52 Reviews

For those of you having issues with this recipe tasting too strongly of the nonfat dry powdered milk, check your expiration date. The milk solids in the powdered milk absolutely spoil and taste very strong. When you buy your next box, store it in the freezer. I've been doing this for years and using my powdered milk in cooking and baking with never a bad taste. It's always terrific and makes foods with milk taste richer and increases the noutrients as well. This recipe for Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk is a wonderful idea! I don't have to run to the store if I want to make "Magic Cookie Bars", my husband's favorite treat! Also, wonderful for my diabetic mom. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosie Posie '88 December 22, 2009

This is REALLY GOOD! I made these a few days back and posted a review. I'm surprised to see that the review didn't get accepted. Anyways, I did make this and love it! After step 4, I used my electric hand beater and using the mixing attachment, I mixed all the ingredients together to remove some lumps that had been formed. This is so delicious and I'll never go to buy this from the supermarket anymore. Thanks so much for posting.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani November 29, 2002

My husband loves iced coffee and the recipe we use calls for canned condensed milk. My husband says this tastes just like condensed milk when added to his coffee. It is so easy to make with great results. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada June 06, 2010

Great recipe! I used Splenda and you couldn't tell the difference!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffette Teresa July 22, 2009

This was a lifesaver, worked great. I opened what I thought was a can of the real stuff with the label long gone, it turned out to be a very old can of spinach. I made Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars, using yellow cake mix, an adaption from the Cake Doctor book. Will post after I taste them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MNLisaB October 16, 2003

This is a dandy version of Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk! I mixed it up and my DH used it to make Irish Cream! Just takes minute to prepare and beats any commercial product out there! Thanks for sharing a real winner, Darlene. Believe I'll make my Christmas goodies with it, as well. Laudee C.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee November 26, 2002

This worked okay in my fudge. It made the fudge more chewy than usual. I want to try it in a few other recipes. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ct in ut April 21, 2011

I made this recipe just last night when I was making fudge. I thought I had sweetened condensed mile but it turned out to be evaporated milk! The fudge turned out great! I will definately be using this recipe instead of paying the high price for canned sweetened condesned milk!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alwayshappy November 03, 2010

I make this for my husband to use in his tea..He love La Lechera,but this is good and is a lot cheaper. Thanks so much...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking-BAG July 04, 2010

Better than the canned stuff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget Elaine July 03, 2010
Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk