Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Summer Sausage Aka Salami Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Summer Sausage Aka Salami

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2010

      This recipe has been in our family for at least 4 generations and I make it every Christmas.Mine calls for 2T of liquid smoke and 3T of the salt. I have substituted the salt with pickling salt with great success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Dammmmnnn!! This was awesome! So easy to mix up. Mine spent more than 24 hours in the fridge but other than that I followed the directions. Next time we might kick it up with a few red pepper flakes. My hubby went nuts over, my son ate three big slices at lunch and there is just the tail end of the first roll left. If I dont hide the other three they arent going to make Xmas...chances are I will be making more anyways. It is a definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Wow how easy this was to make! I halved the recipe - as I had never tried making my own sausage and didn't want to take a big plunge. I was very pleasantly pleased with the end result! Thank you for sharing !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      This is a fantastic recipe, a good one for the holiday baskets, (make up ahead) I added some red pepper flakes for a bit more heat. This recipe is quite versatile. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      I made this recipe with a few changes. I used only 1 pound of ground pork, no burger. I also added 1 tsp hot red pepper flakes. My version tasted really great,,,,5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      This a very easy recipe. And very good. I made my sausage with 50 percent ground turkey and 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper. With the turkey it came out very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      Made as written with 90% lean ground beef.<br/><br/>I did let it site in fridge for 48 hours due to unplanned activities getting in the way. I was little concerned at that point because it did not have that nice red/pick color but dont worry. Color was correct when it came out of the oven.<br/><br/>Taste is very good. I used freshly ground black pepper and will probably cut down on that some next time.<br/><br/>Looking forward to tinkering with this recipe - would like to see if fresh onions and or garlic would work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Very good recipe for SUPER easy substitute for REAL smoked SAUSAGE not Salami ( true Salami is air cured, not cooked). I used mine for venison by adding 25% pork butt, however, I will only be adding 10 - 15% next time. My wife who does not like venison much even requested a second then third serving on a cracker with cheese!<br/><br/>I souped up a couple rolls that came out EXCELLENT. These additions are PER 10.5oz roll(after addition of water).<br/><br/>One roll I added about 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes to make it spicy but not terribly hot. I like hotter stuff but I made this to appeal to the "masses" in the house.<br/><br/>Second roll, I added 1/2 tsp Blackened Cajun spice and 4 splashes of pepper sauce.<br/><br/>It could also use at least 2x the liquid smoke. Another tip is to make your foil extra long (roll meat parallel with length of foil), grasp the end and twist HARD, it will compress the meat and plump it into nice rounded loaf. The nutrition info is for entire recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      Common recipe found on internet, but did not work for me. Tasted liked tough, bland hamburger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      I have a couple recipes for this.. The same.. I'm writing a review based on a review. I made this with jalape?os and cheddar. It's the best!! So good, I will be making 8 batches and giving away 4 for gifts!! Next time I will add more jalape?os. "trial and error" not recipe fault since it didn't call for it. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      this is the recipe darlene kossman had very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      My discerning son said that this is the best sausage he's tasted! We don't have Summer sausage here in the UK so I think I'm going to start a new trend! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Very good summer sausage. We used 1 lb. ground beef and 1 lb. venison burger. Doubled the recipe and added chopped jalapeno and cheddar cheese in half! May add a little more spice next time. Thanks for a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      Very good. Hubby added more garlic and proclaimed this perfect. He says he will make this often and keep some in the freezer so he doesn't run out. His favorite way to eat this is with crackers and mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      I am commenting on this recipe rather than giving it any stars (which does not effect its rating), because although I have made the recipe the results were not what I expected. It was my first attempt at curing my own meat for a sausage or salami, and I think I can do it better a second time around - especially now that we have a better idea of what to expect. We're going to make this recipe again, and will update the review at that time. Thanks for posting it, morelhunter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      This is a recipe that I had years ago. Somewhere along the way I lost it. This recipe can also be modified and made spicer or with more garlic if desired. This has been added to my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      Great! Love the flavor & texture. Great with cheese & crackers. I rolled 1/2 in coarse ground pepper before wrapping & baking and the finished product is pretty and very tasty. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Summer Sausage Aka Salami

    Serving Size: 1 (1152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 491.9
     
    Calories from Fat 307
    62%
    Total Fat 34.1 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 154.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 152.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 42.3 g
    84%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    quick curing salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes