Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2001

      Very good flavor! My family really enjoyed this with a pork roast and mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I always make ths sauerkraut and is fantastic!! Other than being messy to make it is very easy. I usually make about 15 quarts and it keeps forever! I just used a quart I found that is at least 3 yrs old. Rinse it well before cooking and I usually fry mine up with diced bacon and onions sauted in a fry pan. We love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      I made 12 quarts last year and 40 this year. Hope the ones this year are as good as the ones I made last year. This is a great recipe. A.Wood

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      So disappointed. This is the first year I have grown cabbage in my garden and I wasted three large heads on this recipe. It was so salty I had to throw it out. It also turned brown. Don't waste your time or cabbage on this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      I was so disappointed.. i was hoping this would work out but it was too salty and the "kraut" turned somewhat brownish. I tried rinsing it and it was still way to salty :-( Didn't have a good flavor at all

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Never have I canned anything before. My excitement has me one degree away from spontaneous combustion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Boy, am I pooped! I just made half a batch. I used 1 head of purple cabbage and 2 green. They look lovely. It did take over twice the amount of liquid called for though. Fortunately, I had enough ingredients on hand. I can't wait to taste them in a couple of months. Just in time for Thanksgiving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Made 16 quarts using this recipe last year and was very pleased. Crunchy and much better than store bought. Will be making even more than that tomorrow! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2004

      No stars yet because I just got it canned. It was pretty easy, except that I needed almost twice the liquid required in the recipe. I also scalded the jars before filling since it didn't say, I figured it wouldn't hurt anything to be on the safe side. Can you tell I never put up anything besides jelly or jam???? I'll report back when I get a chance to open a jar or two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2002

      I'm not rating at this time.. because I have yet to open a jar.. its in the fermenting stage.. it was easy enough to do.. and I like the idea that I only have to touch it once to get the whole job done.. however.. I do have a question for Lali.. rnis there any hot water bath processing or pressure cooker at any time?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2002

      Found this recipe, and it was exactly what I was looking for. Mine was a little salty, but I soaked it in some tap water before we used it and it was good. I think I used table salt and should've used canning salt, oh well, no matter I will be using this recipe again this summer. Lali was a big help and very nice to talk to. For the first time even attempting kraut, it turned out pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (7164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.6
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    35%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9516.0 mg
    396%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 14.5 g
    58%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes