dissolve and combine everything a little easier. As others have mentioned, the taste is a bit different from the store bought, so I'd probably be careful which recipes I use this in. However, for most cheesecakes, pies, and other things which this isn't the main flavor, I'll definitely use this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 October 11, 2008

Hi DArlene I was pleased to find your recipe. Regular condensed milk is too sweet. Also I like to use a sweetener called Whey LOW developed for diabetics. I wanted to really like this recipe. But I still couldn't get past the powdered milk taste. I grew up on it as a child and once I went to regular skim milk, I have never really been able to like powdered milk again. Thanks for the recipe. Many people find it great. I will say the consistency and and how it works in recipes is just like the canned version. I just didn't like the powdered milk taste. Thanks Judy in WA

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
godbreathed01 October 02, 2008
Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk