Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Rice a Roni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Rice a Roni

    Average Rating:

    137 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-137 of 137

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2006

      Wow! I was surprised! This was really good stuff! The boxed rice is so high in sodium and other preservatives. What a great substitute. My kids loved this. Thanks Lisa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      This is an easy, cheap side dish. I make up premeasured packets of the rice and pasta (I use one called "Fideo Cortado" by American Beauty pasta that is already cut into short pieces). Then I just melt the butter, add the rice and pasta, stir until brown, add the broth and let it cook (about 20 minutes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      I make this all the time and we all love it. I saute the spaghetti and rice in a skillet (sometimes oil if I'm out of butter) and cook the rice in my pressure cooker. This is very kid-friendly and a great comfort food. Roxygirl in Colo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      Fun, easy, cheap, and not as salty as the boxed version....but every bit as tasty. I browned the rice along with the spaghetti in Step 1 with great results. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      This is great and so easy to fix. The only difference I made was I used 1c of rice and added some chopped onions. I sauted the onions in step one with the pasta. Fantastic!!! You have to try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      I used vermicelli. To save time, I broke up a whole 16 oz pkg & store it in a ziploc bag with the recipe taped on it so it'd be ready to cook up whenever I wanted some. I also add 1/2 tsp onion powder & a dash of garlic powder with the broth (whatever flavor I have that will go with the meal). I've made this several times & it's always been a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      This is a great recipe,served this with steak and salad. The has a nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2004

      This was super easy to make and well received - especially by my picky 2 1/2 yr old dd. I've made it twice now, once with spagetti and chicken broth stirring in some chopped frozen broccoli and diced cooked chicken to make it a one pot meal. The second time I used beef broth, stars pasta, and a little ground beef stirred in. This has been a good budget stretcher and is a definite keeper. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2004

      Loved this!Reading the recipe, I thought it would be too salty for my taste, so I used half water/ half chicken broth. I rinsed my rice first, because I always do, and it kind of sizzled when it hit the pan, but it didn't seem to burn. When about half the liquid was absorbed, I went to turn down the heat, and accidentally turned it UP. I noticed after a couple minutes, but I think it caused some of the liquid to evaporate, and I had to add a bit more. Very buttery and flavorful, next time I'll add either some chopped mushrooms or broccoli florets. Also, I may try using brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      Not that this needs another review...but we loved it. I made it exactly per the recipe except I used angel hair pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      Our family always like the boxed RiceaRoni. We used the beef one as a main course with ground beef. We are trying to stay away from prepared foods and make everything from scratch, so we were thrilled to find this recipe. This is FABULOUS. We increased the beef broth to 16 oz. and added 1/2-1 pound of cooked ground beef, depending on the number of servings. 1/2=3, 1=5 Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      LisaA, What a great and versatile recipe this is,This is the second time I have made it,and it is so easy to add to that you can do just about anything you want to it and it will turn out good.I made it with vermacelli the first time and really liked it a lot.Also added garlic and onion to it,and a bit of parlsey.I have loved playing around with this recipe,Thanks so much,Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      Quick , easy and tasty. What more could you as for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      So simple, yet delicious! I'll never buy the boxed rice-a-roni again! I followed the directions using chicken broth and adding 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt, 1/2 teaspoon dried onion flakes, and 1 teaspoon dried chives. I brought it to a boil, then reduced the heat to medium and simmered uncovered until the liquid was absorbed (about 15-20 minutes). I can't wait to experiment with other ingredients! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      Pretty easy dish to make and tasted great, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      This so much better then the box Rice-a-roni!!! I used Fideo pasta and added dried onion and some chopped garlic. When it was done I tossed in some chopped green onion. My Husband loves this side dish, its much lighter than plain white rice and less salty! Thanks for the great recipe !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      I made this as a side dish to carmelized garlic chicken and my whole family loved it. Very easy and much less salty tasting than actual Rice-a-Roni. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Rice a Roni

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.0
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    20%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 5167.3 mg
    215%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites