32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these kolaches this morning and they were not difficult to make but I must admit they were not very good. I'm from texas and I know what sausage kolaches should be like. My main problem was the kolache bread, the bread of this recipe was dense and had the consistency of a biscut kolaches should have a soft, light ,delicate, slightly sweet taste of the bread on the interior and the exterior should have a slight crispy, toasty but buttery outside the sausage and cheese and jalapeno speak for themselves bring their own flavor so I give a one star. at first I thought that yeast didnt activate correctly because my dough didn't rise very much but from the remarks posted on this recipe maybe I wasn't wrong. Well I will try this recipe one more time and If I have the same result back to the drawing board.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uyko24 December 06, 2010

I made these according to the exact recipe and I'm sorry to say I was very disappointed. They were OK but not very good. The dough finished dense and a bit tasteless. Sorry I could not give a better review, I won't be making these again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greffete November 18, 2010

I made these this morning and after 2-3 hours of waiting to eat what was supposed to be great....I ended up with sausages wrapped in a dense, flavorless bread, versus a kolache.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erin7311 April 03, 2010

These are not kolaches :( After spending my afternoon making this recipe, they came out like relatively bland biscuits with sausage in them. I was craving a good Texas kolache...will keep looking. Do NOT recommend :(

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bec54 April 21, 2012

I am another Texan who agrees...these were terrible. Like a crunchy biscuit dough. Kolache dough is supposed to be light and airy. We picked out the sausage and threw the bread away. Yuck.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blexomatic35 December 19, 2011

Awful. I substituted butter for the shortening, to avoid the partially hydrogenated oil, and maybe that was my mistake, but other than that, I followed the directions religiously, and these turned out nothing like the kolaches I grew up on in Texas. Longhorn Mama said she made the same substitution, and they turned out like Shipley's, so I'm not sure where I went wrong, but these were terrible. The dough was dense and flaky, not fluffy and soft. Other people seem to have similar complaints, so I think there is something missing in the recipe. I'm a homesick Texan relocated to California, and I'd give anything to have some delicious kolaches... if anyone finds a better recipe, please share!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacquelinend January 17, 2011

I knew these would be fabulous, and have been looking forward to making them for months, but words do not describe! I made as directed and got 16 large kolaches, most plain sausage and a few chopped ham and cheese. I had planned to keep some in the freezer to heat up for quick breakfasts, but they were gobbled up in no time! I'll definitely double the recipe next time. Our neighborhood kolache shop has a number of variations on this theme, one worth mentioning is deli turkey and pepper jack cheese. An easy recipe, rising just takes a little time, but the results are well worth the wait! Thanks, PanNan, for a super recipe! UPDATE: I've made these often, what a wonderful recipe! I use all butter rather than shortening, and have prepared, refrigerated overnight, then let rise a bit and bake in the morning. Seems like I'm always a little short on sausage so suggest buying an extra pack. Definitely double the recipe!! You won't be sorry! Thanks, Nan! UPDATE, Again: I don't even know how many times I've made this recipe, always with good results. My youngest son begs for these kolaches, kolaches are his favorite and while he enjoys Shipley's and Kolache Factory, he says these are better. Just noticed some of the reviews posted. If you haven't tried this recipe, don't be scared off! I often use the breadmaker to prepare the dough. Then form the dough into balls and wrap around the sausage. After placing the kolaches on baking sheets, allow to rise until double. Then bake, being careful not to overbake. When golden brown, these kolaches are soft and tender just like the beautiful pictures. They refrigerate and freeze beautifully. Thanks again, Nan!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 30, 2010

We just made these and they are great. Brush with some garlic butter...yum. Cheese and jalapenos, or ham and cheese. Make sure hey proof in a warm place so they will rise properly, and they freeze and reheat wonderfully. Kids always take a bag home with them, hard to keep around for long. Enjoy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa C. September 22, 2013

I wish I would have read the reviews before I made these! I am from Texas (like many others) and if you have ever had an OK Texas Kolache, these wouldn't get 3 stars. Like everyone else, the dough was extremely dense. They weren't hard to make, but definitely weren't worth the time. They were edible, but I will keep looking for a better recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoCalTexan26 December 02, 2012

These are very good and very much like many of the Houston shops. To those having problems with the dough not being light enough make sure you are giving them enought time and heat to proof properly. These freeze and reheat in the microwave wonderfully, we usually make a quadruple batch with 4 or 5 different fillings, breakfast sausage, egg, cheese, and jalape?o is a favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheftopher September 09, 2012
Homemade Sausage Kolaches