Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Rice a Roni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Rice a Roni

    Average Rating:

    139 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 139

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2008

      This is an extremely versatile recipe. I like the fact that you can add Mexican spices to go with Mexican food, or Italian spices to go with Italian dishes. Someone suggested toasting slivered almonds with the pasta, and you could also toast pine nuts for a more Middle Eastern flavor. I made it up as directed, except I used 2 cans of chicken broth and salt and pepper. While this was cooking, I heated oil in another frying pan and added 1/2 of a leftover onion and when the diced onion was almost tender, added some garlic. I then added some leftover hamburger and when that was almost cooked, added some leftover tomato paste from the freezer. I added salt, pepper and Worstershire sauce. The last two minutes of cooking I stirred in some frozen peas. When the rice was done, I stirred in the hamburger mixture and sprinkled the top with leftover Parmesan cheese. It was very good and economical.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      I have used this recipe a million times with great success. The aspect I like so much is that it is a start for me and I can build on the taste as I go along. Thanks oodles, Lisa!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      It needs so much seasoning. Why not mention that in the recipe? I tasted it after it cooked and I had to load it with oregano, garlic power, and salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      This was really good! I made it in the rice cooker by browning the vermacilli on the stove first. I do think that it could actualy use a little more liquid. It was a twinge dry... not a lot. I am also a salt freak. I love it! It needed to be salted afterwards. Thanks for the recipe. I will never spend the money on the store bought stuff again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Awesome ! I made beef for us and it turned out great. My husband claimed that it tastes better than the boxed kind. Of course we like the taste of broth anyhow. Thank you for the recipe. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      My DH and I have been missing Rice-a-roni for years since he found out he was gluten intolerant. I'm so glad I found this recipe because it's easy to substitute gluten-free noodles for the regular spaghetti noodles and use gluten-free broth and it's still easy to make and tastes great. Many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Hei, this is unknown in finland. We loved it all. Thank you for wonderfull recipe. I used dark spaghetti and dark rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      Love it. Just like the real thing but better. I used veggie broth, salt, one clove of garlic, and one green onion. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I made this tonight for dinner, It was GREAT! Tons of flavor to it and very easy. Every one liked it very much. I followed some of the other tips and added a little garlic/pepper, and some veggies to it. Very tasty! I will try sprinkling a little cheese on it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I made this for dinner last night & it was a big hit. My daughter gave it 3.5 stars, which for her is a good rating, she is very picky. My husband & I both gave it 5 stars. The only things I did different was to add garlic powder, pepper & some kosher salt. Very easy to make & will definately be making it again. Thanks for the good post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Better than the original!! I followed the recipe as directed except for adding some onion while the rice was browning. Best of all was that my toddler LOVED it and like another reader said- you know what's in it. I've made it twice already in one week. I'll definitely be playing with it- adding beef broth, veggies, and/or garlic. THANK YOU SO MUCH LisaA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I really like this, and it had more flavor than I was expecting. The only problem is I had to add a lot more liquid than the recipe called for. Great recipe, I will definately make again. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Great! We added 1/2 can water water to cook the rice a little more, but no one noticed that this didn't come from a box! Will try some of the variations that others have suggested next time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Delicious. I like the fact that I always have these ingredients in the cupboard. This was so much better then the "boxed" stuff. It wasn't so salty. I will never go back, this tasted better and was better for us....thank you....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Great! I practically grew up on rice a roni, we had it at least once a week with ground beef! I love the stuff and since they don't sell it here I've had to go without, (or beg my family to send me some, heehee). but now I can make it whenever I want, thanks so much for posting this recipe. I've made it a few times already but tonight I made a dressed up version by browning some chicken, then adding the spaghetti and rice to brown a bit then added 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1 cup sweet and sour sauce, 1 1/4 cup water, 1tsp sambal oelek. mixed it up, brought to a boil then added 1 1/2 cups brocolli to the top (did not mix in), added the lid and reduced heat and cooked about 20 minutes! tasted pretty good that way, but next time I'll use a little less soy sauce, was a tad salty :) thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I was excited to try this recipe and also excited how good it turned out. I've been altering recipes lately trying to make them a little more "healthy". I used whole wheat noodles and brown rice and the result was great, however, much more liquid if this change is made. So easy and really good - I was surprised!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I learned how to make home made rice-a-roni on 30 minute meals with Rachel Ray. Thank you for taking the time to write it down. I add chopped onion and garlic at the beginning or use powdered if I am short on time or energy. I also add whatever frozen veggies I have near the end corn, peas or carrots. My kids love it and I know there is at least one thing on the plate they will eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      This was really easy to make, but just a little bland for our tastes. I also used angel hair pasta and it worked fine. Thanks Lisa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      Great recipe- if you use brown rice be sure to add a lot more time and broth. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      Thank you so much LisaA! This worked out perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Rice a Roni

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.0
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    20%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 5167.3 mg
    215%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes