139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found this to be a pretty good and easy recipe. Knowing how easy it is I probably won't be buying that box stuff any longer. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
freesgirl November 14, 2011

The first time we did this I used brown rice and had to add two extra cups of water and cook about 20 minutes longer. I used parboiled rice the second time and upped it to about 1 1/4 cups. We added onion and garlic and can't wait to try again with other spices. Very good and versatile.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 26, 2011

Excellent recipe... only a few ingredients but so, so tasty! I wasn't sure if it was supposed to simmer uncovered or not, so I plopped the lid on just in case and it seemed to have worked out fine. I used fideo instead of spaghetti and Better Than Bouillon for the broth - I highly recommend both for that authentic Rice-a-Roni taste. Stir in a sprinkle of dried parsley and you've got yourself a great side dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chilicat October 25, 2011

Super easy, fast and tasty. My picky daughter ate it too, which is always a plus. I added minced garlic and onions for a bit more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace09 October 20, 2011

Just what I was craving! I added dried minced onions, garlic powder and a wee bit of salt. Came out great. Will be making again soon. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 28, 2011

This comes in so handy and we eat it often. Delicious and easy to throw together when life gets busy and you need something fast to eat. I have added in shrimp and another time chicken off the grill cut into bite-size pieces. Makes an excellent side too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme September 27, 2011

This recipe is amazing. I was trying to find something to do with white rice because my husband does not like plain white rice. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. It is super easy to make and taste exactly like the boxed Rice-a-Roni. My whole family absolutely loved it. I did change it up a little though. I did beef broth and added some beef bullion cube. I also added some garlic powder and onion powder as was suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tcamp1208 July 27, 2011

Made a wonderful version much lower in salt than the boxed kind. I used orzo pasta and needed more water than stated. Turned out beautifully. I'll never buy the boxed kind again. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliegirl May 11, 2011

You know those people that review a recipe and then made so many changes it didn't resemble the original all that much. Well....that was me. This is more a method that is open to a huge number of possibilities that would all be amazing and reading other reviews I see I am not alone. My interpretation used orzo pasta and the last of my basmati and the last of my wild rice. I also added onions, garlic, mushrooms, toasted almonds and some fresh herbs. Rice-A-What? As somebody trying to watch our sodium intake this is PERFECT. Much better than the box because I know what is in there. A perfect vehicle for using upu the last little bits of rice that always seem to end up in my cupboard. It took more broth to get it cooked but that could be my fire was a little high. Excellent recipe I will use again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen April 28, 2011

Used a very small pasta, acini di pepe, nearly round, with a diameter about that of spaghetti. Sauteed a half cup of chopped onions with the pasta just before adding the rice. Used canned chicken broth. Check for al dente, since just cooking until absorption leaves it pretty chewy. Excellent buttery flavor and interesting texture. Would benefit from more seasoning but a terrific homemade version of the San Francisco treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
California Canner December 30, 2010
Homemade Rice a Roni