Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Sauerkraut Pierogies / Perogies - Old Fashioned Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Sauerkraut Pierogies / Perogies - Old Fashioned Recipe

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2011

      10/07- I also used the dough recipe and it was great. Just like my Grandma used to make. My filling is potatoes (mashed with no milk or butter) sauerkraut, bacon and onion all mixed together. I also boil my pierogies and then fry them in butter afterwards until golden brown. My family likes frying them in butter and onion and then dipping them in sourcream. Thanks for the great dough recipe. Just a variation of what you can fill them with. 07/20/2011 - These freeze really well after making them do not cook at all and place in the freezer on a cookie sheet until fully frozen and then place in ziploc bag....To cook pull out of freezer and put in boiling water til floating and then fry in butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      These were very nice. My mother made these all the time when I was growing up, but never put sour cream in the filling. I used butter, and also added a dash of ground caraway seeds to the filling, it's what we always did in our Hungarian house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      We love these!! I'm not sure I should post my rating here, because I didn't use this filling, but I think it deserves 5 stars just for the dough! I used my pasta roller and it turned out amazing! The first batch I hand rolled and I didn't seem to get it thin enough.After that, I only used 2/3cup of water so that it would go through the rollers. I used the potato/cheddar filling and my daughter said it tasted just like the frozen ones I usually buy. Apparently this was a compliment because everyone loved them. Eventually we got an assembly line going and cranked out 3 batches. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      These pirogies were delicious!! I modified the filling recipe slightly by dicing and frying up about 8 slices of bacon and using that to replace the bacon fat. I also added about 10 diced button mushrooms to the filling. This recipe for us made roughly 30 pirogies. We had some extra filling which we ate on the side, and was quite tasty even by itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2003

      This were fun to make and fanstastic. They don't look as perfectly formed as the frozen store brand, but they taste 100 times better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      Try sauteing the sauerkraut in some rendered salt pork for a more traditional flavor. Awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      These were very good. I grew up on the frozen variety, and these were definitely better. The dough was a bit sticky to start but did work out fine. I used mashed potato for the filling and finished it off by pan frying with chopped cabbage. I got about 2 dozen peirogies out of it. Used a standard mason jar lid as a cutter. Will absolutely make again and freeze; no more store bought for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      fab perogie wrapper recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      the best perogi! sauerkraut is hard to make but well worth what it can do for you all winter long!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      i also used the dough recipe...worked great!...(i used a pasta flour)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      Excellent Pirogies! Sauerkraut have always been my favourites and these taste just like the ones I used to eat at the Ukrainian hall when I was younger. I didn't use any dairy or eggs in this as I am watching my cholesterol intake, so I made them vegan. I used shallots instead of onion and used a vegan dough as well. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      excellent

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2005

      only used the dough recipe and finally a pierogi that the dough didn't taste like a hockey puck. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      Wow, these turned out great. I was afraid of over- mixing dough, so had a few "lumps" in it after kneeding. But, let it rest and went ahead with rolling them out. Very smooth, delicate dough. Got 37 out of recipe using a 3 1/4" cutter. Thought it looked like too much filling, but worked out perfect in the end. First time I've tried making pierogies, looking forward to doing again. I do think that I'll try a different filling next time though. This one worked great, but was a bit dried than what I wanted. I did freeze some. Also, let the scraps rest about 5 minutes before gently pressing together to reroll. At the end of it all, I just boiled the few scraps left over, for a rustic noodle dish. I think that I will make the dough again some time, just to make noodles with. So glad this is the recipe I picked to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Awesome! I added garlic powder and celery seed to the filling. I used the filling in egg roll wrappers and baked at 350F for 25 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Sauerkraut Pierogies / Perogies - Old Fashioned Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.9
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    13%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 49.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1021.2 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.0 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bacon fat

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes