Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Sambal Oelek Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Sambal Oelek

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2013

      Firstly I'd like to straighten things out, sambal oelek is from Indonesia - but the spelling is old Dutch, where the first 'sambal oelek' brand was introduced. The word is javanese origin, meaning ground by stone mortar. There's no 'oelek' word in Malaysian....

      Secondly, right about the sugar amount used in this recipe. Way too much. Besides, the real sambal oelek used brown palm/coconut sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      This turned out to be the sweetest sambal I have ever made-sickly so. Wasted a pound of peppers. Really bummed. 1 cup of sugar? Seriously, way off, but I don't know how much less would make this any good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Great recipe. Use fresh, red Thai chilies to blow your stack.<br/>Danger, Will Robinson!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      To be fair, I'm not giving this any stars because I didn't follow the recipe as written, but I did use it closely as a guide. Here's what I did. I didn't have any chilis, but I did have a bottle of Asian chili paste that already had the chilis, garlic, vinegar and salt in it, so I used that as a base. Next, I ground some ginger, lime zest, sugar and a kefir lime leaf (I didn't have any lemongrass) with a mortar and pestle. I then added the chili garlic paste and mixed it all together. The result is delicious! I don't know if it's authentic, or if it tastes like what this recipe would taste like if I followed it exactly, but it's pretty good on its own. Eventually I will make this exactly as written and will come back and give it some stars then. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      Ohhhhh the pain of the peppers. That so remind me...I should go tomorrow just to feel the sheer torture of a pedicure. BEST sambal oelek ever...the lemongrass puts it over the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Hot! Very good. I used dried peppers but rehydrate them by soaking them in warm water for about 15 mins. Made for ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Whew! This stuff is no joke. It's hot, but also sweet and a little tangy. I wasn't sure whether to use fresh or dried chiles, so I used a bit of both, comprised of several varieties that sounded interesting. I think this one must intend fresh, since I had to add a bit more vinegar to get a good puree. I also put in the juice of the lime I zested, just for more acidity, in the hope that this would keep longer, since it does make a whole lot. It's absolutely delicious, and I'm so glad I tried it. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2014

      3 for having a go!<br/>yes Sambal Oelek is from Indonesia, . Sambal Oelek is merely a brand name!<br/>, However sambals' are endemic throughout the Malaysian Peninsula and Sri Lanka Thailand ad infinitum and vary enormously<br/> Yes, way too much sugar, I add just a pinch of dark brown sugar, no palm sugar after I saw first hand what is happening to rainforest, esp. in Malaysia, to make way for palm sugar plantations.<br/>I like the lime/ginger touch.<br/>I simmer mine with lemon grass and then remove it before storage.<br/>And I use a mix of chillies, whatever is available or in season.<br/>As for the mortar and pestle, (phht)the kitchen whizz allows bulk production, share with the frenzies.<br/><br/>I use apple cider vinegar. Lets not get too pedantic, after all, food isjust another expression of Lurv

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Sambal Oelek

    Serving Size: 1 (1172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1848.0
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    57%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 115.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 430.4 g
    143%
    Dietary Fiber 32.1 g
    128%
    Sugars 257.3 g
    1029%
    Protein 32.4 g
    64%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemongrass

    lime zest

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites