17 Reviews

This recipe has been in our family for at least 4 generations and I make it every Christmas.Mine calls for 2T of liquid smoke and 3T of the salt. I have substituted the salt with pickling salt with great success!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
THERESA W. December 17, 2010

Dammmmnnn!! This was awesome! So easy to mix up. Mine spent more than 24 hours in the fridge but other than that I followed the directions. Next time we might kick it up with a few red pepper flakes. My hubby went nuts over, my son ate three big slices at lunch and there is just the tail end of the first roll left. If I dont hide the other three they arent going to make Xmas...chances are I will be making more anyways. It is a definate keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn November 23, 2009

Very good recipe for SUPER easy substitute for REAL smoked SAUSAGE not Salami ( true Salami is air cured, not cooked). I used mine for venison by adding 25% pork butt, however, I will only be adding 10 - 15% next time. My wife who does not like venison much even requested a second then third serving on a cracker with cheese!<br/><br/>I souped up a couple rolls that came out EXCELLENT. These additions are PER 10.5oz roll(after addition of water).<br/><br/>One roll I added about 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes to make it spicy but not terribly hot. I like hotter stuff but I made this to appeal to the "masses" in the house.<br/><br/>Second roll, I added 1/2 tsp Blackened Cajun spice and 4 splashes of pepper sauce.<br/><br/>It could also use at least 2x the liquid smoke. Another tip is to make your foil extra long (roll meat parallel with length of foil), grasp the end and twist HARD, it will compress the meat and plump it into nice rounded loaf. The nutrition info is for entire recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dentpusher January 20, 2014

Wow how easy this was to make! I halved the recipe - as I had never tried making my own sausage and didn't want to take a big plunge. I was very pleasantly pleased with the end result! Thank you for sharing !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiisaN March 09, 2009

This is a fantastic recipe, a good one for the holiday baskets, (make up ahead) I added some red pepper flakes for a bit more heat. This recipe is quite versatile. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka November 09, 2004

I made this recipe with a few changes. I used only 1 pound of ground pork, no burger. I also added 1 tsp hot red pepper flakes. My version tasted really great,,,,5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick2006 February 03, 2014

This a very easy recipe. And very good. I made my sausage with 50 percent ground turkey and 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper. With the turkey it came out very tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodcarver9 January 27, 2014

Made as written with 90% lean ground beef.<br/><br/>I did let it site in fridge for 48 hours due to unplanned activities getting in the way. I was little concerned at that point because it did not have that nice red/pick color but dont worry. Color was correct when it came out of the oven.<br/><br/>Taste is very good. I used freshly ground black pepper and will probably cut down on that some next time.<br/><br/>Looking forward to tinkering with this recipe - would like to see if fresh onions and or garlic would work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daryl O. January 22, 2014

Common recipe found on internet, but did not work for me. Tasted liked tough, bland hamburger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan in Raleigh, NC October 09, 2013

I have a couple recipes for this.. The same.. I'm writing a review based on a review. I made this with jalape?os and cheddar. It's the best!! So good, I will be making 8 batches and giving away 4 for gifts!! Next time I will add more jalape?os. "trial and error" not recipe fault since it didn't call for it. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linajjac August 31, 2012
Homemade Summer Sausage Aka Salami