51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good and easy. I used it on Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies, Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies. Worked well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 June 17, 2010

have used it to make homemade bailey's irish cream! Great substitute recipe! loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse February 17, 2010

I had a bit of trouble with this but in the end it worked out great. I was in a hurry-never a good idea. Mine was a bit clumpy and I ran it through a sieve to get out the clumps, would have used a blender but it wasn't possible at the time. I needed to heat mine up anyway so I didn't let it cool. I think that is an important part because of the texture I was sure it was going to be gritty. It ended up smoothing out a few minutes after I melted some with chocolate chips. What was left over however was just the right consistancy and tasted good too. The moral of the story get all of your ingredients out before you begin a recipe, then you won't be in such an all-fired hurry. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 February 16, 2010

Since condensed milk is hard to get here,this is a must have recipe for me! I don't think my milk powder was nonfat,since it didn't specify,but it worked great. I have yet to use it,but it tasted good on it's own.Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia February 06, 2010

It ended up turning out, but I had to work a little magic to get it to happen. Granted, part of it may have been because I had to cook mine on the stove top, as I don't have a microwave. I was seriously wondering about the proportions when I put it all in the pan, but it worked out. It was a little grainy, so I put it in the mixer as someone suggested. I would go on high for a few minutes. I added this into the chocolate mint candy fudge Chocolate Mint Candy (Fudge). I found when I added it in with the melted chocolate it got kind of grainy again. I put it back in the mixer on high for a few minutes and it ended up just fine. Since I had a 3 layered candy, it was kind of a pain because I had to do it for two different mixes. It did turn out just fine though, and I would use this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel December 04, 2009

I am sold on this recipe. I was nervous at first because the finished product was a thinner consistency than the store bought sweetened condensed milk. But my key lime pie set up perfectly so that is why I am rating this 5 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon June 12, 2009

Works just like the store bought kind and it is so much cheaper. I recommend using a good vanilla to get past the powdered milk flavor.Used a sugar substitute with nice results. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J November 27, 2008

So much for buying those expensive cans! This works fine, and allows a bit of customization to the recipe taste. Substitute other tastes for the vanilla,,, have tried brandy, rum, and whiskey and they work great. Using Splenda to make mine as well. With Splenda it doesn't thicken as much as with sugar, but it works for me. Can make richer with whole dried milk, or healthier with nonfat dried milk. Thanks for a basic recipe that gives me taste control and saves me from last minute shopping trips.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Comedie October 22, 2006
Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk