Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Sausage Kolaches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Sausage Kolaches

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2010

      I made these kolaches this morning and they were not difficult to make but I must admit they were not very good. I'm from texas and I know what sausage kolaches should be like. My main problem was the kolache bread, the bread of this recipe was dense and had the consistency of a biscut kolaches should have a soft, light ,delicate, slightly sweet taste of the bread on the interior and the exterior should have a slight crispy, toasty but buttery outside the sausage and cheese and jalapeno speak for themselves bring their own flavor so I give a one star. at first I thought that yeast didnt activate correctly because my dough didn't rise very much but from the remarks posted on this recipe maybe I wasn't wrong. Well I will try this recipe one more time and If I have the same result back to the drawing board.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      I made these according to the exact recipe and I'm sorry to say I was very disappointed. They were OK but not very good. The dough finished dense and a bit tasteless. Sorry I could not give a better review, I won't be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      I made these this morning and after 2-3 hours of waiting to eat what was supposed to be great....I ended up with sausages wrapped in a dense, flavorless bread, versus a kolache.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      These are not kolaches :( After spending my afternoon making this recipe, they came out like relatively bland biscuits with sausage in them. I was craving a good Texas kolache...will keep looking. Do NOT recommend :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      I am another Texan who agrees...these were terrible. Like a crunchy biscuit dough. Kolache dough is supposed to be light and airy. We picked out the sausage and threw the bread away. Yuck.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Awful. I substituted butter for the shortening, to avoid the partially hydrogenated oil, and maybe that was my mistake, but other than that, I followed the directions religiously, and these turned out nothing like the kolaches I grew up on in Texas. Longhorn Mama said she made the same substitution, and they turned out like Shipley's, so I'm not sure where I went wrong, but these were terrible. The dough was dense and flaky, not fluffy and soft. Other people seem to have similar complaints, so I think there is something missing in the recipe. I'm a homesick Texan relocated to California, and I'd give anything to have some delicious kolaches... if anyone finds a better recipe, please share!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I knew these would be fabulous, and have been looking forward to making them for months, but words do not describe! I made as directed and got 16 large kolaches, most plain sausage and a few chopped ham and cheese. I had planned to keep some in the freezer to heat up for quick breakfasts, but they were gobbled up in no time! I'll definitely double the recipe next time. Our neighborhood kolache shop has a number of variations on this theme, one worth mentioning is deli turkey and pepper jack cheese. An easy recipe, rising just takes a little time, but the results are well worth the wait! Thanks, PanNan, for a super recipe! UPDATE: I've made these often, what a wonderful recipe! I use all butter rather than shortening, and have prepared, refrigerated overnight, then let rise a bit and bake in the morning. Seems like I'm always a little short on sausage so suggest buying an extra pack. Definitely double the recipe!! You won't be sorry! Thanks, Nan! UPDATE, Again: I don't even know how many times I've made this recipe, always with good results. My youngest son begs for these kolaches, kolaches are his favorite and while he enjoys Shipley's and Kolache Factory, he says these are better. Just noticed some of the reviews posted. If you haven't tried this recipe, don't be scared off! I often use the breadmaker to prepare the dough. Then form the dough into balls and wrap around the sausage. After placing the kolaches on baking sheets, allow to rise until double. Then bake, being careful not to overbake. When golden brown, these kolaches are soft and tender just like the beautiful pictures. They refrigerate and freeze beautifully. Thanks again, Nan!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      We just made these and they are great. Brush with some garlic butter...yum. Cheese and jalapenos, or ham and cheese. Make sure hey proof in a warm place so they will rise properly, and they freeze and reheat wonderfully. Kids always take a bag home with them, hard to keep around for long. Enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      I wish I would have read the reviews before I made these! I am from Texas (like many others) and if you have ever had an OK Texas Kolache, these wouldn't get 3 stars. Like everyone else, the dough was extremely dense. They weren't hard to make, but definitely weren't worth the time. They were edible, but I will keep looking for a better recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      These are very good and very much like many of the Houston shops. To those having problems with the dough not being light enough make sure you are giving them enought time and heat to proof properly. These freeze and reheat in the microwave wonderfully, we usually make a quadruple batch with 4 or 5 different fillings, breakfast sausage, egg, cheese, and jalape?o is a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      I am a Texan who moved to the Northeast where kolaches are non-existent. I've been craving them for years, and decided to make them for my class one day. I was severely disappointed. The dough was not light and airy, but very dense and cake-y. It was more a biscuit than a pastry. While not a horrible recipe, just not what I was expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      Fantastic! Easy to make and my kids devoured them. Thank so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      OMG! My husband and I are from New Orleans. I never knew what Kolaches were until my husband brought them home from a bakery a couple years ago. The bakery recently changed owners, and now carry a different Kolcahe which is not as good. Much to our dismay, we've not been able to find another one that we like. Most have too much breading. I read the reviews on several recipes and decided to give this one first chance. My husband and I are not disappointed! I just finished making them. Even as I write, the house still has the aroma of freshly baked goods. I used a slice of jalapeno cheese, 1 T. chopped Jalapenos (from a jar) & Oscar Meyer Jalapeno & Cheddar weiners in each dough ball. Delicious! I can't tell you how pleased we are! I don't tolerate spicy foods very well, but this is not too hot for me. If you're concerned, cut back on the jalapeno ingredients. We highly recommend trying the recipe. I'll research no further. We've found what we're looking for. Sherry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

    • on April 02, 2010

      This was EXCELLENT!!! If you have any doubts, just make them. You will NOT be disappointed. I was warry about using lard/shortening for the first time, but it doesnt taste right without it. For a change, I put scrambled egg and cheese wrapped in sandwich ham inside or bacon, egg and cheese inside. My husband already ate the entire batch I made last night... now I have to make more!! Great to make up on Sunday to eat throughout the week for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      YUM! One Question...Do you freeze the dough, or do you bake them and then freeze them? Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I was pretty leary about making these, even with the great reviews. I figured they would be pretty difficult and wouldn't turn out right. Boy, was I wrong!!! They were SO easy to make! (A little time consuming, but so worth it!) And they were EXACTLY like my favorite kolache place here in Houston! I stuffed mine with sausage, cheese and jalepeno. DELISH! The first time I made them, I made one batch. They were gone the next day. The last time I made them, I quadrupled the recipe and froze them! YUMMY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      An excellent kolache recipe. I used breakfast sausages instead of smokies. The dough is quite easily made in the breadmaker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Stupendous! These kolaches are right up there with the BEST! Being from Kolache Kountry here in this part of Texas I have had some great kolaches and NEVER thought I could make any that even came close. TIL NOW! This recipe was easy and fun! The directions are fantastic. Very clear and concise. The dough baked up perfectly. I made half with sausage only and half with sausage and cheese. DH is HOG heaven! My house smells fantastic and I have kolaches ready to go in the freezer now to be quickly enjoyed any time we want them! Thanks Nan for this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      These were yummy! I used to live in Houston and have moved several times since then.Every state I move to I spread the word of Kolaches! We bring these often to gatherings and often need LOTS.This is cheating...but you can make tons easily with frozen roll dough, just thaw covered as directed on pkg, tuck your cocktail smokies or whatever inside,seal edges well, let rise and bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Sausage Kolaches

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.9
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    52%
    Total Fat 23.6 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 73.3 mg
    24%
    Sodium 603.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes