9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Recipe is spot on. It is extremely important to use distilled water or boil your water and sterilize the dispenser also. Some districts do not treat their tap water enough to kill the Naegleria fowleri amoeba. If you fail to sterilize your water this amoeba can travel from your nose to your brain and kill you. This is called primary amebic meningoencephalitis.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sporgo January 23, 2012

I'm a visiting nurse, if a patient needs saline, we give them the recipe given but tell them to bring the solution to a boil, then simmer it for 10 minutes. Let it cool then put it into a sterile container. I've been using this method for 24 yrs. with good results. I also have allergies and the net pot works wonders.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eddonpep October 25, 2008

My alergist recommends adding a pinch of Baking Soda to buffer the salt and generally using distilled water if the solution is going to be prepared ahead of time and used over several days. I have also seen recipes that specify non-iodized salt, but no reason was given.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
howy61 July 25, 2007

This is very similar to the formula the Pediatric group I once worked for would use, but they were specific about using distilled water. Tap water has been treated with chemicals and sometimes carry microorganisms.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Amazing Christy! May 31, 2005

This recipe is good, it works, just wish It called for boiled water, I used it first then read the reviews which freaked me out, now I'm buying my saline solution at CVS.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjdobbs33@gmail.com June 19, 2013

I used to get the worst sinus infections that took weeks to clear up. I got pregnant and sudenly couldn't use the regular drugs...my Dr. said to try this. I LOVE IT. It works so much better than any drug I ever took. I also don't seem to get allergies as often now that I don't take the drugs. I don't know why, just weird. Anyhow, I use a sinus rinse bottle made by NeilMed. It shoots the water up your nose...yes, gross sounding...until you get better in one day vs. weeks. If you have problems, or you're pregnant try it. I'm very glad I did. I also agree with Chef#544852 to add a pinch of Baking Soda.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmchick #2 October 17, 2008

this is the best thing ever! it is the only way i can keep myself from getting a sinus infection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoe.s.true July 23, 2008

This same recipe can be used for nasal irrigation using a jala neti pot. Jala neti is a method of clearing out the nose and sinuses by bending forward and pouring the water through one nostril until it flows out the other nostril. I know it probably sounds gross and weird (I know I thought it was when I first heard about it), but I came across this method after searching around for a non-medicinal remedy that I could use for my allergies while pregnant or nursing. It is amazingly easy to do, and extremely effective. I use my neti pot once a day with this water/salt solution, and my sinus/allergy symptoms have been almost completely eliminated without any drugs whatsoever. I am breathing better now than I have in years. Like I said, I know it sounds strange, but if you suffer from allergy/sinus trouble, it is certainly worth trying. Neti pots can be purchased from health and yoga suppliers. I recommend a neti pot with a conical (cone-shaped) tip, as this sort of tip fits the nostril better, I think. Oh, and I do use just regular tap water, and I've never had any problems. Distilled is probably better, but I've just always used the water from the tap. I do make sure to use pure, finely-ground sea salt, though--the kind that doesn't have any additives at all. The dropper method given in this recipe probably does work, but if you are looking for long-term relief, I highly recommend regularly using a jala neti pot. It really does work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen December 03, 2005

very effective, and so cheap. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
out of here April 11, 2005
Homemade Saline Nose Drops