142 Reviews

This one is a real winner. GREAT recipe! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne July 07, 2011

YUMMM!! I added garlic and onions and some seasonings such as italian seasoning. I think that this is one of these recipes that is open for interpretation. My boyfriend was so excited to get homemade rice a roni. I am so glad I found this recipe. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 August 19, 2010

I've made this 4 times now and everytime I do something a little different to go with whatever I'm cooking. I did try it the first time with brown rice, and it did not work out at all, it never did get done enough where it wasn't crunchy. I will keep making this, it sure is easy and delicious!! I think I even like this better than than Rice a roni.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd May 20, 2003

What a great recipe! I found this while I was planning for supper and I even had all the ingredients in the house! I added the onion and garlic as suggested by another reviewer and it was delicious! I look forward to trying out other variations with this recipe and I make this often. Thanks for sharing this easy side dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * May 13, 2003

I`ve made this a few times now & it seems to get better each time,very easy & low in cost to make,i like it a lot more then the packaged rice-a-roni because my partner has many allergies & the packaged stuff drives her insane.Thanks for posting a great,simple,easy to make & tasty recipe Lisa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubblegirl May 07, 2003

This was so tasty. I changed it a bit because I didn't have the exact ingredients on hand. I put 1/2 pkg Knorrs Veg soup mix, 1 pkg Liptons cup o' soup, 1 cup rice, 1 cup spaghetti, 2 tbsp margarine, 1 tsp oil. Fried these ingredients until noodles were brown. Then added 4 1/2 cups of water. Turned the heat halfway down and covered until the liquid disappeared. It was great and the kids loved it. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ranikabani October 29, 2002

Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe Lisa. The rice was quick and easy to make with excellent results. It had a soft and tender texture with a lovely subtle flavor. I made a very basic version for my dh. Chicken stock, vermicelli noodles and jasmine rice, he was over the moon. We will be enjoying this comfort food often. Made for What's on the Menu? Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 13, 2016

My family loved this rice recipe. I used spinach spaghetti noodles just to add color. Also added 1/4 of an onion and 2 cloves garlic minced. I will make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy Ann January 01, 2016

Ok, this is a seriously easy and delicious recipe! I made a couple minor changes - brown rice, and added garlic powder and parsley. You could easily add any veggie, and saute lightly before adding the rice and noodles. OR, you could add shrimp, or cooked chicken or pork at the end. Tons of possibilities. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing the recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ltemple99 August 17, 2015

This is super easy to make and was delicious. Like some of the other reviewers I made this recipe using angel hair and it turned out excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Benjamin November 26, 2014
Homemade Rice a Roni