Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2014

      Easy and cheap. I hate having to buy $2+ cans of SCM. Don't overcook the milk. I put it in the microwave for 1 minute on high and it had clumps in it. I used the immersion blender and it got better. It was just for a baked filling in cookies so it was fine. The other recipe I have has a huge amount of butter in it, so this is much healthier too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      Wonderful!!! I only had one can of SCM and needed two for a no bake cheesecake and this worked PERFECTLY and tasted just as yummy! I won't be buying canned ever again, thanks SOOO much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      I am so tired of spending $2.78 on a can of sweetened condensed milk... I bake a lot at holiday time and any way I can save a little, good deal.... I tried this recipe and it was fantastic! Easy to make, cheaper than the canned stuff, and the taste is no different in 7 layer cookies. ( Miracle bars) . Thanks for post this, it will be a staple in my recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      Sweetened condensed milk is so expensive. And this recipe is so easy to do. I always have milk powder. I used it in Coconut Macaroons-5 Ingredients Thanks Darlene :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I used this recipe to add it in my kheer and I did find it tasted like milk powder. I don't think it tastes anything like the canned stuff. I will try making it with evaporated milk and see. I gave it 1 star because of the ease...but don't think I will use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This worked great! We needed sweetened condensed milk to make Sandra's Key Lime Pie. The stores were closed and we didn't have any condensed milk in the house. RecipeZaar saved the day with this recipe! The pie came out perfectly! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      I use this recipe mainly for http://www.recipezaar.com/Copycat-French-Vanilla-Liquid-Coffee-Creamer-191026 . It works very well and is much cheaper than what you would pay for this at the store! Thanks For Posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This worked great when I need some to make a dessert. I will use this from now on, as it is so economical compared to the store bought! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Used this for Cinnamon Chip Gems and it turned out wonderfully! As another reviewer mentioned, I just used hot water and eliminated the extra microwave step. I think it also helped to dissolve and combine everything a little easier. As others have mentioned, the taste is a bit different from the store bought, so I'd probably be careful which recipes I use this in. However, for most cheesecakes, pies, and other things which this isn't the main flavor, I'll definitely use this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Hi DArlene I was pleased to find your recipe. Regular condensed milk is too sweet. Also I like to use a sweetener called Whey LOW developed for diabetics. I wanted to really like this recipe. But I still couldn't get past the powdered milk taste. I grew up on it as a child and once I went to regular skim milk, I have never really been able to like powdered milk again. Thanks for the recipe. Many people find it great. I will say the consistency and and how it works in recipes is just like the canned version. I just didn't like the powdered milk taste. Thanks Judy in WA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I made this tonight because I only had 1 300 ml of sweetened condensed milk and needed 2 cans for the recipe I was preparing. I halved this recipe to make up the difference. I was fantastic. I used a whisk to mix everything until it was smooth and used hot water instead of cold eliminating the need to microwave. Thankyou so much for this recipe. I'll never buy expensive sweetened condensed milk again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      I made this little gem of a recipe and what a pleasant surprise. Inspite of all of the reviews, I did not have high expectations. This is wonderful!! I will always use this recipe! I did mix with the electric hand mixer to make sure it was smooth as suggested by another reviewer. Will use this over and over. Thank you Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I love this stuff, I'm living on a limited budget so I'm minimizing expenses wherever possible and this recipe is fantastic. I make it just the way it says except I mix it in a salad dressing shaker instead of microwaving, works out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      good and thick. next time I will make sure the dry milk is totally dissolved, but what a good substitution for the expensive stuff. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      great recipe, so easy and it is the perfect amount for a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      I keep dry milk around for the wierdest reasons, this is one of them-who knew? Thank you for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      i needed some sweetened condensed milk and did'nt have any tryied this and wow it is good and always have those ingredients on hand and is very cheap to make compared to buying it thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      Excellent! I cut the recipe in half and it worked well for a dish tonight where I had all the ingredients on hand except sweetened condensed milk. Quick to make and tasted just fine. I believe I'll be making this as needed from now on instead of buying expensive cans from the store. THANK YOU for posting, Darlene.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      This worked great for Scrumptious Butterfinger Cake Scrumptious Butterfinger Cake. I used non-instant nonfat dried milk for a milder flavor. I also didn't microwave it; I just stirred a lot with a wire whisk and the sugar was incorporated just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      I am not going to "STAR" this recipe because after seeing 14 5 Star reviews I figured that I must have done something wrong, TWICE. Once with Sugar & once with Splenda. Both times mine had a very strong dry milk powder taste. I did look and my milk powder was expired (though I am surprized that would make a stronger flavor). I will purchase some fresh powder and try again. I just never give up.I did go ahead and make Iced Coffee with the batch made from sugar and it tastes OK but just the taste of the sweetened condensed milk alone wasn't acceptable to me and I wouldn't risk wasting other ingredients by using it in a recipe. I tossed the Splenda version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    21%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 3.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 86.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 23.3 g
    93%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites