Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Spelt Flour Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Spelt Flour Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2010

      Love these!! My family loves taco night and since I can't have wheat or corn anymore I needed to find an alternative. These are perfect. I actually prefer them over the regular flour tortillas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      My daughter and I love these tortillas! The only reason I gave it four stars, is because they were very sticky and I had to add about 1/2 cup more flour. But nothing that couldn't be fixed. Will try this recipe a third time with more flour. Great recipe, they tasted just like regular white flour tortillas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      You got to be kidding me! This is the worst recipe I've ever made. The water quantity is twice as much as needed. The oil makes it sticky & gross. The tortillas stuck to everything, & couldn't be salvaged at all. What a mess!! Don't bother w/ this recipe. NO WAY a decent tortilla recipe. Don't waste your time or ingredients on it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      This recipe is so good and so easy. I will never buy tortillas again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      A fantastic recipe. My family loved these and I will be making them on a regular basis. I would pair them with strong flavors because these have a bold flavor of their own. The dough is fairly sticky, so make sure to reserve enough spelt flour for dusting when you roll these out. These would be great served like naan or any other flatbread. I eat wheat sometimes but have a definite sensitivity. Spelt doesn't bother me at all, and recipes like this make life so much easier. Make these...I know you will enjoy. Super yummy!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      Made tonight for tacos. Very flavorful tortilla. I wonder if you didn't roll it so thin if you could make pitas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Such a good recipe! This was my first attempt at making homemade tortillas and they turned out so delicious! So worth making them at home when you pay $3 or $4 buying them at the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      So yummy, delicate and good! This may be the tortilla recipe I have been looking for. These turn out sort of thick and chewy but totally delicate. DELISH! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      This is such an easy and tasty recipe. I bought me a tortilla press and use that to flatten the dough then roll it out a little more, it saves me a lot of time. These are so good with just about anything inside of them. I am going to try them with sun dried tomatoes and garlic next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Yum! These turned out really great. They were easy to work with and are nice and soft. Much better than store bought! I will use this recipe often. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I've made it several times. It's also great if you add crushed garlic, rosemary or any other herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Oh my, these are very, very good! Ive never made tortillas myself before and was kinda anxious about how they would turn out, but these were so easy to make and tasted so yummy! I will definitely make them again! I made double the recipe and got exactly 16 tortillas out of it, though some were smaller than the others. I had to add 1 or 2 tbs more of water to get a smooth dough, but other than that didnt have any problems with it at all. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      So very easy to make and tasty, too! I've tried making tortillas before with whole wheat flour and they came out too stiff and dense. These were really light and cooked beautifully in no time. I think I might add a dollop of honey next time, but this time I followed the recipe exactly and everything turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I had fun making these and they do taste really good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      They are delicious! The best tortillas I have ever had! Easy, but time consuming, however worth the work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      These are incredible. they taste like the low carb ones but just a few calories. They make a great thin crust for a mini pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      nice recipe and easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      We use the tortillas for pizza too. My husband likes these better than the usual spelt crust I used. I can't make enough to keep my 17 and 11-year-olds happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Excellent recipe. I made then using my tortilla maker. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Spelt Flour Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (466 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.7
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    17%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 362.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites