48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't even know what this was before it was called for in another recipe. I really liked it. My bf said it was great. I liked the creamy, tangy, garliciness of it, especially as I've never had premade before. I plan to make this for sandwiches. I put it in some tinned salmon and it was lovely!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy Syrah January 30, 2004

Mirj, pardon me for saying so, but I could not be MORE delighted that you had to resort to this to have Ranch in Israel! This is "lick the spoon" good! Due to dh's celiac disease, it has been really hard to find a really good ranch dressing, even in restaurants. We'll be taking this with us in a little container. LOL

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP October 20, 2003

Good but will use less dill. Served on a salad and with loaded potato and buffalo chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 08, 2015

Wow! This was a big surprise. Who knew you could make such a great tasting dressing with so few ingredients? After reading a couple reviews, I decided to use less mayo, I'm a little mayo sensitive, so I used 1 cup and left everything else the same. Turned out great! Thanks for posting this simple and delicious keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview April 25, 2014

This dressing rocks! I halved it because I didn't need that much dressing - I cut the mayo down even further to 1/2 cup. I think the proportions are forgiving, and that makes this recipe versatile. It's fantastic paired with chicken and assorted veggies on a big dinner salad. After I put the salad together, I added some freshly ground Himalayan salt and black pepper to the top. It paired really well with seasoned baked potato wedges, and it would also be a great dipping sauce for a veggie platter. Thank you so much for posting such a tasty, simple recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel February 18, 2014

Way too strong on the mayo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rkjong March 17, 2012

I agree with other reviews that this is a good basic ranch recipe. I like a little more flavor, so I also added more garlic, onion powder, parsley and paprika. I did think it was a bit too lemony and slightly too mayo-y, but after tinkering with it a bit it tasted pretty good. Mine was not runny at all, something that I really like as most homemade ranch recipes just don't have that same consistency as storebought. Will continue to use this as a base and cut back on the lemon juice in the future, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Frugal Cheflady April 15, 2011

This makes a great base for ranch dressing but I added some extras to make it to my tastes (to be fair though, I didn't let the original recipe sit long enough to know what it tastes like after the flavors melded). I added extra garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, black pepper, salt, and parsley. It is soooo good (after sitting for an hour) I could eat it with a spoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee September 12, 2010

Although this recipe was good, it was a little lacking in flavor. So I added about 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp sugar, and a pinch of black pepper. This also toned down the strong mayo flavor. Part of my problem may have been that I used plain yogurt instead of the sour cream, since I was out. Will definitely try the recipe again with sour cream. It tasted good on wings and I'm sure it would be great on a tomato sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natural Girl April 09, 2010
Homemade Ranch Dressing