11 Reviews

Very good flavor! My family really enjoyed this with a pork roast and mashed potatoes.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Donelson November 13, 2001

I always make ths sauerkraut and is fantastic!! Other than being messy to make it is very easy. I usually make about 15 quarts and it keeps forever! I just used a quart I found that is at least 3 yrs old. Rinse it well before cooking and I usually fry mine up with diced bacon and onions sauted in a fry pan. We love it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn302 October 26, 2009

I made 12 quarts last year and 40 this year. Hope the ones this year are as good as the ones I made last year. This is a great recipe. A.Wood

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lexxxidog July 08, 2003

So disappointed. This is the first year I have grown cabbage in my garden and I wasted three large heads on this recipe. It was so salty I had to throw it out. It also turned brown. Don't waste your time or cabbage on this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie S. September 03, 2014

I was so disappointed.. i was hoping this would work out but it was too salty and the "kraut" turned somewhat brownish. I tried rinsing it and it was still way to salty :-( Didn't have a good flavor at all

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee August 01, 2012

Never have I canned anything before. My excitement has me one degree away from spontaneous combustion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 25, 2009

Boy, am I pooped! I just made half a batch. I used 1 head of purple cabbage and 2 green. They look lovely. It did take over twice the amount of liquid called for though. Fortunately, I had enough ingredients on hand. I can't wait to taste them in a couple of months. Just in time for Thanksgiving!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie September 20, 2009

Made 16 quarts using this recipe last year and was very pleased. Crunchy and much better than store bought. Will be making even more than that tomorrow! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama~Kitty June 20, 2009

No stars yet because I just got it canned. It was pretty easy, except that I needed almost twice the liquid required in the recipe. I also scalded the jars before filling since it didn't say, I figured it wouldn't hurt anything to be on the safe side. Can you tell I never put up anything besides jelly or jam???? I'll report back when I get a chance to open a jar or two.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhMyStars! September 01, 2004

I'm not rating at this time.. because I have yet to open a jar.. its in the fermenting stage.. it was easy enough to do.. and I like the idea that I only have to touch it once to get the whole job done.. however.. I do have a question for Lali.. rnis there any hot water bath processing or pressure cooker at any time?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jandy October 03, 2002
Homemade Sauerkraut