Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Rice a Roni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Rice a Roni

    Average Rating:

    137 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 137

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2003

      I made this tonight and it was sooooo good and easy!! I loved that I get to choose what i want in it. The only thing i did different was i added 1 clove of garlic and 1/4 onion chopped at the begining. My husband is pretty picky, so this is nice because i can make his (beef- will use beef instead of chicken broth) and mine (this recipe) without having to waste 1/2 a box of each. Thanks so much for sharing this! I will definatly have to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      If I didn't know it wasn't Rice A Roni, I wouldn't have known it wasn't Rica A Roni! We LOVED it! We usually eat the chicken and mushroom flavor, so that is what I attempted. I replaced the broken pasta with orzo because I already had it. I used 2 cups of water and a tablespoon of Better than Bouillon Chicken flavor, plus I added 2 or 3 dried shitake mushrooms (broken up) and some garlic powder and onion powder. Oh and a little dried parsley. I browned the pasta and rice together like the original, and cooked it for 20 minutes after adding the liquid. Also, when it was all done, I added a splash of Half and Half. It was AWESOME! Next time, I think I will add just a bit more bouillon. Awesome recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2002

      I've made rice this way many a time, and it's good to see that others enjoy it, too! I usually use thin angel hair pasta instead of of spaghetti. There are a lot of things you can add in to this recipe, as well, such as dried minced onion, chopped green onion, almond slivers... all sorts of things. Just as commercially-produced Rice-A-Roni is versatile, so is doing it the old fashioned way. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Very very very good! And let me tell you... it is so reasurring to know what EXACTLY your are eating, compared to the processed box stuff ;) I even used brown rice and 100% whole wheat pasta and it was AWESOME! You can't beat this simple and tasty recipe! - We like to add 1 packet of Italian Dressing mix to the simmering liquid. It is easy and kicks it up a notch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Loved this recipe. My kids love Rice a Roni chicken flavor - and I hate that it is so high in sodium - this was easy and fabulous - I doubled the recipe - and added some extra garlic powder and onion powder as well as dried parsley - I plan to make this often!!!! I will make baggies of the dry ingredients to keep in my pantry ready to go - then I can make it any flavor by changing the broth flavor and spices!!! THANK YOU!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      Delicious. I used whole wheat pasta, brown rice and took others' suggestions adding slivered almonds, parsley, chives, 1/2tsp garlic powder, 1/2tsp onion powder, 3/4tsp salt and increased the homemade broth to 3 1/2cups. I browned the rice in olive oil, simmered it for 20 minutes then added the pasta (pre-browned in another pan) and simmered for another 25 minutes. Worked beautifully and is much healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      This one is a real winner. GREAT recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      YUMMM!! I added garlic and onions and some seasonings such as italian seasoning. I think that this is one of these recipes that is open for interpretation. My boyfriend was so excited to get homemade rice a roni. I am so glad I found this recipe. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      A quick, easy, versatile, and wonderful recipe! I was looking for something that would taste similar to the boxed stuff, but without the chemical additives and, to my delight, this recipe tastes even better than the boxed stuff! I've made it several times and my family loves it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I'm so happy I stumbled across this recipe! It was SUPER delish! I sauteed half an onion and a few cloves of chopped garlic in olive oil (ran out of butter!) followed as directed but used water and beef base instead of a can of broth..sooooo yummy...but by the time the liquid absorbed the rice was still crunchy...and my pork chops called for wine so I figured I would throw in a few glugs and WOW, it was sooooo good! Honestly, I think I turned it into a risotto, but I won't complain! It was thick and creamy and delicious! I honestly think I could eat it daily it was so good. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2003

      I've made this 4 times now and everytime I do something a little different to go with whatever I'm cooking. I did try it the first time with brown rice, and it did not work out at all, it never did get done enough where it wasn't crunchy. I will keep making this, it sure is easy and delicious!! I think I even like this better than than Rice a roni.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2003

      What a great recipe! I found this while I was planning for supper and I even had all the ingredients in the house! I added the onion and garlic as suggested by another reviewer and it was delicious! I look forward to trying out other variations with this recipe and I make this often. Thanks for sharing this easy side dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      I`ve made this a few times now & it seems to get better each time,very easy & low in cost to make,i like it a lot more then the packaged rice-a-roni because my partner has many allergies & the packaged stuff drives her insane.Thanks for posting a great,simple,easy to make & tasty recipe Lisa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      This was so tasty. I changed it a bit because I didn't have the exact ingredients on hand. I put 1/2 pkg Knorrs Veg soup mix, 1 pkg Liptons cup o' soup, 1 cup rice, 1 cup spaghetti, 2 tbsp margarine, 1 tsp oil. Fried these ingredients until noodles were brown. Then added 4 1/2 cups of water. Turned the heat halfway down and covered until the liquid disappeared. It was great and the kids loved it. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      My new favorite side dish. I used gluten free spaghetti and it worked great. I also added garlic powder , onion powder and dry parsley. It was a perfect copy of the boxed version. Thanks Lisa A !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      Made this for supper tonight and it was a big hit. I used Knorr's Chicken Bouillon (powder) for the broth. I don't normally like it as a broth but it did really well in this recipe and I was able to almost duplicate Rice-a-Roni. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      I was having a problem with the boxed rice-a-roni. It didn't have the flavor it used to and it somehow now is very mushy after cooking. Not what I remembered as a child. Found out rice-a-roni (all of their products) is GMO now. This is absolutely fabulous! The entire family loves this cause it is what rice-a-roni used to be. Since discovering this recipe, I've made this at least a dozen times...can't get enough. A huge THANK YOU to you, LisaA!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      This recipe is very good and mimics Rice a Roni very well. Next time I make it, I will break the spaghetti into smaller pieces, just to better mimic the original, not that it will make any difference in taste or anything. I attempted to make only half of this recipe and, as expected, ran into some issues with getting the rice and pasta done before the liquid evaporated. So, I just added more liquid a little bit at a time as the rice cooked. This seemed to work pretty well; but I managed to lose some of the chicken flavor in the process. I am very glad to be able to make this dish so much cheaper than buying it and am excited at the possibilities of what could be done with it. Thank you! UPDATE: I've made this recipe several times since my first review. (These days, I usually season it with Taco Bell Taco Seasoning Clone/Copycat.) As much as I love the recipe, I kind of dread breaking up the spaghetti noodles. Since I prefer to break them almost as small as the rice, this can be a tedious process. Tonight, I decided to see if this could be done in the blender; and I'm happy to report it works almost perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      Simple dish that everyone enjoyed. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      I found this recipe when I googled homemade rice a roni. I quit buying the box stuff as it has MSG and plenty of other not good things in it. This is super easy to make. I like another reviewer used angel hair as I have lots of it in the house. I also added minced onion, chives and garlic with the pasta. Used beef broth as that is what I had open in the fridge. This is awesome and I love that it's not loaded with preservatives, etc. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Rice a Roni

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.0
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    20%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 5167.3 mg
    215%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites