Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Self-Rising Flour - Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Self-Rising Flour - Substitute

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2002

      Darlene you just saved me with this recipe. I was making a cobbler and reached for the flour and measured it had the sugar in it and the milk. I remembered..."self rising flour" oh no...no problem came to zaar and here we are. Sure enough I have my peach cobbler and we are all happy. Wish I could give you more. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      Wow! This works so well. I'm limited on cupboard space, so this definitely beats having to keep multiple types of flour around. Thanks for the great reicpe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      Worked like a charm! I'm so glad I found this recipe. I don't use self-rising flour often enough to justify buying it. Now I don't have to. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      This stuff really works! I think I cut down the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Used this today for Country Fried Steak and it worked great! I cut the salt in half due to other reviews. Thanks Darlene.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This worked excellently. It was a bit too salty for our taste, so I'll try if it still works as well with less salt next time. The recipe was really useful - thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      Thanks for a nice and easy homemade recipe, Darlene! Sure glad you posted this. Saved me a trip to the store! Good Stuff! Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      The formula works. Why buy self-rising flour when you can just make it yourself in two seconds? Less cupboard space, less money, more flexibility.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I used then when out of self-rising flour and it turned out perfectly for my biscuits! Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Great tip. I had checked on Google recently, which used 1 cup flour - and it worked fine. I guess that means measurement is not critical. Thanks, Darlene

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      So much handier than buying yet another kind of flour! The real beauty for me is mixing just as much as I need so no storage involved. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2002

      Thanks so much for this recipe! I needed it to make cookies and it was great...easy and economical :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      This is a 5 star rating even though the stars leave every time I click on them. I was so happy to see this recipe posted when I needed self-rising flour for Buttermilk Rusks, South African by Zurie. The rusks turned out beautifully! Thanks you so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      Great substitute. I have never bought it but when I need it, I use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I never buy self-rising flour so this was perfect for the recipe of pancakes I made. Thanks Darlene :) Made for Help a Naked Recipe event

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      This was great! It was so easy to put together with pantry staples, and the resulting recipes were a success. I even used this with gluten free flour base, and it worked perfectly. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Thank You VERY much! You saved me a trip to the store and my Peach Cobbler Muffins came out absolutely beautiful! Not sure how I would have fit a 4th type of flour into the cupboard anyhow! The recipe is one I will be holding onto! Thanks again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      It worked like a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      Worked like a charm in Kim's Midnight Brownie Recipe As Seen on Dr. Oz #407828; thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      This worked well. I used it in a recipe for cookies and they turned out great. So I suppose it did what it was supposed to! Thanks for posting! I will definitely use this when I need self-rising flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Self-Rising Flour - Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 458.1
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    41%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1261.7 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.8 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes