Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Ranch Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Ranch Dressing

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2010

      This dressing is so good! My SIL asked me to bring the salad for Christmas dinner and I mixed up this dressing with items I had in my kitchen pantry. It was so good over the fresh greens and everyone was asking for the recipe. Thank you Mirj for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Cut the recipe by 4. Used 1/2 and 1/2 sour cream and mayo and no heavy cream. Had fresh dill which made it great. Also added some seasoned salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Delicious! Based on other reviews about it being to mayo-y, I used 1 c. mayo and 1 c. sour cream. I also doubled the garlic and dill. Has a lovely, "fresh" flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Good stuff. I did add a bit of onion powder and parsley, I can't help myself. I also used half mayo half sour cream. Also used milk because I didn't have cream. MMMmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Wow! I can't believe how forgiving this dressing is. My son was all up in arms because we ran out of his favorite ranch. I didn't have any sour cream or heavy cream, so I subbed plain yoghurt and 2% milk respectively instead. I wasn't expecting fantastic results, but it worked! I'll be making a trip to the store for the real ingredients next time. Thanks Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This was great! I am not a great fan of ranch dressing, but I loved it! My granddaughter only uses ranch, and she thought it was better than store bought! I did make a couple of changes... I did not have enough mayonnaise, only had about 1/4 cup, so the rest I subbed with Greek yogurt. I didn't have any lemon juice, had some fresh lime, and used that. Kind of strange sounding, but it worked out great! The dressing was excellent! Great recipe! Thanks Mirj!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

    • on October 04, 2008

      Lovely! We made a warm roast vegetable salad and used this for the dressing. I only made a half batch and this was plenty. Really nice and we will use your recipe again. Thank you for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      This dressing is so good. It is better then the mix, less expensive, and gluten free. When you have a gluten free family you must pick and choose. Thankfully we can again choose ranch dressing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Excellent! Only change was replaced 1/2 cup of mayo with buttermilk for more tang. DH was in heaven, ranch he has been looking for! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      This is the best ranch dressing I have ever had. I will never buy it from the store again! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Awesome fresh dressing, another great recipe from Mirj. I added a ton of cracked black pepper for my own personal taste. Very easy to make with easy to get items. Thanks Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I am not going to spoil the wonderful ratings on this recipe, but this did not work out for me. I know a lot of people will think that I am not good at these things since I am a 7th grader, but I have gotten many recipes from zaar that I made that turned out good, but something went wrong. I did not use Miracle Whip, but when I mixed in the mayonnaise & tasted it, I realized it was that awful sweet mayonnaise. I added more sour cream, garlic pepper (out of powder) & some onion powder, & some ranch dip mix. It still had an awful sick sweet taste. I am very sorry & maybe next time I will be more careful about the mayo I use! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I make this all the time now! It has become my regular dressing. I've subbed yogurt for the sour cream a few times and it still tastes great. It is great to serve on a salad with Mexican Food. My kids even use it in place of sour cream on their fajitas, tacos, etc. Thanks Mirj!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      I have not been able to eat ranch dressing in about 13 years due to an allergy to milk products. Finding a homemade ranch dressing recipe was fantastic. I just substituted soy and tofu products and I had my own ranch dressing. My mother-in-law loves ranch and she said, "it is super duper." Thanks so much. gnm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      I took the advice of a previous rating and used more sour cream. I used a Daisy sourcream which is all natural so I ended up with a very thick dressing. I increased the dill and added a pinch of granulated onion and some fresh chopped parsley. It was very fresh tasting. Might even be good with fresh garlic. Thanks for sharing-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      Very mayonnaisy. Did not care for this at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      This recipe is very, very, VERY! delicious! It tastes just like Hidden Valley! I was surprised! I was so excited that I decided to make it for me fiance (he loves Hidden Valley). When I went to make it, all he had at his house was light mayo and light sour cream, I didn't realize that it would affect the taste, and boy did it! It came out sour tasting, and it only left the smell of ranch in our mouths, not the flavor. >_< So, the only advise I have for future ranch dressing makers is...DO NOT USE LIGHT INGREDIENTS! ^_^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      So simple and really, really good. I might add some dried or fresh chives next time. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      We will never eat bottled ranch again. I do add a little extra garlic and dill. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Ranch Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (34 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.4
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    80%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 14.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 163.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes