Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Rice a Roni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Rice a Roni

    Average Rating:

    138 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 138

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2010

      So happy I found this... really wanted rice with dinner but had no boxed mixes available. I used minute brown rice which worked perfectly and it was done in about 15 minutes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I could not get my husband to give up boxed rice-a-roni, so I came across this as we are trying to budget a little more, and it is a huge hit! When I don't have stuff to add, I just use chicken or beef boullion cubes and then add some chicken seasoning to give it that "rice a roni" flavor! I've sauteed onions with it when I have fresh onion, then added the pasta, and after adding the broth add shredded carrots. I can see all sorts of possibilities! Thank you for this recipe, now I always have it on hand and the family is very happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      On 5/31/10 I was looking for something different to go with fried chicken, and came across this recipe and decided to try it. And I'm really glad I did. For the pasta, vermicelli was used. I did have to simmer for about 35 minutes to get the rice completely done. And I added a bit of powdered chicken bouillon to get the flavor that I was used to in the boxed mix. When this is made again, the amount of bouillon will be decreased so I can slowly get the extra sodium out. I can see extras being added to this recipe to make it a one dish meal. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Awesome! I made this to go alongside Awesome Baked Pork Chops and it was perfect! I sauteed 2 cloves of garlic and about 1/2 cup of sweet onion before adding the noodles and added another tbs of butter before adding the rice. I thought I had spaghetti and realized I was out at the last minute, so I subbed macaroni (next smallest pasta I had on hand). It was kind of funny looking, but tasted spectacular. My hubby finished the WHOLE bowl! Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      I have made this WONDERFUL recipe now 5 or 6 times... Its a go to for me.. Its a retro feel good reminds me of my childhood type of thing.. but NO MORE boxes here.. I know what goes in this.. and it is even BETTER than the BOX version.. couple of times i sauteed mushrooms, once added brochilli, have tried it with chicken and beef broth both... I dont think anyone could go wrong with this... I have bragged about this at work also and passed it on! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      This worked out rather well. I used orzo rather than the broken spaghetti-everything else I kept the same. My husband loves the stuff, I hate what's in the boxed "crap" so this is my very happy medium! So many options for variations that this will be my go to recipe! Thanks for posting! Di ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      These were OK. I had to add a lot more liquid than called for to get the rice cooked. Also, we thought they were quite a bit bland. We had to add lots of salt and pepper and other spices to give them a little more oomph. Great idea though. I will try to adjust to our liking and avoide buying the bad-for-you pre-packaged stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      What great recipe! we loved it . it sure beats the package stuff I used to buy; thank you for posting. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This dish is wonderful! I make it at least twice a week. I use different seasonings with the broth, all with great results. Also, I use orzo instead of spaghetti. Economical and delicious! Thanks, LisaA, for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I just finished cooking this dish. Delicious! I used Sysco Chicken base with water to make the broth. I followed the directions and found I needed 1/4 more cup of water for the rice to be cooked. Added the water, stirred until absorbed and it was perfect. I used Calrose Rice. Either the rice or the altitude might have affected the outcome. I will continue to use. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Great easy recipe. A super quick side dish. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I used orzo and spaghetti pieces and it came out really good! The kids liked it and had seconds, so you know it was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Thank you I love having this on hand. I don't normally buy the box stuff and after finding the two boxes in my pantry infested with something creepy crawly, I am so glad I can make my own and know how fresh the ingredients are! I also have a daughter that cannot have MSG so this is a great solution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I attempted to 1/2 it, but it didn't have enough liquid, so I had to add more. I also added some chopped chives, dried onion and parsley.. THIS IS EXCELLENT!!!!!! Where did you find this recipe???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      was good but needed seasoning...will add some next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I am not a big fan of store bought Rice a Roni so I took a chance with this recipe. Also, I added beef broth to my rice and really enjoyed the rice. I had to add an extra 1/2 cup of water because my rice was still kind of crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Awesome!! I ran out of chicken rice roni (my fav) so I made this rice with chicken stock and added pepper and parsley. WOW, I may never have to buy rice roni again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Very versatile and delicious base. I cooked up some chicken breast and steamed broccoli to mix in, and garnished with sliced green onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      We didn't like it.It was very bland and we didn't like the texture,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      We loved it . Very creamy mixture. So you know it freezes well. The leftovers have been in the freezer since July 5th. I pulled the leftovers out the last week of August. It is still as tasty as it was when originally made it. I will be making more of this again and freezing the left overs. Thanks for sharing. Vera

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Rice a Roni

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.0
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    20%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 5167.3 mg
    215%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites