Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Rice a Roni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Rice a Roni

    Average Rating:

    137 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 137

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2007

      This is an awesome recipe! I also used the angel hair pasta, broken into pieces. I also added 1 tsp. of Mrs. Dash Original seasoning when pouring in the chicken broth. It added a little extra flavor without adding sodium to the mixture! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      My BF and I both grew up on rice a roni, so I thought I would make a homemade version of it to go with tonight's dinner. It was quick and easy enough to prepare and cook. I used homemade chicken stock and butter. We both thought it was a good simple side dish... a change from plain white or brown rice. I served it with Chicken Ala Rice Krispies and Easy Canned Green Beans. I liked the fact that you can control the sodium and that it is so cheap. LOVED the fact that it is very easy to replicate the "real thing" and might try it again with beef stock and some mushrooms... Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I was out of everything, so I used two cup of minute rice, 1/4 cup broken thin spaghetti noodles, 3 Tbls butter, two cups of beef broth, sprinkle of season salt and garlic salt . Still turned out just fine. It tasted like rice a roni, but it had a deeper flavor and not as salty. I will make it again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

    • on September 20, 2007

      Easy peasy and delicious! Uses items already in my pantry and compliments most any meal! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I wish I had found this years ago. I've made it once a week now for the past month. Trying out different variations each time. Made enchiladas and this. Just added some taco seasoning and some onion and garlic it was a nice addition to the enchiladas. Took some to my young nephew who just moved out on his own and he devoured it! Have also put in on our board at work and several have taken the recipe to try. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      This stuff was GREEEEAT! My mom always makes rice as a side dish for almost everything and even though her rice is awesome, I was bored to each rice so I came by this recipe and it was a hit in my house! My little sister loved it and she is veeeeery picky! I only added minced onion and garlic (I actually put it in the food processor so my sister can't see it or feel it) to add more flavor to our rice-a-roni and it tasted DELICIOUS!!! THANKS!!!! :D Great rice-a-roni recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Loved it!! Made it with water & chicken boullion. I used Fideo(found in the Hispanic isle) that was already cut up. I only browned the noodles for a minute then tossed in the rice. I had to add more water/boullion as it was dry and not cooked through. I also added some dried parsley just for looks. I will not buy the boxed stuff anymore. Thanks Lisa!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Easy to make with good flavor. My kids liked it better than the boxed stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      My family loved this. Husband who is not a big rice fan really liked it. Said it was moist and not dry like so may rice dishes. I used basmati rice and fideo pasta as that is what I had on hand. Very nice side dish. Will make again often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      5 Stars with the whole family (this doesnt' happen often). Quick and easy - - just what I need. I did need to add a little more broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      Excellent! This was so good. I thought it was different tasting than rice a roni but I loved the toasty flavor of the spaghetti. This is a definite keeper that we will be serving again at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      I really enjoyed this! It was healthy and and my family loved it a million times more then boxed rice. I like that it's low sodium (or you can make it that way, I used low sodium broth). I was cooking zucchini at the time and threw it in with the rice. I also added a bit of garlic. My DH LOVED! Worth trying, and much better for you! Thanks a lot!! Next time I would like to try whole grain rice of some sort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Much better than the store bought stuff. Every once in a while I have a craving for Rice and Roni and this worked perfectly. I also sauteed both the spaghetti and rice together. Added 1/4 teaspoon salt-free garlic granules and 1/2 teaspoon Parsley Patch salt-free seasoning. Used low sodium chicken broth so that the end result tasted very similar to the original Chicken Rice a Roni but much healthier for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      absolutely fabulous. I am allergic to MSG, so avoid packaged stuff like this usually. Soooooo great to be able to make this yummy dish for my family, instead of plain rice all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      After days of eating real fatty foods for the Holidays, we had Prawns and this wonderful recipe last night! It was easy to make, and I made no exceptions except for using vegetable boullion as they do not have canned broth here where we live. The aroma and the taste was very good!! Thanks for sharing this recipe with us, LisaA!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Great recipe, made this with onion, garlic,and a veggie soup mix. Kids and DH love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      I was stuck at 4:30 needing a fast easy and cheap sidedish. So, I searched and found this one. It was by far the most awesome easiest side dish to make and I will not be spending over a dollar a box on rice a roni when I can make this so cheap and easy and OH SO YUMMY!! Thank you so much for a new family recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      I just have to post this. My husband was eating this rice (I made it just as the recipe says) and he turned and said to me, "You know I could eat the whole pot by myself, don't you? I love this stuff!" It is not the first time I've made it. I've probably made it 6-7 times before but this was the time that he decided to tell me exactly how he felt about it! :) Ha hA! Needless to say this is now a staple in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      This was just what I was looking for. I used vermicelli instead of broken spaghetti and I added a spice mix of 1 tsp salt, 2 tsp chicken boullion, 1 tsp dried parsley, and 1/2 tsp garlic. It was just a flavorful as the boxed mix, my little kids ate it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Rice a Roni

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.0
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    20%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 5167.3 mg
    215%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites