Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Saline Nose Drops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Saline Nose Drops

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2012

      Recipe is spot on. It is extremely important to use distilled water or boil your water and sterilize the dispenser also. Some districts do not treat their tap water enough to kill the Naegleria fowleri amoeba. If you fail to sterilize your water this amoeba can travel from your nose to your brain and kill you. This is called primary amebic meningoencephalitis.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      I'm a visiting nurse, if a patient needs saline, we give them the recipe given but tell them to bring the solution to a boil, then simmer it for 10 minutes. Let it cool then put it into a sterile container. I've been using this method for 24 yrs. with good results. I also have allergies and the net pot works wonders.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      My alergist recommends adding a pinch of Baking Soda to buffer the salt and generally using distilled water if the solution is going to be prepared ahead of time and used over several days. I have also seen recipes that specify non-iodized salt, but no reason was given.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      This is very similar to the formula the Pediatric group I once worked for would use, but they were specific about using distilled water. Tap water has been treated with chemicals and sometimes carry microorganisms.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      This recipe is good, it works, just wish It called for boiled water, I used it first then read the reviews which freaked me out, now I'm buying my saline solution at CVS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      I used to get the worst sinus infections that took weeks to clear up. I got pregnant and sudenly couldn't use the regular drugs...my Dr. said to try this. I LOVE IT. It works so much better than any drug I ever took. I also don't seem to get allergies as often now that I don't take the drugs. I don't know why, just weird. Anyhow, I use a sinus rinse bottle made by NeilMed. It shoots the water up your nose...yes, gross sounding...until you get better in one day vs. weeks. If you have problems, or you're pregnant try it. I'm very glad I did. I also agree with Chef#544852 to add a pinch of Baking Soda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      this is the best thing ever! it is the only way i can keep myself from getting a sinus infection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      This same recipe can be used for nasal irrigation using a jala neti pot. Jala neti is a method of clearing out the nose and sinuses by bending forward and pouring the water through one nostril until it flows out the other nostril. I know it probably sounds gross and weird (I know I thought it was when I first heard about it), but I came across this method after searching around for a non-medicinal remedy that I could use for my allergies while pregnant or nursing. It is amazingly easy to do, and extremely effective. I use my neti pot once a day with this water/salt solution, and my sinus/allergy symptoms have been almost completely eliminated without any drugs whatsoever. I am breathing better now than I have in years. Like I said, I know it sounds strange, but if you suffer from allergy/sinus trouble, it is certainly worth trying. Neti pots can be purchased from health and yoga suppliers. I recommend a neti pot with a conical (cone-shaped) tip, as this sort of tip fits the nostril better, I think. Oh, and I do use just regular tap water, and I've never had any problems. Distilled is probably better, but I've just always used the water from the tap. I do make sure to use pure, finely-ground sea salt, though--the kind that doesn't have any additives at all. The dropper method given in this recipe probably does work, but if you are looking for long-term relief, I highly recommend regularly using a jala neti pot. It really does work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      very effective, and so cheap. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Saline Nose Drops

    Serving Size: 1 (230 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1169.5 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes