16 Reviews

10/07- I also used the dough recipe and it was great. Just like my Grandma used to make. My filling is potatoes (mashed with no milk or butter) sauerkraut, bacon and onion all mixed together. I also boil my pierogies and then fry them in butter afterwards until golden brown. My family likes frying them in butter and onion and then dipping them in sourcream. Thanks for the great dough recipe. Just a variation of what you can fill them with. 07/20/2011 - These freeze really well after making them do not cook at all and place in the freezer on a cookie sheet until fully frozen and then place in ziploc bag....To cook pull out of freezer and put in boiling water til floating and then fry in butter.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb #4 July 20, 2011

These were very nice. My mother made these all the time when I was growing up, but never put sour cream in the filling. I used butter, and also added a dash of ground caraway seeds to the filling, it's what we always did in our Hungarian house!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj July 22, 2003

We love these!! I'm not sure I should post my rating here, because I didn't use this filling, but I think it deserves 5 stars just for the dough! I used my pasta roller and it turned out amazing! The first batch I hand rolled and I didn't seem to get it thin enough.After that, I only used 2/3cup of water so that it would go through the rollers. I used the potato/cheddar filling and my daughter said it tasted just like the frozen ones I usually buy. Apparently this was a compliment because everyone loved them. Eventually we got an assembly line going and cranked out 3 batches. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrazyBoutCooking October 31, 2010

Try sauteing the sauerkraut in some rendered salt pork for a more traditional flavor. Awesome!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vfsmokey April 13, 2012

These were very good. I grew up on the frozen variety, and these were definitely better. The dough was a bit sticky to start but did work out fine. I used mashed potato for the filling and finished it off by pan frying with chopped cabbage. I got about 2 dozen peirogies out of it. Used a standard mason jar lid as a cutter. Will absolutely make again and freeze; no more store bought for me!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsune November 23, 2011

These pirogies were delicious!! I modified the filling recipe slightly by dicing and frying up about 8 slices of bacon and using that to replace the bacon fat. I also added about 10 diced button mushrooms to the filling. This recipe for us made roughly 30 pirogies. We had some extra filling which we ate on the side, and was quite tasty even by itself.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Pardoe March 10, 2008

This were fun to make and fanstastic. They don't look as perfectly formed as the frozen store brand, but they taste 100 times better!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesleyb July 24, 2003

fab perogie wrapper recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovebunsen September 05, 2009

the best perogi! sauerkraut is hard to make but well worth what it can do for you all winter long!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaniwynplz July 19, 2009

i also used the dough recipe...worked great!...(i used a pasta flour)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinj January 01, 2008
Homemade Sauerkraut Pierogies / Perogies - Old Fashioned Recipe