Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Rice-A-Roni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Rice-A-Roni

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2009

      Great recipe! I make this and add 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of Tumeric for the yellow color! Tumeric is what they add to the box to get the color and the taste is very good and mild.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      Tasty and quick. I added a small squash with the onion, also added beef broth. Thank you for a great side!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      This is a very nice side dish. I added about 1 t. minced garlic when the pasta was just about done browning. I used minute rice rather than long grain rice and it worked out fine. The dish only needed to simmer for about 6 minutes and both the pasta and rice were done perfectly.My only suggestion is to add a little salt to it in step 3 when you add the rice, onion and parsley.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      I really enjoyed this rice but DH wasnt to fond of it. Do be careful when browning the angel hair pasta as it browns quickly, I almost burned mine. Used dried minced onion and dried parsley instead of fresh. Two cups of broth didnt look like enough so I added about 1/3 cup more. When done I tossed it with a fork and added some lemon pepper, very good! Marie thank you so much for posting this recipe. This makes more than the boxed kit, tastes better, and saves money. Made and reviewed for The Secret Ingredient tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Very good. DH is allergic to MSG so I really love this recipe. The packaged one has a lot of additives including MSG. If I can't say it, I'm slow to eat it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      Very easy & a great recipe to replace a boxed mix. I did add the recommended garlic. Thanks for posting your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      Carb lover's manna. I used vermicelli and basmati and added a bit of salt as my broth didn't have any. This is so easily seasoned to suit your own tastes and menu. I think next time I will try poultry seasoning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      Used a box of fideo, all other ingredients as stated and probably didn't have enough liquid, the bottom got very crunchy. Also, too much onion for our tastes. I'll make again but with a couple of changes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      It's been ages since I've had "real" Rice A Roni, I quit buying packaged foods several years ago. This was just as easy to make as the stuff in the box and I love that it is healthier since I used only spices and no artificial flavors, colorings, etc. My son is very sensitive to those things, which is a big part of the reason I cook from scratch. <br/><br/>I read through several reviews and also added minced garlic and about 1/4 tsp of turmeric. I was out of fresh onion, so I used dried minced onion, and dried parsley. Just needed to add a bit of salt, I used homemade broth that didn't have a lot of salt in it already. It looked like the real thing and tasted great. <br/><br/>I also used Tinkyada brown rice spaghetti to suit our gluten free needs, but did not use 1/2 pound as it is fairly thick pasta. I probably used about 1/3 cup of pieces. It was necessary to add some more liquid while cooking, but that could have been due to the type of pasta. It was a big hit with my picky daughter and my husband said it tasted like the real thing, so I'll be making this again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      We liked it. It's quick and simple. Had everything in the pantry. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Super side dish from the same old same old. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      Easy to make and a great side dish to many a meal at my house. We had it with stuffed pork chops and it was such a nice meal. We really love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I love this, and so do the kids! I have made it a few times now, it is so easy, with ingredients on hand, and it is a great side for everything. I add a little butter to the oil, and later about 1/4 tsp salt. It is so yummy we gobble it up every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Very adaptable recipe and just as easy to make as the boxed stuff---less expensive, too! Thanks for posting, Marie! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Easy to make, uses ingredients I had on hand and the whole family liked it. Who needs that boxed stuff?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      This was fast, quick, and fairly easy. Good taste, simple, and easy to adjust to your tastes. I felt that at step 5 where the instrcutions say to "cook as you normally would regular rice" to be a bit vague, especially since I cook regular rice several different ways. How I interpreted this step was to bring the mixture to a gentle boil, then reduce heat and simmer on fairly low heat, covered, until the moisture was fully absorbed, stirring once, about 30 minutes or so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      Nice side alternative to plain rice. I used vermicelli along with basmati rice. The servings are generous and the directions are perfect. This went well with Cajun Pork Roast recipe 74794 and broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      I distorted this so badly, I almost hate to give a review...All I had was Minute Rice...I browned the spaghetti (you really have to watch it) but I had to use 4 or 5 tbsp of oil since the spaghetti soaked it up so quickly...When the spaghetti was brown, I added 2 cups water mixed with 2 tsp of Maggi chicken and tomato powdered bouillon...I also added a diced onion that had been fried with 4 tsp of minced garlic...I put a lid on it and simmered til the spaghetti was done...It had soaked up most all of the broth...I prepared 4 cups of Minute Rice using the chicken/tomato broth for the liquid...When the rice was done, I added it to the spaghetti...Got enough for my neighborhood and part of someone else's but this stuff is really good...Thanks for the recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      I used butter instead of oil, Uncle Ben's Rice, no onion, and added some chicken base. I've made this several times (first seen on Rachael Ray's show). This is delicious and can be used a number of ways. Tonight I added some lightly breaded chicken breast, broccoli, and teriyaki sauce. Roxygirl in Colo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2004

      Very simple to make and good. I think next time I will add some bouillon to pump up the flavor just a bit more. Or perhaps a little garlic. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Rice-A-Roni

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.2
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    10%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 380.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.7 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites