Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Self-Rising White Flour or Whole Wheat Flour Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Self-Rising White Flour or Whole Wheat Flour

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2013

      Although I don't use self-rising flour often it does come in handy. I made a 2-cup batch and kept the leftover in the freezer for future cooking projects. Two batches were prepared-one with unbleached white flour and the other with ww flour. Thanks! Reviewed for Veg Tag/March.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Somehow I never end up buying self-rising flour, and always find recipes that need it. This suits beautifully. I used it in Bed and Breakfast Spiced Pumpkin Scones With Honey Butter and it worked perfectly. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      It worked wonderfully with whole wheat flour in the beer bread I made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      This worked great for me. I am so happy to have this, as I won't have to buy it anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      Since self raisisng flour is not even available this recipe is very handy.I used it in a banana bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I'm glad you posted this recipe Rita. Cause I tagged this recipe : Zucchini Bites and used it in the recipe. I think it works ;) I used only 1/4 tsp of salt and used all-purpose flour. Thanks Rita :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      What a keeper! This came in SO handy this morning when my recipe called for self-rising flour, and my flour jar was empty! Thanks, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      You are a life saver, Rita! I had only 3/4 cup self-rising flour left and my recipe called for 1 cup. That being said, I made up a couple batches, used what I needed and kept the rest for future baking. THANKS for posting. I used mine in Dom Deluise's Beer Bread. Recipenap for Veggie Swap. UPDATE: I have to say that I no longer purchase self-rising flour. . . I ALWAYS use this recipe!!! So simple and it allows me to control the salt, which is very important to my diet for health reasons. Thanks, Rita ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This is very quick to throw together and seemed to work quite well. I used it to replace about half the self-rising flour called for in Bikkies (Cookies) from Heaven. I probably won't bother buying self-rising flour in the future. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Self-Rising White Flour or Whole Wheat Flour

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 457.9
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    41%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1037.7 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.7 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites