Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Rice a Roni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Rice a Roni

    Average Rating:

    139 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 139

    Sort by:

    • on September 24, 2013

      Simple dish that everyone enjoyed. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      I found this recipe when I googled homemade rice a roni. I quit buying the box stuff as it has MSG and plenty of other not good things in it. This is super easy to make. I like another reviewer used angel hair as I have lots of it in the house. I also added minced onion, chives and garlic with the pasta. Used beef broth as that is what I had open in the fridge. This is awesome and I love that it's not loaded with preservatives, etc. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      Quite delicious, and so much better than the box of convenience. In fact I actually found this much easier to make than out of the box. However, I did use orzo pasta in place of the spaghetti, but even with spaghetti i'm certain i'd still feel the same about this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

    • on August 29, 2012

      This is a great base for Rice a Roni. I am going ot use this as a base and that way I can make any flavor I like. Tonight I am making beef with some parsley, onion and garlic, the other night I did a vegetable broth with veggie seasoning that had to much pepper in it. I am going to make up some base batches to have on hand so I don't have to break the spaghetti all the time. I love to have a lot oa back stock of food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      This is a great base recipe. You can add whatever you want to it. I did find that I needed at least a cup more water in order for the rice to not be crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      I used angel hair pasta. I liked that there was just a little bit of butter and the taste was amazing. Thanks Lisa :) Made for all you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      Knocking off 2 stars because cooking time was NOT 10 minutes (took about 5 to 10 minutes just to brown the rice and pasta) and because it lacked flavor written as-is. I used ORZO pasta instead of cutting up spaghetti. Next time I will brown the rice first, then add the pasta and brown it sencond. Did everything as written except I added extra water and added boullion to the water for more of a chicken flavored rice. Brought the liquid and rice/pasta to a boil, lowered heat, covered and simmered for 30 minutes - liquid was nearly gone. The rice was still not cooked entirely. Could have cooked another 15 minutes or longer. Thankful I added the extra water and boullion. Gave it so much more flavor - can't imagine just using chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      This was wonderful, very easy, and much better than the boxed variety. I made this for New Year's Eve dinner with a baked Ham and everyone loved it. The only thing I did differently was to saute an onion and garlic together before adding the spaghetti and rice, then sauted everything together until golden brown, then kept adding additional chicken broth until the spaghetti and rice were cooked. Will definitely add this to my recipe box!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      I found this to be a pretty good and easy recipe. Knowing how easy it is I probably won't be buying that box stuff any longer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      The first time we did this I used brown rice and had to add two extra cups of water and cook about 20 minutes longer. I used parboiled rice the second time and upped it to about 1 1/4 cups. We added onion and garlic and can't wait to try again with other spices. Very good and versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Excellent recipe... only a few ingredients but so, so tasty! I wasn't sure if it was supposed to simmer uncovered or not, so I plopped the lid on just in case and it seemed to have worked out fine. I used fideo instead of spaghetti and Better Than Bouillon for the broth - I highly recommend both for that authentic Rice-a-Roni taste. Stir in a sprinkle of dried parsley and you've got yourself a great side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Super easy, fast and tasty. My picky daughter ate it too, which is always a plus. I added minced garlic and onions for a bit more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Just what I was craving! I added dried minced onions, garlic powder and a wee bit of salt. Came out great. Will be making again soon. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      This comes in so handy and we eat it often. Delicious and easy to throw together when life gets busy and you need something fast to eat. I have added in shrimp and another time chicken off the grill cut into bite-size pieces. Makes an excellent side too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      This recipe is amazing. I was trying to find something to do with white rice because my husband does not like plain white rice. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. It is super easy to make and taste exactly like the boxed Rice-a-Roni. My whole family absolutely loved it. I did change it up a little though. I did beef broth and added some beef bullion cube. I also added some garlic powder and onion powder as was suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      Made a wonderful version much lower in salt than the boxed kind. I used orzo pasta and needed more water than stated. Turned out beautifully. I'll never buy the boxed kind again. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      You know those people that review a recipe and then made so many changes it didn't resemble the original all that much. Well....that was me. This is more a method that is open to a huge number of possibilities that would all be amazing and reading other reviews I see I am not alone. My interpretation used orzo pasta and the last of my basmati and the last of my wild rice. I also added onions, garlic, mushrooms, toasted almonds and some fresh herbs. Rice-A-What? As somebody trying to watch our sodium intake this is PERFECT. Much better than the box because I know what is in there. A perfect vehicle for using upu the last little bits of rice that always seem to end up in my cupboard. It took more broth to get it cooked but that could be my fire was a little high. Excellent recipe I will use again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Used a very small pasta, acini di pepe, nearly round, with a diameter about that of spaghetti. Sauteed a half cup of chopped onions with the pasta just before adding the rice. Used canned chicken broth. Check for al dente, since just cooking until absorption leaves it pretty chewy. Excellent buttery flavor and interesting texture. Would benefit from more seasoning but a terrific homemade version of the San Francisco treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Rice a Roni

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.0
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    20%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 5167.3 mg
    215%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes