Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2009

      For those of you having issues with this recipe tasting too strongly of the nonfat dry powdered milk, check your expiration date. The milk solids in the powdered milk absolutely spoil and taste very strong. When you buy your next box, store it in the freezer. I've been doing this for years and using my powdered milk in cooking and baking with never a bad taste. It's always terrific and makes foods with milk taste richer and increases the noutrients as well. This recipe for Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk is a wonderful idea! I don't have to run to the store if I want to make "Magic Cookie Bars", my husband's favorite treat! Also, wonderful for my diabetic mom. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2002

      This is REALLY GOOD! I made these a few days back and posted a review. I'm surprised to see that the review didn't get accepted. Anyways, I did make this and love it! After step 4, I used my electric hand beater and using the mixing attachment, I mixed all the ingredients together to remove some lumps that had been formed. This is so delicious and I'll never go to buy this from the supermarket anymore. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      My husband loves iced coffee and the recipe we use calls for canned condensed milk. My husband says this tastes just like condensed milk when added to his coffee. It is so easy to make with great results. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Great recipe! I used Splenda and you couldn't tell the difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      This was a lifesaver, worked great. I opened what I thought was a can of the real stuff with the label long gone, it turned out to be a very old can of spinach. I made Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars, using yellow cake mix, an adaption from the Cake Doctor book. Will post after I taste them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      This is a dandy version of Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk! I mixed it up and my DH used it to make Irish Cream! Just takes minute to prepare and beats any commercial product out there! Thanks for sharing a real winner, Darlene. Believe I'll make my Christmas goodies with it, as well. Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      This worked okay in my fudge. It made the fudge more chewy than usual. I want to try it in a few other recipes. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      I made this recipe just last night when I was making fudge. I thought I had sweetened condensed mile but it turned out to be evaporated milk! The fudge turned out great! I will definately be using this recipe instead of paying the high price for canned sweetened condesned milk!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I make this for my husband to use in his tea..He love La Lechera,but this is good and is a lot cheaper. Thanks so much...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Better than the canned stuff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Really good and easy. I used it on Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies, Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies. Worked well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Awesome- used it as a substitute in Banana Pudding Instant Vanilla Pudding from a Box Mixed W/ Stuff and Poured ove and it worked great. I will definitely be using this anytime I need sweetened condensed milk from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      have used it to make homemade bailey's irish cream! Great substitute recipe! loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I had a bit of trouble with this but in the end it worked out great. I was in a hurry-never a good idea. Mine was a bit clumpy and I ran it through a sieve to get out the clumps, would have used a blender but it wasn't possible at the time. I needed to heat mine up anyway so I didn't let it cool. I think that is an important part because of the texture I was sure it was going to be gritty. It ended up smoothing out a few minutes after I melted some with chocolate chips. What was left over however was just the right consistancy and tasted good too. The moral of the story get all of your ingredients out before you begin a recipe, then you won't be in such an all-fired hurry. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Since condensed milk is hard to get here,this is a must have recipe for me! I don't think my milk powder was nonfat,since it didn't specify,but it worked great. I have yet to use it,but it tasted good on it's own.Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Good recipe but wasn't as thick as store bought. I used it in Bailey's Original Irish Cream by Todd Wilbur and turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      It ended up turning out, but I had to work a little magic to get it to happen. Granted, part of it may have been because I had to cook mine on the stove top, as I don't have a microwave. I was seriously wondering about the proportions when I put it all in the pan, but it worked out. It was a little grainy, so I put it in the mixer as someone suggested. I would go on high for a few minutes. I added this into the chocolate mint candy fudge Chocolate Mint Candy (Fudge). I found when I added it in with the melted chocolate it got kind of grainy again. I put it back in the mixer on high for a few minutes and it ended up just fine. Since I had a 3 layered candy, it was kind of a pain because I had to do it for two different mixes. It did turn out just fine though, and I would use this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      I am sold on this recipe. I was nervous at first because the finished product was a thinner consistency than the store bought sweetened condensed milk. But my key lime pie set up perfectly so that is why I am rating this 5 stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Works just like the store bought kind and it is so much cheaper. I recommend using a good vanilla to get past the powdered milk flavor.Used a sugar substitute with nice results. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      So much for buying those expensive cans! This works fine, and allows a bit of customization to the recipe taste. Substitute other tastes for the vanilla,,, have tried brandy, rum, and whiskey and they work great. Using Splenda to make mine as well. With Splenda it doesn't thicken as much as with sugar, but it works for me. Can make richer with whole dried milk, or healthier with nonfat dried milk. Thanks for a basic recipe that gives me taste control and saves me from last minute shopping trips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    21%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 3.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 86.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 23.3 g
    93%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites