142 Reviews

Made a wonderful version much lower in salt than the boxed kind. I used orzo pasta and needed more water than stated. Turned out beautifully. I'll never buy the boxed kind again. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliegirl May 11, 2011

You know those people that review a recipe and then made so many changes it didn't resemble the original all that much. Well....that was me. This is more a method that is open to a huge number of possibilities that would all be amazing and reading other reviews I see I am not alone. My interpretation used orzo pasta and the last of my basmati and the last of my wild rice. I also added onions, garlic, mushrooms, toasted almonds and some fresh herbs. Rice-A-What? As somebody trying to watch our sodium intake this is PERFECT. Much better than the box because I know what is in there. A perfect vehicle for using upu the last little bits of rice that always seem to end up in my cupboard. It took more broth to get it cooked but that could be my fire was a little high. Excellent recipe I will use again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen April 28, 2011

Used a very small pasta, acini di pepe, nearly round, with a diameter about that of spaghetti. Sauteed a half cup of chopped onions with the pasta just before adding the rice. Used canned chicken broth. Check for al dente, since just cooking until absorption leaves it pretty chewy. Excellent buttery flavor and interesting texture. Would benefit from more seasoning but a terrific homemade version of the San Francisco treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
California Canner December 30, 2010

Awesomw base recipe. I added green onions, celery, grated carrots and mushrooms. It would be delicious as written but I didn't want to make a side veggie so I put it all in the rice and it was so good. Served with pan fried shrimp and it was a nice dinner for a very hot summer day. Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young July 05, 2010

So happy I found this... really wanted rice with dinner but had no boxed mixes available. I used minute brown rice which worked perfectly and it was done in about 15 minutes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee June 28, 2010

I could not get my husband to give up boxed rice-a-roni, so I came across this as we are trying to budget a little more, and it is a huge hit! When I don't have stuff to add, I just use chicken or beef boullion cubes and then add some chicken seasoning to give it that "rice a roni" flavor! I've sauteed onions with it when I have fresh onion, then added the pasta, and after adding the broth add shredded carrots. I can see all sorts of possibilities! Thank you for this recipe, now I always have it on hand and the family is very happy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miccikoz June 01, 2010

On 5/31/10 I was looking for something different to go with fried chicken, and came across this recipe and decided to try it. And I'm really glad I did. For the pasta, vermicelli was used. I did have to simmer for about 35 minutes to get the rice completely done. And I added a bit of powdered chicken bouillon to get the flavor that I was used to in the boxed mix. When this is made again, the amount of bouillon will be decreased so I can slowly get the extra sodium out. I can see extras being added to this recipe to make it a one dish meal. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � June 01, 2010

Awesome! I made this to go alongside Awesome Baked Pork Chops and it was perfect! I sauteed 2 cloves of garlic and about 1/2 cup of sweet onion before adding the noodles and added another tbs of butter before adding the rice. I thought I had spaghetti and realized I was out at the last minute, so I subbed macaroni (next smallest pasta I had on hand). It was kind of funny looking, but tasted spectacular. My hubby finished the WHOLE bowl! Thank you for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 07, 2010

I have made this WONDERFUL recipe now 5 or 6 times... Its a go to for me.. Its a retro feel good reminds me of my childhood type of thing.. but NO MORE boxes here.. I know what goes in this.. and it is even BETTER than the BOX version.. couple of times i sauteed mushrooms, once added brochilli, have tried it with chicken and beef broth both... I dont think anyone could go wrong with this... I have bragged about this at work also and passed it on! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MIDWESTGUY May 03, 2010

This worked out rather well. I used orzo rather than the broken spaghetti-everything else I kept the same. My husband loves the stuff, I hate what's in the boxed "crap" so this is my very happy medium! So many options for variations that this will be my go to recipe! Thanks for posting! Di ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's April 28, 2010
Homemade Rice a Roni