139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved it . Very creamy mixture. So you know it freezes well. The leftovers have been in the freezer since July 5th. I pulled the leftovers out the last week of August. It is still as tasty as it was when originally made it. I will be making more of this again and freezing the left overs. Thanks for sharing. Vera

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Proudmoms September 01, 2009

AWESOME!! My husband was so surprised that this didnt come from a box! Don't forget to rinse your rice before cooking and NO STIRRING or PEEKING until done! Very fluffy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfrankshun August 13, 2009

Simple, easy and very tasty. I used vegetable broth, as my son is a vegetarian, but would be equally as good made with any other flavoured broth. I added some onion and carrot to the mix and finished with some chopped parsley. I sauteed the rice/pasta in a combination butter/oil, added the stock, brought to a boil and finished in the oven. I generally have more luck with the rice not sticking in the pot that way. Perfect. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama July 20, 2009

I made this today and added keilbasa to it. I also jazzed it up a bit with a little garlic powder and some italian seasoning. It is very good and I so easy to make. I will be making it again, instead of the box mix. Thanks for posting. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shm9800 June 03, 2009

I have to agree with all the other reviewers. This was top notch. I was a bit skeptical because of the simplicity of it all, BUT this turned out fabulous. I'm going to make this again using beef broth. I cooked a big meal and my kids all asked for more rice. Definately a keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance February 16, 2009

Deelicious! I love this stuff and was so happy to find this recipe, as the boxed has so much sodium in it. I used leftover chicken stock that I had from making soup, and used that instead of broth. It turned out great and it was totally enjoyed along with orange glazed pork chops and apple sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri T Is Me February 13, 2009

This has become a regular in our home. I use angel hair pasta and throw in some dried minced onions when I pour in the broth...tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetestcookie January 21, 2009

I make this often at our house. I use angel hair pastam broken in pieces like the store bought Rice a Roni and I use chicken broth. It is a huge hit. I cannot get it to come out the same when I double the recipe--odd, but I've tried it at least twice and it isn't the same. Oh well, I just make it as the recipe states instead of doubling it. A big hit at our house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oceanmom January 19, 2009

Fun and easy to prepare. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and added some finely chopped onion and turmeric. This was a nice change from boring old white rice. I'm sure that this would be a kid pleaser.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith January 17, 2009
Homemade Rice a Roni