Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Seitan Barbecue (Bbq) Ribs - Vegan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Seitan Barbecue (Bbq) Ribs - Vegan

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2012

      I made a single batch of this one time when I found this recipe last year. After that- it's always been a double batch. This is one of my hubby's favorite meals now. I make it at least once a week if not twice.

      Leftovers go in the fridge for quick sandwiches later. We don't have a grill so I just use the broiler for the last part of cooking.

      Thanks for posting this great recipe!
      Update 3/3/12 - (2 1/2 years later!) I still make this recipe very regularly. Once every couple months I take a bunch of ziploc bags and put the dry ingredients in so when it's time to make the ribs I already have the dry mix ready to go, I just dump the contents of the ziploc into a bowl and add the wet ingredients. It's super easy and dinner is ready for the oven in about 5 minutes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I am a big Seitan fan. I have made my own before but this is the first time I've baked it. I love the bbq flavour of this dish. I used a smoky style bbq. sauce. I didn't make them into ribs, mine are just random shapes. I doubled the recipe and only used 1/2 the liquid smoke. I find it pretty strong. I used Tamari sauce instead of soy and used part tahini and peanut butter. I'm going to serve them with potato croquettes for supper. Yummy. Thanks for the delicious and different recipe. It will something I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      I've tried many seitan recipes - all good, but this is one of the easiest. Served them several times - and will keep making them often. I don't grill these. I remove them from the oven about 5 min before done and brush the BBQ sauce over the tops of them. Put them back in the oven and when they were done - served them w/more BBQ sauce to dip them in. These are a bit difficult to cut in the pan prior to cooking them, but I had no trouble finishing the cuts when these come out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      One of the best veggie recipes I've ever made. Very quick and simple to make (took about 5 mins prep time) and the texture and flavour are out of this world!! I used 1/2 tsp smoked paprika and 1.5 tsp regular, cause i wasn't sure about the instructions, and it was perfect. This would be an excellent recipe to cook for omni guests and disapproving mother-in-laws. I wish I could give it 6 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I might try this with different sauces: tone down the smoke/barbeque flavour, cut the batter into squares rather than strips, and use general tso's or sweet & sour sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      I like these and have made them several times. We wanted them for father's day but our oven is broken. I put them in the crockpot instead and they turned out great. I think it took about 2-3 hours on low then an hour on high to get them browned. Then we grilled them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      I was pretty excited when I found this recipe. I am a soy-allergic vegan so I eat a LOT of seitan, but these are just plain bad. They were the sort of things you started eating and at first thought were alright, but as you chew this realization comes over you that you've just wasted a box of gluten and were gonna need to find something to microwave for dinner instead.
      I gave it two stars because the awfulness galvanized me to make up my own recipe for "ribs" that turned out really good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      This recipe is just fantastic! I was so afraid to make seitan before, but this is so easy and quick to make. I'll be tripling the recipe the next time I make it...hubby and I gobbled up the pan in no time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I have made these a couple of times and they are yummy. My MIL made them yesterday and found that rolling them with a rolling pin and then letting them shrink to fit the pan worked very nicely. Also, be careful of the sauce cause if you don't you could burn them. And we agree that they are better the next day. Be sure to watch the video, nice and helpful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This was excellent!I will definitely make this again and again :)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      AMAZING!!! This will definitely be in our regular rotation. I have always wondered how to make Seitan and now I know. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce and it was very good but next time I will try to make some homemade without the HFCS.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      These are easy to make and delicious! I used tahini for my nut butter, and home made bar-b-q sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Really really good. I got the recipe from fatfreevegan too, and saw it here so wanted to rate it. I followed the recipe exactly and we really enjoyed them. I couldn't press them out as thinly as directed, so next time I will put them on my cutting board and roll them out with a pin. The thinner, the better with these. I used my griddle on the stove rather than fire up the grill, and they turned out terrific. Will be making again, soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Wow!! This recipe is AMAZING!! It was very easy to put together and my husband was so happy he was able to use his grill for this. I took the advice of one of the other reviews and served it with coleslaw and then we also had vegetarian baked beans. Reminded me of summer!! Thanks so much for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Wow! This was awesome and so close to the real thing. Since its getting colder I used the broiler instead of the grill. The only problem I had was that I had a difficult time spreading the "dough" in the pan and had to cook them 10 minutes longer than directed. I did not change the recipe otherwise. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I gave this recipe the full five stars because the instructions were clear and the results came out as billed. Also, the ribs were tasty. They are in no way like meat ribs but they are a great vegan option. Also I gave five stars because the recipe is so adaptable. I didn't have liquid smoke and subbed a little adobo and worcestershire sauce for the smokiness. In place of the nut butter I used a little olive oil. I also added some cayenne and chili powder for extra kick. I did not put my ribs on a grill at all, only baked them in the oven and baked on the sauce. The added olive oil, I think, plus oiling the pan, helped the ribs to slip very easily from the pan even after saucing them. Also, pressing the ribs very thin into the pan helped them have a pleasing chewy texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Aw man, I was all ready to post this recipe! It's a good thing I searched for it first. These ribs are AMAZING! My grill wasn't ready to use yet, so I stuck them under the broiler and that worked really well. I crave these things constantly! What i've also done is taken the baked ribs, slice them very thin, and mix them up with bbq sauce, then pan fry them to get them kinda crispy and put it on a whole wheat bun with vegenaise and a pile of cole slaw on top, much like the recipe from Veganomicon. Ugh, my mouth is watering just thinking about it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      WOW! Exceptional recipe! These are going to be on the grill a lot this Summer. I found that letting them char a bit really adds to the texture, definately grill them! I've seen variations of the recipe where you only bake them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      The flavor was excellent! Just the right amount of savory and smokey flavors (although I omitted the liquid smoke). Unfortunately, the texture was rather off; even after a good amount of cooking, the middle was still rather doughy. My mom and I still ate way too many, though. Next time, I will add some cooked TVP and spread it out thinner in a bigger pan to improve the texture. The flavor needs no modification! ~ For PAC Spring 2008

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      As is, without the bbq sauce, they're alright. I've had better. But I like the idea though. I'll make this again using PPKs seitan recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Seitan Barbecue (Bbq) Ribs - Vegan

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.7
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    79%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1574.5 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 33.1 g
    132%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vital wheat gluten

    nut butter

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes