Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Sesame Hamburger Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Sesame Hamburger Buns

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2012

      I made these last week and they were awesome! I mentioned this recipe in my blog at:http://homemadeday.blogspot.com/2012/08/easy-peasy-homemade-sesame-seed-buns.html
      Thanks so much for the awesome recipe! I'll be sure to hang on to this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Since I did all the baking, the last one out of the kitchen has to clean it. That means YOU! Love 'em.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

    • on March 27, 2010

      Very nice! My first crack at hamburger buns. I also added 1/2 whole wheat. I was skeptical that the smashed circles I made would actually rise evenly (and not just puff up in the middle), but the did! They turned out just great! There was NO WAY to knead it per the instructions and I eye-balled the flour after the initial measurements. My final knead resulted in a saggy dough--like if I was making bread, I'd expect it to be tighter, but wanting the smashed circles to stay smashed, I though less flour would work, and it did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      These were delicious! My husband really enjoyed them and they were really hearty and stand up to a substantial burger. I froze the excess and hope we will enjoy them as much the next time around! I used olive oil instead of shortening and 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 c. all purpose and 2 c. bread flour. Next time I make the recipe I will probably try to get 10 buns out of it because with 8 buns they turn out pretty big!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      These do have a fine texture, they are light and airy and they rise beautifully. I subbed two cups of flour with whole wheat flour and they still turned out great. I love this recipe!!! It's my new burger bun favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      EXCELLENT!!! We made these for sloppy joe night, and couldn't get enough of them! We can't wait until the next bbq or get together so we can serve them to our friends!! We followed the recipe exactly, wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      These were fabulous! They were not light and fluffy, but that is ok. I LOVED them! I had company over for dinner, and we had burgers. I doubled the recipe, which took care of the 1/2 egg thing, and it was perfect!!! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      These are great burger buns. Easy to make and they freeze well. They go well together with fish. And even without anything they are delicious. So make a lot, they will be gone soon. They only change I made was to use unsalted butter instead of vegetable shortening. That add a buttery touch to them. And for fish burger I like them with a touch of sweetness. So I will use a bit more of sugar. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      DH made these, as he is the bread maker in the family. The only change he made was to use regular (skim actually) milk rather than instant (there is some milk to water ratio to follow so please don't just sub 1/3 cup milk if you try this) and we opted for seedless. I think he also said that not all the flour was used. No problem, these were very good. He did make them a bit large (they grow, ya know) but that was good too 'cause I made 2 big hamburgers from a pound of meat. (I am going to post my Cuban Hamburger recipe as soon as I get done here) I loved that they didn't fall apart either. That's a problem with some buns but I actually was able to eat that 1/2lb burger without needing a fork. Great recipe, thanks for posting, we will never buy buns from the store again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      This is a great recipe. The buns rose beautifully and the texture was perfect. I used fresh milled wheat flour and substituted olive oil for the Crisco. I also had to use only water and an egg substitute because of a child who has dairy and egg intolerances. However, they still turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      Very good and easy to make. Texture and flavor were just as I like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Sesame Hamburger Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (1153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.8
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    16%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 16.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 252.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes