9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Although I don't use self-rising flour often it does come in handy. I made a 2-cup batch and kept the leftover in the freezer for future cooking projects. Two batches were prepared-one with unbleached white flour and the other with ww flour. Thanks! Reviewed for Veg Tag/March.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 20, 2013

It worked wonderfully with whole wheat flour in the beer bread I made.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pricele$$ January 22, 2011

This worked great for me. I am so happy to have this, as I won't have to buy it anymore!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyCookiesCrumble April 22, 2011

Since self raisisng flour is not even available this recipe is very handy.I used it in a banana bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia July 15, 2010

I'm glad you posted this recipe Rita. Cause I tagged this recipe : Zucchini Bites and used it in the recipe. I think it works ;) I used only 1/4 tsp of salt and used all-purpose flour. Thanks Rita :) Made for Cookbook tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 10, 2010

What a keeper! This came in SO handy this morning when my recipe called for self-rising flour, and my flour jar was empty! Thanks, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen June 05, 2010

You are a life saver, Rita! I had only 3/4 cup self-rising flour left and my recipe called for 1 cup. That being said, I made up a couple batches, used what I needed and kept the rest for future baking. THANKS for posting. I used mine in Dom Deluise's Beer Bread. Recipenap for Veggie Swap. UPDATE: I have to say that I no longer purchase self-rising flour. . . I ALWAYS use this recipe!!! So simple and it allows me to control the salt, which is very important to my diet for health reasons. Thanks, Rita ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride March 04, 2010

This is very quick to throw together and seemed to work quite well. I used it to replace about half the self-rising flour called for in Bikkies (Cookies) from Heaven. I probably won't bother buying self-rising flour in the future. Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario October 20, 2009
Homemade Self-Rising White Flour or Whole Wheat Flour