24 Reviews

Great recipe! I make this and add 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of Tumeric for the yellow color! Tumeric is what they add to the box to get the color and the taste is very good and mild.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaTMann September 09, 2009

Tasty and quick. I added a small squash with the onion, also added beef broth. Thank you for a great side!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore July 01, 2012

This is a very nice side dish. I added about 1 t. minced garlic when the pasta was just about done browning. I used minute rice rather than long grain rice and it worked out fine. The dish only needed to simmer for about 6 minutes and both the pasta and rice were done perfectly.My only suggestion is to add a little salt to it in step 3 when you add the rice, onion and parsley.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon September 30, 2011

I really enjoyed this rice but DH wasnt to fond of it. Do be careful when browning the angel hair pasta as it browns quickly, I almost burned mine. Used dried minced onion and dried parsley instead of fresh. Two cups of broth didnt look like enough so I added about 1/3 cup more. When done I tossed it with a fork and added some lemon pepper, very good! Marie thank you so much for posting this recipe. This makes more than the boxed kit, tastes better, and saves money. Made and reviewed for The Secret Ingredient tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 May 07, 2009

Very good. DH is allergic to MSG so I really love this recipe. The packaged one has a lot of additives including MSG. If I can't say it, I'm slow to eat it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hobbgal January 20, 2008

Very easy & a great recipe to replace a boxed mix. I did add the recommended garlic. Thanks for posting your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D December 05, 2004

Carb lover's manna. I used vermicelli and basmati and added a bit of salt as my broth didn't have any. This is so easily seasoned to suit your own tastes and menu. I think next time I will try poultry seasoning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea December 17, 2003

Not sure why mine cooked dry, I needed to add more broth twice to finish cooking the rice. I added a clove of minced garlic, but found the dish lacking flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doublebubble January 18, 2015

Used a box of fideo, all other ingredients as stated and probably didn't have enough liquid, the bottom got very crunchy. Also, too much onion for our tastes. I'll make again but with a couple of changes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 21, 2013

It's been ages since I've had "real" Rice A Roni, I quit buying packaged foods several years ago. This was just as easy to make as the stuff in the box and I love that it is healthier since I used only spices and no artificial flavors, colorings, etc. My son is very sensitive to those things, which is a big part of the reason I cook from scratch. <br/><br/>I read through several reviews and also added minced garlic and about 1/4 tsp of turmeric. I was out of fresh onion, so I used dried minced onion, and dried parsley. Just needed to add a bit of salt, I used homemade broth that didn't have a lot of salt in it already. It looked like the real thing and tasted great. <br/><br/>I also used Tinkyada brown rice spaghetti to suit our gluten free needs, but did not use 1/2 pound as it is fairly thick pasta. I probably used about 1/3 cup of pieces. It was necessary to add some more liquid while cooking, but that could have been due to the type of pasta. It was a big hit with my picky daughter and my husband said it tasted like the real thing, so I'll be making this again. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Frugal Cheflady March 19, 2013
Homemade Rice-A-Roni