8 Reviews

Firstly I'd like to straighten things out, sambal oelek is from Indonesia - but the spelling is old Dutch, where the first 'sambal oelek' brand was introduced. The word is javanese origin, meaning ground by stone mortar. There's no 'oelek' word in Malaysian....

Secondly, right about the sugar amount used in this recipe. Way too much. Besides, the real sambal oelek used brown palm/coconut sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookingetcetera February 05, 2013

This turned out to be the sweetest sambal I have ever made-sickly so. Wasted a pound of peppers. Really bummed. 1 cup of sugar? Seriously, way off, but I don't know how much less would make this any good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IanMaki January 27, 2013

3 for having a go!<br/>yes Sambal Oelek is from Indonesia, . Sambal Oelek is merely a brand name!<br/>, However sambals' are endemic throughout the Malaysian Peninsula and Sri Lanka Thailand ad infinitum and vary enormously<br/> Yes, way too much sugar, I add just a pinch of dark brown sugar, no palm sugar after I saw first hand what is happening to rainforest, esp. in Malaysia, to make way for palm sugar plantations.<br/>I like the lime/ginger touch.<br/>I simmer mine with lemon grass and then remove it before storage.<br/>And I use a mix of chillies, whatever is available or in season.<br/>As for the mortar and pestle, (phht)the kitchen whizz allows bulk production, share with the frenzies.<br/><br/>I use apple cider vinegar. Lets not get too pedantic, after all, food isjust another expression of Lurv

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alan August 15, 2014

Great recipe. Use fresh, red Thai chilies to blow your stack.<br/>Danger, Will Robinson!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
P.Q. Butterfat December 12, 2013

To be fair, I'm not giving this any stars because I didn't follow the recipe as written, but I did use it closely as a guide. Here's what I did. I didn't have any chilis, but I did have a bottle of Asian chili paste that already had the chilis, garlic, vinegar and salt in it, so I used that as a base. Next, I ground some ginger, lime zest, sugar and a kefir lime leaf (I didn't have any lemongrass) with a mortar and pestle. I then added the chili garlic paste and mixed it all together. The result is delicious! I don't know if it's authentic, or if it tastes like what this recipe would taste like if I followed it exactly, but it's pretty good on its own. Eventually I will make this exactly as written and will come back and give it some stars then. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz November 15, 2011

Ohhhhh the pain of the peppers. That so remind me...I should go tomorrow just to feel the sheer torture of a pedicure. BEST sambal oelek ever...the lemongrass puts it over the top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng September 04, 2011

Hot! Very good. I used dried peppers but rehydrate them by soaking them in warm water for about 15 mins. Made for ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana May 30, 2010

Whew! This stuff is no joke. It's hot, but also sweet and a little tangy. I wasn't sure whether to use fresh or dried chiles, so I used a bit of both, comprised of several varieties that sounded interesting. I think this one must intend fresh, since I had to add a bit more vinegar to get a good puree. I also put in the juice of the lime I zested, just for more acidity, in the hope that this would keep longer, since it does make a whole lot. It's absolutely delicious, and I'm so glad I tried it. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie November 08, 2008
Homemade Sambal Oelek