139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm so happy I stumbled across this recipe! It was SUPER delish! I sauteed half an onion and a few cloves of chopped garlic in olive oil (ran out of butter!) followed as directed but used water and beef base instead of a can of broth..sooooo yummy...but by the time the liquid absorbed the rice was still crunchy...and my pork chops called for wine so I figured I would throw in a few glugs and WOW, it was sooooo good! Honestly, I think I turned it into a risotto, but I won't complain! It was thick and creamy and delicious! I honestly think I could eat it daily it was so good. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley S. May 18, 2010

I've made this 4 times now and everytime I do something a little different to go with whatever I'm cooking. I did try it the first time with brown rice, and it did not work out at all, it never did get done enough where it wasn't crunchy. I will keep making this, it sure is easy and delicious!! I think I even like this better than than Rice a roni.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd May 20, 2003

What a great recipe! I found this while I was planning for supper and I even had all the ingredients in the house! I added the onion and garlic as suggested by another reviewer and it was delicious! I look forward to trying out other variations with this recipe and I make this often. Thanks for sharing this easy side dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * May 13, 2003

I`ve made this a few times now & it seems to get better each time,very easy & low in cost to make,i like it a lot more then the packaged rice-a-roni because my partner has many allergies & the packaged stuff drives her insane.Thanks for posting a great,simple,easy to make & tasty recipe Lisa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubblegirl May 07, 2003

This was so tasty. I changed it a bit because I didn't have the exact ingredients on hand. I put 1/2 pkg Knorrs Veg soup mix, 1 pkg Liptons cup o' soup, 1 cup rice, 1 cup spaghetti, 2 tbsp margarine, 1 tsp oil. Fried these ingredients until noodles were brown. Then added 4 1/2 cups of water. Turned the heat halfway down and covered until the liquid disappeared. It was great and the kids loved it. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ranikabani October 29, 2002

I made this recipe a number of times as I don't like all the sodium and chemicals they put into food these days. In fact, I go to food.com every time I want to find a recipe I can make at home using natural ingredients. This is the only rice a roni recipe I use because it is so easy and the taste is fabulous! So versatile, too, by subbing the stock and adding your favorite spices. I use Gamesa Fideo 100% semilina pasta because it is already broken into small pieces just like in rice a roni but use angel hair pasta when I run out. Can't go wrong with this recipe and you'll always know what you're eating when you use natural ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontanaSnowflower December 21, 2014

This is super easy to make and was delicious. Like some of the other reviewers I made this recipe using angel hair and it turned out excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Benjamin November 26, 2014

My new favorite side dish. I used gluten free spaghetti and it worked great. I also added garlic powder , onion powder and dry parsley. It was a perfect copy of the boxed version. Thanks Lisa A !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motheroflittle June 05, 2014

Made this for supper tonight and it was a big hit. I used Knorr's Chicken Bouillon (powder) for the broth. I don't normally like it as a broth but it did really well in this recipe and I was able to almost duplicate Rice-a-Roni. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann March 10, 2014

I was having a problem with the boxed rice-a-roni. It didn't have the flavor it used to and it somehow now is very mushy after cooking. Not what I remembered as a child. Found out rice-a-roni (all of their products) is GMO now. This is absolutely fabulous! The entire family loves this cause it is what rice-a-roni used to be. Since discovering this recipe, I've made this at least a dozen times...can't get enough. A huge THANK YOU to you, LisaA!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish in OH January 05, 2014
Homemade Rice a Roni