29 Reviews

I made a single batch of this one time when I found this recipe last year. After that- it's always been a double batch. This is one of my hubby's favorite meals now. I make it at least once a week if not twice.

Leftovers go in the fridge for quick sandwiches later. We don't have a grill so I just use the broiler for the last part of cooking.

Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Update 3/3/12 - (2 1/2 years later!) I still make this recipe very regularly. Once every couple months I take a bunch of ziploc bags and put the dry ingredients in so when it's time to make the ribs I already have the dry mix ready to go, I just dump the contents of the ziploc into a bowl and add the wet ingredients. It's super easy and dinner is ready for the oven in about 5 minutes!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Zimmerman March 03, 2012

I am a big Seitan fan. I have made my own before but this is the first time I've baked it. I love the bbq flavour of this dish. I used a smoky style bbq. sauce. I didn't make them into ribs, mine are just random shapes. I doubled the recipe and only used 1/2 the liquid smoke. I find it pretty strong. I used Tamari sauce instead of soy and used part tahini and peanut butter. I'm going to serve them with potato croquettes for supper. Yummy. Thanks for the delicious and different recipe. It will something I will make again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joey Z. April 08, 2008

I've tried many seitan recipes - all good, but this is one of the easiest. Served them several times - and will keep making them often. I don't grill these. I remove them from the oven about 5 min before done and brush the BBQ sauce over the tops of them. Put them back in the oven and when they were done - served them w/more BBQ sauce to dip them in. These are a bit difficult to cut in the pan prior to cooking them, but I had no trouble finishing the cuts when these come out of the oven.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wickedgood@Maine May 10, 2011

One of the best veggie recipes I've ever made. Very quick and simple to make (took about 5 mins prep time) and the texture and flavour are out of this world!! I used 1/2 tsp smoked paprika and 1.5 tsp regular, cause i wasn't sure about the instructions, and it was perfect. This would be an excellent recipe to cook for omni guests and disapproving mother-in-laws. I wish I could give it 6 stars!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HarperCait May 31, 2012

Excellent recipe! I might try this with different sauces: tone down the smoke/barbeque flavour, cut the batter into squares rather than strips, and use general tso's or sweet & sour sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is it tasty? June 22, 2010

I like these and have made them several times. We wanted them for father's day but our oven is broken. I put them in the crockpot instead and they turned out great. I think it took about 2-3 hours on low then an hour on high to get them browned. Then we grilled them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegkebab June 23, 2012

I was pretty excited when I found this recipe. I am a soy-allergic vegan so I eat a LOT of seitan, but these are just plain bad. They were the sort of things you started eating and at first thought were alright, but as you chew this realization comes over you that you've just wasted a box of gluten and were gonna need to find something to microwave for dinner instead.
I gave it two stars because the awfulness galvanized me to make up my own recipe for "ribs" that turned out really good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sovay May 20, 2011

This recipe is just fantastic! I was so afraid to make seitan before, but this is so easy and quick to make. I'll be tripling the recipe the next time I make it...hubby and I gobbled up the pan in no time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladybug810 September 10, 2010

I have made these a couple of times and they are yummy. My MIL made them yesterday and found that rolling them with a rolling pin and then letting them shrink to fit the pan worked very nicely. Also, be careful of the sauce cause if you don't you could burn them. And we agree that they are better the next day. Be sure to watch the video, nice and helpful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mt House mama July 05, 2010

This was excellent!I will definitely make this again and again :)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathycambi June 14, 2010
Homemade Seitan Barbecue (Bbq) Ribs - Vegan